We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true milagro!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de los Milagros B&B
Ranked #7 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
1 review
“A true milagro!”
Reviewed 22 February 2008

We visited a LOT of hotels when planning a wedding for 100 people in Oaxaca and Casa de Los Milagros was the perfect place to have the bride-to-be (me!) and my two bridesmaids and their husbands in the 3 rooms. The Angel room is downstairs and biggest, with an amazing shower with plants and a fountain but the 2 rooms upstairs are nice too and having the whole place to yourself it all feels very spacious. It is a gorgeous setting (perfect for pre-wedding photos), very central and very, very friendly. There is also wireless which is helpful when planning a wedding. Adriana, the owner, was able to create a marvelous brunch for 30 in the courtyard and also helped coordinate a trip to Monte Alban with 2 buses (could fit up to 80) as well as a smaller day trip to the Central de Arte in San Augustin, Etla (which is a must see).
Additionally we were able to hold a small party on the roof for our family and friends and the view over the city at sunset was memorable.
The morning breakfasts were delicious and I really can't say enough good things. I hope that I can make it a marital tradition that we return each year to Casa de los Milagros and celebrate the wonderful wedding we had on January 20th in Oaxaca!

  • Liked — Intimacy of hotel therefore great customer service
  • Disliked — only 3 rooms, 5 would be perfect
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
98
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2008

Every aspect of our stay was very pleasant . The facility is very nicely designed and maintained. It is ideally located in a relatively quiet area on the edge of the historic centro district, yet only five blocks from the Zocolo. Adriana and Rene are most pleasant and accomodating, and were able to recommend and arrange the best side trips, drivers, restaurants and places of interest for us as first time visitors to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Boo-Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milford delaware
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2007

Casa de los Milagros is delightful. The place is beautiful, the location very good, and the hosts most welcoming and friendly. We truly felt like guests in their lovely home. We recommend a stay at La Casa without reservation.

David and Ann Burton

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank maradel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the enchanting La Casa de los Milagros during our first trip to Oaxaca for Dia de los Muertos. What a gem that place is. From the beautiful colonial interior, courtyard, rooftop decks, comfortable room to the wonderful mornings visitng with our hosts Adriana and Rene while enjoying delicious breakfasts prepared by Lucia, we felt like we were staying with friends. It is in a very good location within walking distance to the Zocalo and many great restaurants, museums, galleries, shops and markets. It is a small place with only 3 rooms. Because of that you practically have run of the house including the kitchen where we made our own mezcal-ritas and enjoyed them on the rooftop deck. Our hosts Adriana and Rene were very knowledgeable and helpful with everything from excellent restaurant recommendations to shopping and sites to see. We fell in love with Oaxaca and La Casa de los Milagros and can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Comfortable, spacious & private. Great location, helpful hosts.
  • Disliked — Street noisy at times
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zanzibarSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2007

My husband and I , along with our 14 month old son, stayed at this B&B over the Thanksgiving holiday for 4 nights. The friendly & very helpful owners, authentic & delicious breakfast, cozy rooms are well worth staying. We spent a lot of time in the living room just reading about Oaxaca, in the kitchen enjoying the long breakfast with the owners while our son was running around in the courtyard. We used the kitchen to prepare meals for our son. Everything we needed was available and very clean. There is wireless connection as well. Noise from the outside traffic might be a little disturbing at times, but I would definitely stay in this charming B&B again.

  • Liked — Feeling of home
  • Disliked — Street Noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AOZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

My husband and I stayed at Casa de los Milagros for one week during Day of the Dead. We stayed in La Gloria room; it is the smallest room with a double bed. The room is quite small, but it suited our needs.

We loved the breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, amazing granola, juice, bread, and a traditional Mexican second course that changed everyday (quesadillas, eggs with chilies, sautéed veggies, pancakes, etc.)

Our hosts, Adriana and Rene were amazing. We enjoyed their company every morning.

Oaxaca must conserve water, so our hot water only lasted for about 120 seconds in the shower. It was shocking at first, but we adjusted. Also, you cannot flush toilet paper, so I recommend buying a scented candle at the market to combat the smell in the bathroom.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the B&B. It was a very quiet retreat in the middle of the city.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ABN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomington, indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at La Casa de Los Milagros. This is our second trip to Oaxaca and once again, it was perfect! Milagros is only 5 blocks from the Zocalo, and is very close to the restaurants and shops. It's on a busy street, Crespo, but overall the house is quiet and less hectic than other places. The hosts, Adriana and Renee are very knowledgeable about what tourists want to see and make every effort to make their guests comfortable. They arranged for a driver to take us to the outlying villages and called to make reservations for another couple to get to the coast. The staff leaves around 3:00 pm and the house is left completely to the guests. There are only 3 rooms, one down and two up. We stayed in the downstairs room, the one with the small garden in the shower. If we had wanted to, we could cook in the kitchen as long as it was clean for morning breakfasts, which are phenomenal with fresh fruit and Oaxacan dishes. This family owns two other B&B's in the city and they are equally wonderful, but Milagros is my favorite. I cannot say enough good things about this city, this B&B and the family who owns it.

  • Liked — the people who run it, the location and the peacefulness
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blmgtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#6 of 109 in Oaxaca
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Milagros B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Milagros B&B

Property: Casa de los Milagros B&B
Address: Calle Mariano Matamoros # 500-C | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de los Milagros Bed and Breakfast, is the perfect spot for any traveler looking for privacy right in the heart of the historical district of Oaxaca. Offering only three rooms, each with private bathrooms, in a beautiful restored colonial home it provides incomparable intimacy and service. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing