We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where we always stay while in Oaxaca”
Review of Posada de Chencho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada de Chencho
Ranked #60 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed 6 January 2006

We have stayed at Posada de Chencho several times over the past seven or eight years and have always enjoyed the experience. I disagree with the other reviewer's analysis of the neighborhood--I have never found it scary and have often walked "home" from the zocalo alone at night even though I am a petite female. It is simply a working class residential neighborhood. We have always found the neighbors very nice. Quite frankly, it is enjoyable to be away from the tourist atmosphere that often surrounds the zocalo and other areas where there are a concentration of hotels, and to live where real people live.

Stayed: February 2004
6  Thank paokano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
18
Reviewed 4 January 2006

My wife and I and our two teenage daughters stayed at Posada de Chencho for five nights over X-mas in two rooms. The experience was mixed;

Pros:
Reasonably priced (but see below)
pretty and secure retreat from the city
Nice sitting room with lots of books
very sweet and friendly staff
High quality breakfast with great service
very clean
we were welcomed and felt part of the family

Cons:
The rates were higher than those listed on the website, or quoted on the phone. Breakfasts were charged at about $7 american and Mr Chencho claimed that was part of the room cost. If you go, get this clear before you book. No charges for breakfast are posted. We did not challenge him too hard as our bus was waiting and it would have made a big scene. No credit cards accepted.
Very little lukewarm water available in our room
Rooms downstairs near the entrance are noisy
Mr. Chencho knows a lot and really offers his help, (in good english) but every piece of information he gave us was a little wrong. - check the facts
The neighborhood is not the best, it was a bit scary walking home at night. It takes 15 minutes from the Zocalo fast walking

Visher

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
18
Reviewed 19 October 2004

Supremely charming B & B with excellent, clean food and accomodations and beautiful garden. The owner speaks perfect English and is a font of information on all things Oaxaca. "Chencho" is a "yoda" who will enchant you and make you want to come back.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Martín R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Clermont C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jesús E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Camba
Hotel Camba
#44 of 110 in Oaxaca
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Cascada
Hotel La Cascada
#67 of 110 in Oaxaca
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#99 of 110 in Oaxaca
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#20 of 110 in Oaxaca
64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oaxaca Dorado
Oaxaca Dorado
#93 of 110 in Oaxaca
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Un sueno Valle de Huajes
Un sueno Valle de Huajes
#71 of 110 in Oaxaca
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Chencho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Chencho

Address: 115 4a Privada de la Noria, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada de Chencho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Posada de Chencho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Chencho Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing