We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, conveniently located... But don't expect much more...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posada del Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Posada del Centro
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
520 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Clean, conveniently located... But don't expect much more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

For the price, you can't go wrong, the posada is quite close to the main attractions and restaurants, the price is right and it's very quiet. The rooms and shared baths are clean, the staff quite helpful as well. A part from that, this place is pretty basic and wifi is a constant battle! You get what you pay for!!! Hope this review was helpful!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room further in the back and get one with AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    83
    25
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
66
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ota, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Clean room,a bit small,but good hot water,wi fi and easy to walk almost anywhere from here.Nice small cafe at entrance for coffee or light meal .Although the town has many meal options.Staff ,pleasant and although in center and only two blocks from Zocalo but not noisy.

Room Tip: One in the back and upstairs maybe best.I was at back but downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our experience of Posada del Centro turned full circle...

We had made a reservation as would be arriving in Oaxaca at 5am from an overnight bus, however when we arrived the night duty man had no record of this and suggested we wait until morning to see if a room would become available.

The set up is what seemed to be a traditional style, rooms set around a courtyard. There was a luggage store where we could put our bags, after taking out several extra layers to wear as we cosied up together on one of the several padded benches around the courtyard and tried to get a few hours' sleep. Luckily the benches (and a night duty person) were there otherwise am not sure where we would have gone!!

As soon as we woke up, around 8, the staff were very helpful and (the manageress, I think) realised that our reservation may have gone astray and immediately offered us a double room with private bathroom for the same price as the room with shared bathroom that we had tried to book, for the first night, then we moved into a room downstairs with shared bathroom for the other nights. She even knocked a bit more off the price at the end, very kindly. Possibly as we had stayed for 4 nights.

Both rooms were lovely and the beds were sooo comfortable. The first bed became known as the 'marshmallow bed' which we pined for in many other hostels on our 3 month trip! It was the best night's sleep we had.

There is just a really friendly, relaxed atmosphere here, and the setting is very pretty with a fountain and lots of plants in the courtyard. There was good wifi, a safe, storage lockers. Even reading lights next to the beds - a luxury we didn't see in many other places!

Don't miss the cafe next door for excellent breakfasts run by the friendliest man you could meet, eager to please and tell you about his town. He even gave us shots of kahlua with breakfast one one day!

I'd also recommend Cafe Alex not too far away for a huge range of gargantuan breakfasts.

Excellent location, a 3 minute walk to the zocalo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridportandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

From the very beiginning we were under great impresion of this place. This hotel has both private & dorms. The hotel is perfect location and is nice & cosy - once you enter through the gate you can were not anymore in a city center but in a garden. The rooms are located around two courtyards - both ok, as well as on the 1st floor in the second courtyard. This place was my benchmark for all hotels we stayed during our three weeks stay in Mexico. Definitely it will be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derodax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at the Posada del Centro for three nights. Very central, 5 minutes from all the action, but still quiet. Excellent staff and reception. Very clean and comfortable. Has character, nice roof terrace, lots of plants and pleasant courtyard. It is nice that has the option of private rooms, double occupancy) with private bathrooms (500 pesos), as well as shared rooms and shared bathrooms (350 pesos). Adjacent to the posada there is a very small and cheep cafe, El Cafe del Centro, serving nice breakfast and anything else, good mexican fare, fruit salad, fruit juice, newspapers. Very personal service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaAsia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this little hotel in Oaxaca for four nights in Feb 2014. The room rate was reasonable ($350 pesos). The room was quiet and clean. The inner courtyard is typically delightful. (see flower photo).
The hotel is just two blocks from the Zocalo, on a safe and quiet street.
There is a restaurant though I only used it for afternoon beer and WiFi.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillipJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Great little hotel in very central location. Management always present and helpful. Rooms clean and functional. Nice interior courtyards. Quieter rooms are at the back - we liked upper floor.
It is possible to store your luggage

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#19 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Arnel
Hotel Casa Arnel
#49 of 112 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#14 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#22 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Centro

Property: Hotel Posada del Centro
Address: Avenida de La Independencia # 403, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada del Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Posada del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Centro Oaxaca
Posada Del Centro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing