We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulina Youth Hostel

Paulina Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paulina Youth Hostel
Ranked #22 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Hradec Kralove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good option for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

It is located near the centre, the stuff is ok, though I don't know if they speak English. The breakfast is very good and quite generous.The place is very nice (the female dormitory I stayed in was spacious and there was enough natural light) and generally very clean, bathrooms included. The only problem I experienced was the hot water - it was only lukewarm in the bathroom on the first floor, I tried all the showers. Finally, I found one with hot water in the bathroom on the ground floor (it's the one on the left;)).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    30
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
21
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Centrally located and very clean, this hostel had its pros and cons. Pros included: nice location, roomy private room, great breakfast and nice rooftop to take in the view. Cons included: no private bathroom or tv, noisy on the street level, no kitchen or refrigerator access.

There are plenty of hotels in the area, and maybe you can get more for your money somewhere else. For first time visitors to the city, my husband and I were quite happy with the accommodations. In the future,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemmingnot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Wow, I just read the reviews for this hostel, and I needed to check the adress. Are we talking about the same place?! We really liked it here! Me and my boyfriend got a dorm for ourselves, paied 350 MXN. Of course as a cuple there is no double beds, but we didnt mind. The price was quite cheap compare to other places we asked for a private room (500 MXN a night). Basic room, yes. But there is drawers with lock, and hangers for your clothes. We stayed in room number 10. The window is towards the street, but we had no problems with noice at all! I thought we would, but no. And the beds, the beds are sooo comfortable!! There is hot shower, just remember you must wait a while!

It is very clean, very complete. Nice little garden for you to view. Social room with sofa and computer. The wifi works in the rooms as well.

The breakfast was so good! The kind of eggs you wanted, toasted bread, creal, coffe or tea. Butter and marmelade. Yes, I was really suprised over the breakfast. The last night we were taking the nightbus to Puerto Escondido, but payed for the room that extra night. Then the receptionist offed to make us a lunch pack for the busride, since we couldnt have breakfast the next day. Really nice gesture! We got one sandwich, an orange and a bottle of water each.

It is also runned very profesional. You get a receipt when you pay the room. Also breakfast tickets.

Overall we would come back! The location is perfect, you are in the middle of the city center!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid_Reisegleder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed in this hostel by the end of September and had the worst experience ever. My things got stolen from the locker room and the staff was terrible while looking for help, they just kept saying that the were not responsible and nothing could be done. I had the fortune to see the hostel administrator, and he "ordered" the staff to start an inquireabout this, still useless as they didn't care much. They didn't even wanted to help us by saying where the local police station was. Till now, nothing from them, they don't care and they don't answer to emails. The worst place ever, try to avoid it, you will experience a real nightmare with them. It seems I'm not the first one that had being stolen. I'm positive that it was the same staff that steal my things.

Room Tip: nothing, don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espaciofinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Although the staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice I would not reccomend Paulina. You pay to much for what you get.With 2 couples we stayed in a 4 bed room ( staple + twin). Rooms are verry basic, there were no draws or any hangers for our clothes. We slept in room P on the corner, and although it is moisy that did not bother us so much. There are 3 computers, but the pc/tv room is messy, no wifi.Everything seemed clean. Although we stayed 2 nights, the showers or toilets were not cleaned in the days we were there.There was no refrigerator or lavatory to use. The garden is nice. However the place lacks a communal area to meet other travellers.

Worst of all, we both got a nasty rash during/after our stay at Paulina. It seemed like we had many mosquito bites, but now we know the bites are from BED BUGS. These bugs hide in the bed/matress and come out at night and bite you. The bites are verry itchy and can last for weeks. This is no fun when you are on holiday!

We don't recommend staying at Pualina, it is not worth your money or your health!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Here's what's good about the hostel:

+ Entire hostel (from rooms to bathrooms to breakfast area) is spotless
+ Breakfast is great: free fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, eggs (different type each day or made to order), two types of cereal.
+Extremely close to the zocalo.

Here's what's bad about the hostel:

-$175 MXN dorm beds are easily the most expensive in the city, and you're talking about a giant dorm (you can pay $150 MXN or less elsewhere and get a four-person dorm at a better hostel)
-It's downtown so it's super, super noisy. Unless you're in the back corner of the hostel, be prepared to stay awake all night with horn honking.
-Staff is not very friendly or helpful.
-Security is non-existent. Anyone can wonder in the front door, which is always left open -- and front desk is frequently left unattended.
-No free purified water (just overpriced Hostel Paulina-branded bottles)
-Wi-fi is a joke: it ONLY works in the front lobby area - so you have to sit in an uncomfortable chair and stare at the reception desk to use your laptop or phone.
-There are no plugs in the bedrooms. Literally, none at all. If you want to charge your phone or plug something in, you have to find a plug behind the refrigerator in reception or next to the public computers.
-The "lounge area" is dull and boring.
-The rooftop deck, which could be really nice, has absolutely no character.
-All of the above means that this is not a hostel with a sense of community. It is not a "fun" place to meet people or hang out.

In sum, Hostel Paulina has a lot of potential, but it is not being met...at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

Paulina Youth Hostel was clean and organised, with a great location. The room was well laid out with comfortable beds and the rooftop had a great view of the city. Breakfast was well organised. Bathrooms were impeccable.

For $175 (pesos) per night though, the value for money was not great. I was told before check-in that the hostel had WiFi. It turned out that WiFi was only available at reception. Computers with internet were available, but I would have preferred to use my own as I was told I could.

I have stayed in 3 different hostels in Oaxaca, and Paulina was the only one without drinking water freely available. Bottled water had to be bought, which for the $175 per night, is poor value. Although okay to stay in, other hostels with a cheaper price provided better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afgaweges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#10 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paulina Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paulina Youth Hostel

Property: Paulina Youth Hostel
Address: Trujano 321 esquina Diaz Ordaz | Centro Historico, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Paulina Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing