We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ten days stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Mariposas
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vieques
2 reviews
“Ten days stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Las Mariposas for ten days. Loved the staff, their morning coffee and some pastry is great. Rooms are cozy and clean. Coming back to the hotel after 8pm you need to ring a bell and someone will come to open the door, but we never had any problems with that.
However, their recommended tour guide that we used was really bad. We took a trip with her to Monte Alban, she was probably knowledgeable, but did not care at all about what we were interested in and it was just two of us with her. You would be better off going on your own, or hiring someone else in town.
Anyway, hotel itself is beautiful, we highly recommend staying there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CoquiFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
we really appreaciate your comments, thanks for let us know what services you did not like during your stay in the hotel , we will check about this.

hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    97
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
141
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a very pleasant small hotel in a good location, about a 10 minute walk from everywhere you want to go. Our room was clean, pretty, bed was firm. Everything in the room was perfectly nice. breakfast was adequate with cornflakes and milk, with coffee and some bread or cake. No Mosquitos in the room. (other guest who left their door opened did complain). Our room was upstairs and water pressure was poor, once in the midst of a shower I had no water - glad I didn't have a head of shampoo. Probably better in the lower level. My main concern was a dispute over price-I travelled with a 13 year old, booking.com gave a price for one adult and child up to age 17, upon check-OUT after 8 nights, the clerk told me I needed to pay for 2 adults. They did settle in my favor after I argued. Also I went on a tour arranged by the hotel and felt I was scammed-was supposed to go to 3 sites but found myself being diverted to shops where I felt pressured to buy, with high prices and likely some sort of kickback going down the chain. All in all, I would stay at las mariposas again, but arrange your own tours

Room Tip: Oops, above in the rating is an error, accidentally clicked fitness and pool (there are none) on my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judybaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
we apologize for some invenients you had in the hotel.
we try to give the best service if the guest let us know what is not working ok.

Thank you so much for take your time on writing a comment.
hope to work with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a beautiful designed backyard which is really quite although it is directly at a main street. The rooms are nicely decorated, rather large and equipped with enormous beds. You will be able to have a real good nights sleep for sure. The rooms and baths are very clean and the whole staff is really friendly. Considering the quality of the hotel area and the rooms and the low price per night, this might be your best choice while staying in Oaxaca.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aRidion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, hope to work with you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel with some friends. Four of us in total. Two of us got a room with a kitchenette, and the other two just a basic room with two double beds. Our room had NO SUN coming in at all. This being an eco-friendly hotel, it was hard to justify, being in a room where you couldn't see anything, without turning on ALL the lights. Kind of defied the purpose. On top of that, there was an interesting smell coming from the bathroom. I hate to say it, but it did smell of urine all the time. You could tell they cleaned the rooms everyday and made the beds, but never touched the bathrooms. Which I would have preferred personally.

However, the service was friendly, the people running it and everyone who worked with them were lovely, and the courtyard is really charming. The beds were comfortable, and the coffee served at breakfast was delicious. Overall, my stay was okay and pleasant enough, but I would not return. There are many other budget hotels with a tiny bit more life. This place was way way too quiet. Go if that's your thing.

Room Tip: The room up the stairs, right by the kitchen is the one we occupied that allowed no natural light in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amnah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
we apologize for not having met your expectations as you could see during your visit it was the rainy season and unfortunately many rooms were affected by the humidity.
Every day housekeeping cleans all the rooms paying special attention to the bathrooms.
If we had known your room wasn´t satisfactory, we would have been glad to move you to another room.
Hope to work with you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I practically liked everything about the hotel, starting with the price, then location, the courtyard and especially the American fellow travellers you meet at breakfast. The staff was helpful and friendly. Unlike my other guests I was not bothered by mosquitoes and slept quite well on the mattress. The rooms are quite dark, but comfortable, it takes ages until the warm water in the shower shows up, but that's about the only minor thing to remark on the downside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Frauke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your opinion that gives us the opportunity to explain the guests and the general public that for Hotel "Las mariposas" the environment is very important , so that our goal is to become an ecological hotel. One of many things we have done to accomplish this is to implement solar water heaters, in order to safe water we put in all bathrooms a tray where putting the cold water while hot water falls. It is the reason hot water takes some minutes to fall.
Thanks for your remark. We hope to see you in your next visit to Oaxaca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My colleague and I stayed in a very nice room with two double beds on the second floor above the open-air kitchen for 17 days while we studied spanish at the nearby Instituto Cultural de Oaxaca, and explored other aspects of the city. We found the owners and staff to be friendly and engaging, and the other guests to be interesting fellow travelors. The courtyard was spacious, comfortable, and inviting with an abundance of flowers and a central fountain. The typical breakfast was an assortment of breads and coffee or tea, but occasionally they offered traditionally made tortillas for a small charge - delicious! One thing to note: I got bitten by mosquitoes practically every night (this was during the rainy season) and despite the nightly application of bug spray, they still got me.
We

Room Tip: we paid a little extra to have a small kitchenette in our room. It was worth it for our needs. Glad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you so much about your opinion that help us to offer a better service to uor guests. The hotel´s location is perfect to move and go easily walking while you enjoy of the city.
Even though the window screen...Some mosquitos takes place in the rooms in the raining seasson. The 100% oaxaqueño breakfast that occasionally "Doña Juanita" makes is wonderfull. We hope receive you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

very lovely courtyards, very friendly people, excellent location and value, more informal than your usual hotel, can be a bit confusing to someone never in Mexico befor ebut youll figure it out. the not super duper comfortable mattress is the reason for not giving 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Robert:

It´s very good of you the refferences you give about hotel "Las mariposas".
It´s important for us to hear your recomendations order to improve the service and having the opportunity of accomodate you newly in your next visit.
The whole staff of "Las mariposas" hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Property: Hotel Las Mariposas
Address: Calle Pino Suarez 517 | Centro histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Mariposas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing