We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best tortas in oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Hormiga

La Hormiga
Ranked #50 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best tortas in oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Fantastic tortas! Fast service, clean, tasty and cheap, what could be better?! Everything is great but our favorite was the doble queso, manchego and quesillo. Best grilled cheese ever!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

my husband and I went to this place after visiting santa domingo church. it was about 3 blocks north and 1 block east side of the church. The food was excellent. So good that we decided to come back for lunch tomorrow. I ordered Cubano tortas (no frijol which is the bean spread) for 32 pesos and my husband ordered tasajo tortas (beef strips) for 20 pesos.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good tortas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I decided to give is place a try when I saw how popular it is among locals. I was glad I did. The food is tasty and cheap, and you can eat it in the pretty park where this stand is located. Recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PavelSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I found this place thanks to trip advisor and thankfully it was just a stones throw from our hotel. We had the res (beefsteak) and chicken tinga tortas. It's a cheap tasty meal to be enjoyed in the park nearby

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank logoldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Tortas in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a best place to have tortas when in Oaxaca. Try the Cubano it is just out of the world. Try and get there as soon as possible as if they run out they close and they leave.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SVangoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Hormiga also viewed

 

Been to La Hormiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing