We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous staff, quiet location”
Review of Azul Cielo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azul Cielo Hostel
Ranked #2 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Courteous staff, quiet location”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The atmosphere of this hostel is very friendly. The rooms are clean and the amenities all work well. The staff was very helpful and eager to offer assistance. The only thing missing was air conditioning, but we didn't need it during our stay. The location is a little of a walk from the town centre, but overall this is a nice place to spend some time.

Room Tip: Communicate with the staff what you want, they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    29
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
57
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Beautiful building and nice location, the staff were extremely helpful, the food nice, water hot and rooms and common area very colourful. Only fault would be a very small kitchen not really set up for making own meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fideyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We loved this place because of the cheerful mexican colorful decor. We also liked the nice sitting areas for hanging out with other travelers. The breakfasts were delicious and regional. We were concerned that it would not be close enough to the center, but it was only 5 minutes walking because the colonial streets are so tiny. Plus lots of interesting things to see when you walk in Oaxaca. You can tell the owners go out of their way to make guest feel at home. Since we were a couple we had a private room with our own shower. They even had candles in the room and they even made our bed in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyCarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I had such a great time at this hostel that I couldn't leave! The staff were very friendly, even showed me some great places in town. The breakfast was SO good! Everything works well, water, wi-fi, great location in a beautiful town. The atmosphere of the space is relaxed, peaceful and beautiful. Aesthetically stunning. Truly the best hostel I have stayed in. I stayed for almost three weeks, it was so good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

It was a pleasure staying at the azul cielo. great staff that was very helpful and good room. the breakfast was pretty great too. so no complaints at all. the only drawback is that since i was there for the film festival it tended to be a slight walk from the santa domingo.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assadkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for four nights during the Día de los Muertos and enjoyed very much.
The staffs are all kind and very helpful. They have cozy garden, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, good wi-fi connection, hot water. It's only 10-15 minutes to center. There are big supermarket and local active market close to the hostel where you can buy fresh vegetables, fruits, excellent oaxaca cheese!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place is lovely, great service and great price. They offer a couple of tours that makes your visit much richer and easier. It's not as close as others to the Zocalo, but those few extra blocks are worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaloAlejandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#29 of 109 in Oaxaca
194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#32 of 109 in Oaxaca
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villas del Sol
Hotel Villas del Sol
#58 of 109 in Oaxaca
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#15 of 109 in Oaxaca
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Cielo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Cielo Hostel

Property: Azul Cielo Hostel
Address: Arteaga | Arteaga num. 608 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Azul Cielo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes from the Historic Center of Oaxaca City, one block from the House of Culture of Oaxaca, two blocks from the market of La Noria, our house is near the mall Plaza Cristal; our property is located opposite the bus stop.Enjoy reading a good book in our garden, or if you like adventure get to know Oaxaca by bike.Our house is in charge for local people, for your benefit, we help you plan your stay in Oaxaca, more than a trip it will be an adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Azul Cielo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing