We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Azul Cielo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azul Cielo Hostel
Ranked #2 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place is really cool, the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is clean and located 15 min walking from the center. I felt my self there like at home. Breakfast is very good. In the hotel there is good wifi internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    27
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
56
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently spent a week in Oaxaca during the Guelaguetza. Azul Cielo was just right. Near the center of town, simple, clean, affordable. Staff was terrific and helpful beyond the call of duty and the fellow travelers a mix of young and older, foreigners and Mexicans. The interior garden and kitchen/lounge areas were comfortable and inviting and having use of the kitchen to make some simple meals with the delicious local produce was a welcome option to restaurant meals.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Recommend an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCBunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at Azul Cielo twice. The first time was in one of the dorms on the 1st floor (2nd if you're American) and found the place terribly wanting. The room wasn't well ventilated, the coil mattress was uncomfortable and the Internet barely worked.

The second time I returned because I had left something behind the first time and was hoping I'd find it. No luck there, but the dorm on the ground floor near the kitchen and common area was far better. Breakfast was good and the Internet worked.

The price includes a two hour bicycle rental which is great and I managed to cover a fair bit of ground thanks to it.

I am a bit disappointed that they don't have a way to refill water bottles so you've got to buy a new plastic bottle every time you run out of water.

All in all, for the price, the place is average, not bad at all, but nothing to write home about. I've been in far better hostels at the same price range in other cities, but I must admit, this is the only one I've stayed in in Oaxaca city.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My friend and I were on vacation in Oaxaca for a week - we stayed at the Azul Cielo which is a charming, unpretentious place. There are a couple of dorms for the backpackers and then a handful of private rooms. We had a private room and bath for $38/night - it was spotlessly clean, great shower/hot water, fresh flowers, and a nice simple breakfast. The lovely staff -- all young people -- spoke great English (or, if you desired, Spanish) and went out of their way to offer advice, help look for things we wanted on the Internet. There's a nice glider couch under an awning and a lovely kitchen area with chairs and books and WiFi. We met some very very interesting people there, including a famous Mexican sculptor there with his daughter and a couple who grew and imported chia seeds!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have been travelling for around 3 years now and can safely say this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are all so nice and knowledgeable, the rooms are spacious and comfy, hot showers, the breakfast is great, internet never fails, and it just has a really nice, peaceful energy. The garden is a beautiful place to sit and talk or chill out, the kitchen is well equipped, and there is a space on the roof top to wash your clothes and practice yoga if you like :)
I ended up staying for nearly 3 weeks because it was the perfect break I needed and the staff quickly became my friends. They offer a discount for long term stays.
I highly recommend this place. It's not so far from town like many people say, just a short walk. Also it's right around the corner from the organic market. I hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Likes

Great location for getting into and out of Oaxaca by bus. Central location for walking around Oaxaca city.  Very friendly staff.  Very clean rooms and communal areas.  Good inside and outside chill areas, good wifi in all areas. Mixed dorm/private room accommodation. Lovely garden area. Good breakfast.

Dislikes

Could improve their knowledge and increase their tours provided by others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The atmosphere of this hostel is very friendly. The rooms are clean and the amenities all work well. The staff was very helpful and eager to offer assistance. The only thing missing was air conditioning, but we didn't need it during our stay. The location is a little of a walk from the town centre, but overall this is a nice place to spend some time.

Room Tip: Communicate with the staff what you want, they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#32 of 109 in Oaxaca
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villas del Sol
Hotel Villas del Sol
#54 of 109 in Oaxaca
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#34 of 109 in Oaxaca
51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Cielo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Cielo Hostel

Property: Azul Cielo Hostel
Address: Arteaga | Arteaga num. 608 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Azul Cielo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes from the Historic Center of Oaxaca City, one block from the House of Culture of Oaxaca, two blocks from the market of La Noria, our house is near the mall Plaza Cristal; our property is located opposite the bus stop.Enjoy reading a good book in our garden, or if you like adventure get to know Oaxaca by bike.Our house is in charge for local people, for your benefit, we help you plan your stay in Oaxaca, more than a trip it will be an adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Azul Cielo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing