We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with a good location, however not great value for money.”

Paulina Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paulina Youth Hostel
Ranked #9 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean with a good location, however not great value for money.”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Paulina Youth Hostel was clean and organised, with a great location. The room was well laid out with comfortable beds and the rooftop had a great view of the city. Breakfast was well organised. Bathrooms were impeccable.

For $175 (pesos) per night though, the value for money was not great. I was told before check-in that the hostel had WiFi. It turned out that WiFi was only available at reception. Computers with internet were available, but I would have preferred to use my own as I was told I could.

I have stayed in 3 different hostels in Oaxaca, and Paulina was the only one without drinking water freely available. Bottled water had to be bought, which for the $175 per night, is poor value. Although okay to stay in, other hostels with a cheaper price provided better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afgaweges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    31
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
22
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I stayed in hostel Paulina for 3 nights in their dorms. The have separated dorms for men and women, 8 on each room. They also have private rooms. Their prices are average- 175 pesos for dorms and double for private room. The place is really clean and quite. Near each bed there is a locker so it is really comfortable.
The hostel has a free breakfast that you can eat in their well kept garden, 2 computers for free use
and free wifi in the reception area.
The location of the hostel is great- just 3 blocks from the main square. I think the only disadvantage is that they don't have a kitchen for the guests to use.
They also offer tour in the area in reasonable prices- the one that I took for a half day to el tule and mitla was very good.
Overall, if you want a quite place, nice and clean- this is the place for you in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moranya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I travelled to Mexico with my two daughters, ages 4 and 6, and my parents, who are in their 60s, and for our stay in Oaxaca I chose this hostel based on their website and Tripadvisor reviews.

The front desk staff was excellent--were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. They set us up with inexpensive tours of the surrounding areas.

My parents and I got private rooms on the main level (the dorm rooms are upstairs). The street noise, unfortunately, was almost deafening, and did not really cease at night. We did need to leave our windows open to get some air circulation in the room (too stuffy otherwise) but even with the windows closed the traffic, honking, conversations, etc. made sleeping very difficult. So, if you have a white noise machine, earplugs, and/or sleeping medication, bring them!!!

That was the only problem with this hostel. Otherwise we loved it. There was a wonderful breakfast every morning of granola, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs, toast, coffee, milk and tea. All of this served in an open air cafe that overlooks a beautiful garden that my daughters played in constantly. (They also loved the pond in the atrium, which had turtles and fish).

The hostel rooms are basic but clean. The floors could stand to be washed more often, though, as we stayed in the same room for 1 week and it seemed that they only took out the trash every day but did not mop. Given how dirty the streets are in Oaxaca I think they do need to mop the floors every day (they do mop the hallway and shared bathrooms frequently).

In addition, the hostel is only about a 10 minute walk from the zocalo (the center square of town). The neighborhood is not posh but it seemed safe and is well populated so we felt safe walking around at night.

The hostel offers free Internet, which is a plus.

And lastly, we appreciated the cheap laundry service, which we used constantly. Only about 30 pesos for a small bag of laundry.

Overall, I was very happy with this choice of a hostel. Although apparently children never stay there (a front desk guy admitted this) I think it's an ideal choice for families on a budget, especially if your children are sound sleepers!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Lovely nice hostel, very clean, very cosy and quit, nice breakfast, nice rooftop
I just loved it !!!

Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hettie4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

This hostel was not a bad hostel to stay in if you want a clean nice hostel. However we found a more lively hostel the day after we arrived in Oaxaca and moved hostels. The main problem I had with the hostel was no hot water and the womens bathrooms drainage did not work which was not great. The location is quite good, only 5 mins walk to Zocalo and markets and the breakfast is great. Internet is fast and free.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GlobalAdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Very clean, delightful breakfast and very close to the Zócalo! The price is one of the cheapest I found. Highly recomended

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sasuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

+ A really great place. I arrived at 7am and although check-in wasn't until around noon they gave me sheets, towel and a bed in a dorm room so i could shower and rest.

+ Very, very clean. Enough showers/toilets, all spotless. Nice roof top terrace. No hippies!!!!!

+ Very friendly, courteous and helpful staff.

+ Great location. In a more 'real' part of town, but very close to the zocalo and the amazing food market!

+ I spent my final night in a dorm room. Each bed has a (working!) reading lamp and good sized lockers (that don't require a pad lock) and plenty of hooks.

+ Providing a towel is a nice touch. It's such a pain to travel with a damp towel if you've showered in the morning.

- Hot water is a bit of an issue. If Mexico has such a water crisis why should you have to run showers for a good 5-10 minutes to see if the water will get hot. Insulate the pipes, yo!

- I'd reserved a private room, which unfortunately was nothing more than a three bed dorm with showers and toilets across the hall.

- It gets cold in Oaxaca at night at this time of year, so it's a pity there's no enclosed place to hang out.

+ & - Wifi was available but it only reached with ten meters or so of reception, which is a pity.

- If you have a room close to reception in can get noisy with irritating Americans talking utter crap and volume.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paulina Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paulina Youth Hostel

Property: Paulina Youth Hostel
Address: Trujano 321 esquina Diaz Ordaz | Centro Historico, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Paulina Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing