We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Casa Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Oaxaca
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GUADALAJARA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I haven't stayed at all the hotels in Oaxaca city, but I'm pretty sure it'll be near to impossible to find a better option. Their customer service is second to none. Exquisite food. Lovely place. Quiet and cozy rooms. Very well located. Did I mention how excellent their customer service is? I was there with my wife and her mother for 3 nights and we spent a great time here. Like a second home. Ana, Erick, Esmeralda, Florencio... all of them treated us really nice, they helped us with some reservations, helped us to provide a very tasty "caldo de pollo" for my wife's mom since she felt sick one night, they even helped us to find a hairbrush.

I'm very pleased we decide to stay here. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Based only on customer service and food quality, the value/price relationship is great. 100% recommended. I'll come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisPabloGDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    35
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
129
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have chosen Casa Oaxaca hotel based on our dinner experience in this hotel which we have had when we were in Oaxaca in 2005. On our arrival we were greeted and welcomed by Antonio and Anna who offered us a drink @ the beautiful courtyard. From there on, our week stay was superb in every respect. The room we had was spacious and tastefully decorated with beautiful fresh flowers. All our needs and requests were met efficiently. An added bonus is enjoying the swimming pool in a beautiful setting of flowers. The management including the manger Augustine and Antonio were very helpful. These experiences were enhanced by the personal service of the staff. It is a pleasurable experience to enjoy having breakfast, lunch or dinner in this unique and serene courtyard at the hotel. Florencio at breakfast and lunch was professional and efficient. One of the many greatest assets in the hotel is Sous Chef Rafael. We were lucky to experience personalized superb lunch and a four course dinner that Rafael had prepared outside the menu. The dinner was a unique experience of great flavours. Definitely we would stay again in Casa Oaxaca.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you are coming to beautiful Oaxaca I cannot think of another place to stay than Casa Oaxaca. Under chef Alejandro´s competent hands this special hideway is what makes Oaxaca even more incredible. From the welcoming and friendly staff, to the spacious and comfortable rooms this small hotel delivers its guests a serene and joyful experience. The breakfast served in the central courtyard is amazing, with choices from local cuisine to traditional continental fare. This is truly the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Casa Oaxaca restaurant is perched atop a building right in the heart of el centro de Oaxaca. The food (much of it organic) was delicious! Even the appetizer, a blue corn tortilla with queso and salsa (prepared at your table ) was truly wonderful. I had the fish of the day and the salad of the day. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I chose Casa Oaxaca based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews, and the reviews were right on. The hotel is in the middle of the Centro Historico, easy walking distance to all the great Mexican restaurants, entertainment, and landmarks. The rooms are simply, but nicely, appointed. The interior structure is very attractive. The breakfasts are excellent. But most of all, the staff is outstanding. They are quick and careful to meet your every request, whether it is emails about your reservation, extra water, a glass of wine or mezcal, departure from the menu, finding a good tour guide, or a good recommendation for dinner. From hour one, everyone seemed to know my name. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel in the center of Oaxaca. Great location, with cafés down the street, restaurants and touristic spots within walking distance. The rooms are alright, nothing too special. You get the value for what you're paying. They have everything you need, without any luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtymx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This this is our fifth visit and we are always treated like family. The staff is truly amazing- very, very friendly and extremly helpful. The food is superb. The new chef, Rafael, who is from Oaxaca, is an expert at combining traditional Oaxacan cooking with a modern focus. He did a custom menu for us that was truly amazing! We did a cooking class with Alejandro- we learned a whole lot, had a great time and another amazing meal. Of coure, the rooms and grounds were as wonderful as always. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgusdorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#7 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oaxaca

Property: Casa Oaxaca
Address: Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Casa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing