We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a week-end!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Posada del Centro
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a week-end!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

La Posada del Centro is a very nice place to stay for a few days in Oaxaca. It's 3 streets away from the Zocalo and has a very nice patio where you can rest and read. We checked the rooms first and I recommend the ones on the 2nd patio at the 1st floor, which are lighter than the ones downstairs. For 400pesos, we had a room with king size bed and our bathroom, and for 450pesos, one for 3 persons, so if the hotel is not full, you can definitively negociate the price!
The room is good size, you have place to put your things and a tv. The bathroom is clean, but a little small, but for a week-end it's really OK!
Staff is nice, you can have an internet access and there is a parking for the cars a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoloxoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    84
    25
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
66
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

I traveled abroad with a college class I was taking. We went to work at the orphanage called Casa Hogar. The location of the hotel was about 3 short blocks from the zocolo. During our stay there (3 weeks), the small store located in the front of the hotel was transformed into a mini restaurant selling drinks and sandwiches which was convenient for us because you can just walk right in without leaving the hotel. The rooms were pretty big, however we did see a few bugs in our beds on the first night and also a few cockroaches here and there. But this is Mexico...I wouldn't let this ruin your impressions of the place! I'm the biggest bug freak and hate them, yet for some reason you kind of need to let that go while in Oaxaca. The staff was very friendly and there is a desk staff person there 24 hours. They close the big gate leading into the courtyard of the hotel from the street at about 11pm so you have to knock if you're coming back from a late night and show them your key. This helps keep the riff-raff out. I would encourage you to stay here if you're looking for a traditional at-home feel yet which is close to anything you could ever need!

  • Liked — The real at-home feel, authentic Oaxacan decorations
  • Disliked — The bathroom was small
  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank CiCiBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2006

I stayed at the Posada del Centro over Christmas week in 2002 and then again in 2004. For the money, the location can't be beat, it's only a very short walk from the zocalo with its cafes and taxi stands. The inn has a nice courtyard where you can sit out and have breakfast and coffee in the morning, when I was there it was only open for breakfast for serving food, otherwise you can sit at the tables just to relax and chat with other guests. We had a large room in the back that was very pleasant and attractive with local art. Some other guests had smaller rooms and envied ours. There are some inexpensive rooms at the front with shared baths, but they have a lot of traffic noise so wear earplugs! The inn was very clean and the staff was pleasant. They only spoke Spanish though so that could be a problem for some. I met the owner of this inn, Doris, who is an architect and who also owns the Suites del Centro, a more upscale version of this hotel. The posada is in an old renovated colonial house, around a courtyard. There's a small roof terrace but when I was there it was nothing to write home about. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and courtyard
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a larger room near the back
  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marlajfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2006

We stayed at the Posada del Centro for 3 nights in early February and had a room with 3 beds for 3 women. The beds were very comfortable, the room clean and simply furnished. The staff were very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed and made sure we had lots of coffee early in the mornings throughout our visit which was a huge plus for us. The nights were quiet, very little traffic noise could be heard and the courtyards were peaceful and it was nice to be able to just sit and enjoy and quiet surroundings. Also enjoyed all the plants and flowers in the courtyard. We will definitely stay at Posada del Centro for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonhoney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2005

We choose the Hotel Posad del Centro as our first stop in Oaxaca City and stayed for four nights in a large room with private bath on the ground floor in the back right hand corner of the hotel. The decor of the room was lacking and nicer covers for the electrical ceiling boxes would have been good, BUT, the room was quiet and clean with ample hot water during our entire stay. We are midwest USA and just beginning to learn some Spanish. The hotel staff was very patient with us and helped us in our struggles with the few words and phrases we did know. In general, the staff was courteous and always cheerful in their demeanor. We also found that the guests using the courtyard were gracious and well mannered. It was our loss that we could not speak the language better and become more connected informally to the other guests. We especially like the guest board that greeted us personally upon our arrival. In all of our travels around the state of Oaxaca, I don't think we ever walked into a hotel and found ourselves known and expected by staff like we did at the Hotel Posada Del Centro. I can only imagine how much more we would have benefited from our stay had we been able to communicate properly with the staff and learn a little bit more about them and they about us. Thank you staff for your hospitality and kindess to "strangers!"

Stephen (Silversard) and Patricia

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Silversard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2005

Hola Amigos,

We stayed in Hotel Posada Del Centro in Feb. of 2005 and enjoyed it very much. Its main advantages are flexible pricing depending upon what room you choose and close proximity to the Zócalo. We found the staff to be courteous, the rooms clean, and the hot water supplied when we needed it. (We were careful to use small amounts of water, however, in view of its scarcety in general.) While we had an large room, etc., some might want to consider less expensive rooms and use their "communal" bathrooms and showers. I "inspected" them and found them to be very clean, spacious, and with provisions for some privacy. Also, there might be an advantage to an upstairs room (perhaps pricing) because you would not be as likely to hear a water pump "kick in" early in the morning. Nevertheless, the evenings were quiet and well managed. Two minor issues perhaps worth mentioning. While they have roof terrace, it is not very well designed. Also, they have an attached cafe for breakfast, etc., but we shyed away from it when we were served re-heated coffee. Perhaps, we should have ordered hot chocolate for breakfast and stayed more in the culture to avoid it! If you have other questions, please feel free to contact me via e-mail or visit -- (---) We have visited Oaxaca City on several occasions and stayed in many different places. We would stay at the Hotel Posada Del Centro again.

Silversard (Stephen S.)

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Silversard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2005

The previous reviews pretty much sum the place up, but I will share a few downsides for you to be aware of.

The room I had was on the 2nd floor, was very quiet and clean, but when water was run in the sink there would be a very strong odor of sewer gas that came out of the shower. I do not know if this was isolated to my room or not and I did not complain about it. I would advise putting something over the shower drain when not showering.

The other thing that some people that have not traveled south of the border may want to know is sometimes you cannot flush the TP Posada has a sign saying that paper products of any kind are strictly prohibited from going down the toilet. If you do not have a room with private bath you will be also sharing the waste can with other guests. I did not have a problem with this but I have stayed in places where this is a real turn-off.

I would definitely stay there again despite this.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#13 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#18 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#23 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Arnel
Hotel Casa Arnel
#48 of 113 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#35 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Centro

Property: Hotel Posada del Centro
Address: Avenida de La Independencia # 403, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada del Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Posada del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Centro Oaxaca
Posada Del Centro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing