We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de los Milagros B&B
Ranked #7 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 24 April 2006

My recent visit to Oaxaca was nothing short of magical, due in a large part to La Casa de los Milagros. It was everything I hoped for and more.
The B&B itself was stunning; vibrant and peaceful at once. The rooms are beautifully decorated, relaxing, and welcoming. The rooftop terrace displays a view of the city, gorgeous both day and night. Every inch of the house is artful and tended to.
Our hosts and keepers, Adriana, Rene, Christina, and Luci, took excellent care of my friend and myself. Breakfasts were delicious and served with smiling faces and the company of the hosts was delightful. Adriana was helpful in planning and arranging for activities, as well as kind and friendly when discussing our travel adventures.
I would stay at La Casa de los Milagros over and over and would tell anyone else to do the same.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
98
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2006

After much research I decided to choose La Casa, it was the best decission I have ever made. La Casa is absoultley gorgous. Our jaws dropped when breaking the threshold. The house is just as shown on all the pictures that are seen on the net. I have had problems in the past when booking out of the US. La Casa lives up to all the pictures and them some. La Casa is true Oaxacano style. It is walking distance from the zocalo and other main attractions. The neighborhood is safe to walk at night and did not get one bad look from the Oaxacan people all throughout the trip. The breakfast at La Casa is a delight every morning. Every little detail is taken care of by Adriana,Christina,Lucia,and Rene. One could not ask for anything more when it comes to the rooms, they are clean and the decor is great. There is a full kitchen,library (travel and Oaxaca books), and Computer w/DSL. One could not ask for anything more this place is heaven on earth. Make sure you visit all the small outskirt towns and Monte Alban for a jaw dropping experiance.

Armando Ybarra

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soulska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2006

We spent four nights at La Casa de los Milagros in mid-February, 2006, and we absolutely loved it! We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to spend time in Oaxaca. The house is very charming (lots of traditional and modern Mexican artwork) and very comfortable. Since there are only three guest rooms, there will probably be many times when you have the entire house, courtyard, and rooftop all to yourself! Rene and Adriana are the perfect hosts - one or both will likely be at the house each morning while you are enjoying your wonderful Mexican-style breakfast (they always start with fresh fruit!), and they will usually join you at the breakfast table to chat, answer questions about Oaxaca, or provide you with sightseeing recommendations. They usually keep the phone by their side so that they can quickly make inquiries or reservations for you. They also know several trusted and friendly private taxi drivers, who you can hire by the hour at a very affordable rate to explore the surrounding areas. This wonderful service is provided in a friendly, relaxed and unobtrusive manner (unlike some other B&B's, you will never feel like your privacy is being invaded!). Cristina and Lucy prepare the wonderful breakfasts, keep the house very clean, and always greet you each morning with warm smiles. We would recommend this place to travelers of any budget.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2006

My wife & I just spent 9 nights at Milagros and we have nothing but wonderful things to say about!

-Nice, comfie, clean rooms
-A wonderful host and group of hostesses
-A terrific Mexican-style breakfast every morning
-A great roof-top deck that gives you nice views of town and the mountains that surround the city.
-A beautiful kitchen and courtyard area
-5 minute walk to Zocalo/town center

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2006

After reading all the reviews for this B&B, we were excited to stay at such a beautiful place in Oaxaca. We booked our two rooms (out of the three) in July 05 for six nights in January 06. We had a written confirmation from the owner of our reservation plus several other email correspondence. We were all set for a great stay in Oaxaca...so we thought.
At the end of November, I received an email from the owner that she had "overbooked" the rooms and that we were being moved to another B&B (L'Esperance) owned by her husband's family. It is a new B&B so there is no information about it anywhere. I did see photos and it looked nice so I was willing to make the change despite our disappointment and frustration with the Los Milagro's handling of our reservation. I didn't have much choice at this late date. The price difference of the rooms was a small amount which Los Milagros volunteered to pay. It was all in the family anyhow so it seems.
I did find it hard to believe that in a three room B&B, rooms could be overbooked that were reserved so far in advance. I'm sure that their "reservation book" could not be that confusing with so few rooms. If the owner had booked all three rooms for that period with someone else and would have preferred to have rented the house out, at least she could have been honest about it.
After several emails with the owner of L'Esperance, I was unable to get the dates that I needed. The owner of the Los Milagros must have told him we were arriving Jan 6 instead of for six nights so the dates were wrong for our reservation there. They did try very hard to accommodate us by volunteering their other B&B down the street for our second room, but that arrangement was not satisfactory.
All in all, we were stuck in mid December trying to find two rooms in Oaxaca for an early January stay for six nights. It was very stressful looking for rooms at such a late date and upsetting that the original reservations we had made so far in advance at the Los Milagros was not honored. We ended up at Hostal La Noria paying much more for a room than we had wanted.
One needs to be aware that although an honest mistake can always happen anywhere, this did happen at Los Milagros and even with giving them the benefit of the doubt, our reservation was handled very badly by the owner.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank WorldTraveler-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2006

We stayed in La Casa De Los Milagros for one night only, unfortunately, however it was enough to make a verdict that is very probably the best place to stay in the whole Oaxaca. Very nice, clean - impeccable - interior with excellent, top notch service. The owner - Ms. Andrea is a friendly and very nice person and an excellent host, and the ladies helping around the place are the same. We got an excellent treatment despite problems with an on-time arrival and departure very early in the morning - dinner and breakfast were served despite unconvenient hours and room was prepared as requested (very nice flowers and decoration for honeymooners). The best room is probably Cielo - upstairs. It is not the one with the small graden/ fountain, however it is the brightest and most private one, we felt.
Very strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2005

We and another couple spent 9 nights at Casa de los Milagros. There are only three bedrooms in the house and we were renting two of them, so essentially we had the whole place to ourselves. It would be an ideal place for a family or a group of six friends traveling together.

The house is tastefully decorated with a mixture of contemporary and antique furniture and original artwork. After a long day of sightseeing, we could come "home" and lounge in the patio downstairs or on the rooftop terrace where we could see fireworks during one of the many small fiestas that were taking place in the city during our visit in October. We had full use of the kitchen to fix light meals or snacks in the evening, as well as the TV room, telephone and computer.

The owners, Rene and Adriana were wonderful, as was Christina and Lucia who prepared our breakfast each morning. It was a real treat to come downstairs and find such a beautifully set breakfast table. We started each day with with a healthy meal of fresh-squeezed orange juice, delicious coffee, fresh fruit with yoghurt and granola, pan dulce, and a different entree each day. Talk about being spoiled !!!

As an added convenience, they also provide same-day laundry service about 3 times per week which is great if you're planning a long stay.

The only thing I would recommend would be to take a set of earplugs, especially if you like to sleep with the windows open, because the house is located on a street with a fair amount of bus traffic. Other than that, it was a perfect place to stay, and we couldn't have asked for more. You won't be disappointed.

Our thanks to the owners, Rene and Adriana, Christina and Lucia for making our visit such a pleasant and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank piadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#6 of 109 in Oaxaca
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Milagros B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Milagros B&B

Property: Casa de los Milagros B&B
Address: Calle Mariano Matamoros # 500-C | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de los Milagros Bed and Breakfast, is the perfect spot for any traveler looking for privacy right in the heart of the historical district of Oaxaca. Offering only three rooms, each with private bathrooms, in a beautiful restored colonial home it provides incomparable intimacy and service. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing