We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Mariposas
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel Las Mariposas is tiny jewel near the busy center of Oaxaca. Run by a competant and helpful staff, it is pleasant, safe, clean and friendly. Guests gather in the central courtyard for breakfast, make friends and sometimes share activities.Some of the rooms are small, but the modest price makes even the tiniest rooms a good bargain. Local woman stop by to perpare fresh tortillas on the comal with squash blossoms and cheese for breakfast, or sell woven ruges and purses. The ambience is cheerful and easy.

This is not a fancy hotel and it is certainly not perfect--though it IS wonderful! Though the space is private and secluded, it is in the hear tof the city and large festivals in the nearby Park Jlanos can be loud. Since Oaxacanos shoot off fireworks for most weddings and celebrations, plan to bring earplugs for the Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe and other holidays.

Las Mariposas is quite central and you easily walk to the Alcada, Santa Domingo, and the Zocalo as well as lovely restaurants, language schools, museums and markets. Taxis, busses and collectivos are available for travel to villiages in the Oaxaca valley.

Many visitors book Las Mariposas repeatedly year after year. I certainly plan to go again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Jessy: Thanks so much for your opinion, we really appreciate for you to take your time to make a comment. Thanks for letting us know how you enjoyed your visit to our hotel,we always try to give the best service to our guests,but celebrations in Oaxaca are very common.
We enjoyed having you stay with us as much as you enjoyed being here.
We´ll see you in your next visit to Oaxaca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

For the first week I stayed with a family but for my last three days in Oaxaca I decided to move to Hotel Mariposas. It was recommended to me by a woman who lives in Oaxaca a good part of the year and I had read about it prior to that.
I had a beautiful, large room with private bathroom on the second floor. The room opened out in a veranda and I could enjoy morning coffee or late afternoon margaritas on the terrace. The communal breakfast was simple but tasty and it was a great way to meet people and to practice Spanish.
The location was perfect-the Zocalo was minutes away, there was a great little restaurant, Ke-Ken a few doors down and if you wanted to splurge, Casa Oaxaca was a five minute walk.
I met two women who rented apartments there since they were there on extended stays and next time I go to Oaxaca I will definitely go at a time when there is an apartment available for me to stay in.
Very reasonably priced, helpful and attentive staff and environmentally conscientious.
A great place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

We really apreciate your comments!, thanks for let us know how you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. In fact, the breakfast time is a good opportunity to practice your Spanish and experiences with others guests. We´ll see you in your next visit to Oaxaca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in Las Mariposas for six days (November 18 - 24, 2013) and were lucky to get one of the apartments within the hotel. That meant that we had a cooking/dining/living area as well as a bedroom and bathroom. The apartment was perfectly clean and comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking supplies and dishes. More importantly, the common areas of this hotel are beautiful and you could find a quiet corner to lounge in or meet people in the central courtyard where breakfast was served and birdsong greeted you. The two women who ran the hotel were very helpful and clear when we needed to find a collectivo taxi to a nearby market and their younger staff member helped us with printing our boarding passes and calling a taxi for an early morning flight; so much appreciated. I might add that the cleaning staff felt like part of the community - so cheerful and friendly. I highly recommend this distinctive place to stay in Oaxaca. Sincerely, Cathy and Nick

Room Tip: One of the apartments allows you to cook and have extra room to lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cluchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thanks for coming.
We are grateful with your comments, the studios has a kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home and is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your staying with us. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Las Mariposas is located about one half block south of Llano Park. It is located north and east of the zócalo. I had an upstairs room with a sink in the bedroom, a separate bath and the wi-fi worked well. The room and the hotel were very clean. In the morning there was a communal breakfast of coffee, cereal and sweet breads served in their courtyard. If you don't mind walking to the major tourist spots this hotel would probably suit your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soledad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios del Hotel Las Mariposas. Nuestra ubicación a tres cuadras de Santo Domingo y a 8 cuadras del Centro, les permite a nuestros huéspedes conocer los principales atractivos turísticos caminando al tiempo que disfrutan la ciudad. Esperamos contar con su preferencia en su próxima visita a Oaxaca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Last week, my friend and I chose this hotel because we saw the splendid references here in Tripadvisor.

Everything was fine until bedtime. At midnight my friend woke up with bites on her face, we looked on the bed and we found a BIG bedbug on her pillow. We did not want to stay there anymore. Can you imagine?

We called the person in charge and he called the owner who was ashamed and gave us refund, we can understand that sometimes this can happen, buuut she was aware since morning, I mean the lady who cleans the rooms told them about the bedbug problem, that maybe the people before us brought them from other place, but they didn´t tell us anything, they just gave us the room, even when they knew!! That´s is just unacceptable.

Everything was just fine, the place is beautiful and very well located (that´s the only we can say because we left immediately) but we can´t stand a problem like that when you are on vacation.

We left the hotel at 01:00 am for another one, and immediately we came back to our city, we washed everything to make sure we didn´t bring any disgusting bedbug.

Please make sure this won´t happen to you.

Best!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are profoundly sorry for the inconvenience and the unfortunate experience you had during your recent stay at Hotel Las Mariposas. We always do everything possible to make sure our guests are comfortable and safe, unfortunately it´s widely known that bedbugs propagate very quickly and extremely easily. As soon as we were made aware of the problem we took all the necessary measures to ensure it will not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I spent a week here while doing a Spanish class in Oaxaca city. The rooms are very clean, and the whole place has a very warm and caring atmosphere. The communal kitchen has everything you need. A simple but adequate continental breakfast (with excellent coffee) is included and served in a beautiful courtyard surrounded by flowers and shrubs. We got to know fellow guests as we ate breakfast together. Teresa and her staff really make this place. They are always available to answer any questions or to make recommendations. Teresa recommended a place to eat on our 1st night and she personally walked us to it. Lucina was so kind and sweet, and always had a smile on her face.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thanks for speend your time to write a comment .
we really apreciate it, hope to see you again in the future.
Oaxaca is your second home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Las Mariposas was my home for five nights in late October 2013, and I highly recommend it as a clean, comfortable, soothing, secure, and very friendly hotel. It is close and a pleasant walk to most everything you would want to see in Oaxaca City. I loved the terraced and labyrinth-like feel of the open air interior, where a guest would happen upon shelves full of books, multiple patios for sitting to read or visit, a bubbler with agua pura, and kitchen facilities-- all within easy reach of their clean, comfortable room. The common breakfast area was relaxing and offered a nice opportunity to meet and share notes with other guests. Oaxaca is a very safe city, but Las Mariposas in nonetheless a welcoming fortress—the iron gate at the front ensures that no one enters the citadel without the knowledge of hotel staff. I extend my special thanks to the gracious Teresa, who was so helpful when I lost my ATM card, and to Cristel, the young reina of the hotel, who was so sweet and friendly and tolerant of my weak Spanish in a number of conversations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

we aprreciate your comments!, thanks for let us know how you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.
hope to work with you in your next visit to Oaxaca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 110 in Oaxaca
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#9 of 110 in Oaxaca
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#18 of 110 in Oaxaca
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 110 in Oaxaca
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Address: Calle Pino Suarez 517 | Centro histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Mariposas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing