We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This house lacked nothing!”
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio Front of house painted
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio
Front of house painted
External window with two Palomitas
Casa Palomita Internal Patio
From patio: door to outside
Palomita gargoyles
Patio
Patio furniture
Patio
View from living room to patio
Sliding glass doors with shades down
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Bougainvilla in utility patio off main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CRHumming...
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This house lacked nothing!”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our time in Casa Palomita. It truly is beyond compare as far as we are concerned.
We were astounded at the quality of the appointments and good taste of the owner.The kitchen was completely functional, it lacked nothing.The house is a gorgeous restoration and extremely comfortable. Lu ( the caretaker) is such a sweet, hardworking young woman with a great sense of humor. She was really helpful. Also Flor amazed me with her energy. Wish I could have someone as good clean my home. We are thankful to the owner for making such a lovely place available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful courtyard
Liked least: Having to get used to the cultural propensity to use firecrackers (loud ones) day and night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendaeli...
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay was incredible and very comfortable. Lu was friendly with us. I hope to return soon to Casa Palomita. It's a wonderful place.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loverofla...
california
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful home within walking distance of town center”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved our stay in Casa Palomita. The house is gorgeous with beautiful tile work. Lu, who lives on site, was great and we loved exploring Oaxaca and the surrounding areas. We took the cooking class from Pilar, which was wonderful. There are so many wonderful tours, restaurants, and galleries, so give yourself time to explore Oaxaca. Maria was always prompt in responding to all of our questions and all payments were handles very professionally. I highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and beauty of the home. Quiet neighborhood
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebird15
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely high-end accommodations”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were very comfortable in Casa Palomita and I can't think of anything to make us more comfortable. It is so pretty and gives us pleasure to be there. Nice to have the table covered with glass and wonderful to have such a well stocked kitchen where we could really cook. It's a great place to share as the two bedrooms each with private bath are at opposite ends of the living space and very private. Thanks for providing such a lovely accommodation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AReeves12...
Manteca, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous accommodations in a wonderful city!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Maria for providing a most comfortable, relaxing and gorgeous home for our stay in Oaxaca city. The location is excellent. We were able to walk up the hill to attend the Guelaguetza (fabulous!) and it was a short walk to Santo Domingo, where all the artisan stalls had been set up in conjunction with the Guelaguetza festivities. Lots of shopping opportunities! I bought 2 new tapetes but easily could have filled a dozen suitcases with them! And alebrijes! I bought 4! The Zocalo was a bit more of a hike, especially since it was so warm the days we spent there. We also attended the Tamale and Tejate festival, muy rico, and 2 nights enjoying the mezcal festival! Great music! We traveled to the Tlocalula Sunday market which was a shopper's dream, and great prices! Part of the family went to the jaguar zoo which was a bit sad compared to the zoos in the US but commendable for the preservation of jaguars in the state of Oaxaca such a large part of their cultural history. We stopped on the way home to see the Tule tree, such an amazing sight. The town has grown since I was there last about 7 years ago. Jen and Sam had dinner one night at La Pitiona and raved about it! Such a wonderful city and state full of vibrant color and artistry! Being able to revisit it was great and staying at Casa Palomita one of the highlights! Muchas gracias! Ann, Jen, Sam, Paloma and Sadie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fabulous! Personally I enjoyed the beauty of the house!
Liked least: Parking was a bit of a challenge. Although it wasn't an issue for us, 3 different areas might present an issue for wheelchair access.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only one wish...”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

That there was more than one Casa Palomita! Because the property is almost always booked! We were fortunate that there was a week open before Guelaguezta which was perfect to get the flavor of Guelaguezta without all of the crowds. Our week was a "working retreat" and the patio was a perfect environment to be creative. It was quiet and we could use the sliding doors as our work space. The house had everything we needed and more! It was less than 15 min walk to the Santo Domingo church. Lu was helpful. Dialing to the U.S. worked perfectly once I knew that I needed to dial 001 first!

The only tiny challenge is that drivers really have a hard time finding it. One driver suggested to add "4" to the Privado Bolanos Cacho because that is what is on the street sign. We are considering spending several months in Oaxaca in 2017 and checked the availability.. it is already booked! This place is a real gem so snatch up a week when you can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allyson_b...
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, spotlessly clean, well located, and great for kids”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, two daughters, and I stayed at Casa Palomita in July 2015. We loved it. Casa Palomita is a very charming house. It was also spotlessly clean; the kitchen large and well equipped; the bathrooms convenient; the beds comfortable; and plenty of dressers and drawers for storage. We particularly liked the kitchen breakfast bar, where we sat most mornings for breakfast. The courtyard is a great place for kids to play. The location is quite good: just a few blocks from the northern part of the historic city center, with a grocery store, tortilleria, and bakery within a few minutes' walk. It was thus possible to pop out and pick up breakfast or dinner ingredients quickly. It was also easy to pop into several mezcalerias on the walk home from the city center in the evening as well. Parking was safe; we had no problems leaving our car on the street. And, the neighbourhood was safe: my husband dropped me at the grocery store on our way home a few evenings and I walked back to the house without any problems whatsoever. Given that it was just a couple of short blocks from a main thoroughfare, it was also easy to catch taxis as well. For those traveling with children or who prefer quiet dinners at home after a long day sightseeing, staying at a place like Casa Palomita is a must! We were very happy to get back "home" each evening to such a peaceful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing