We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star hospitality”
Review of Hotel Azucenas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #22 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Five star hospitality”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The focus on the guests is evident the moment we hit the reception desk. Although our room was on the small side (Room 5) it was well presented and clean. A fresh breakfast (surcharge) was served on the second floor garden terrace and consisted of a selection of fruit and fruit juices, local cheeses, pan dulce and unkimited tea and coffee. The terrace was also a great place to relax, catch up on e-mail (free wifi) and meet other guests (many of them repeats). Coffe and hot water were available all day as well as other refreshments on the honor system.

It was a home away from home for the few days we were in Oaxaca!

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are on the second floor and may be more insulated from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaNonnaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Hi LaNonna - you're right! We LIKE our guests...and they are truly wonderful group of people. Well-traveled (and often well-read, to judge by the books they leave on our guest bookshelf), curious, always looking to discover what they can about Oaxaca and the region...and to share it with other guests.
Our garden terrace is for breakfast, a beer or for lazing about - and is only for guests and their friends...so it stays tranquil...
Thanks for writing! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    72
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
113
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have just spent 3 lovely days in Hotel Azucenas.
We were in room 3 off the little court yard at the back of the hotel so nice and quiet. The room had 3 sky lights so it was lovely and bright.
There are a couple of rooms that are a little Dark but Donna the owner is planning to put more windows in.( And these rooms might be advantageous in the very hot weather)
The Location is good just a little walk up hill from the centre.
$40mcx ( £2 or $3 ) taxi from bus station.
There were some lovely touches to the hotel, free purified water, free coffee and tea all day. The use of a fridge if needed as there are none in the bedrooms.
The sun terrace is a nice place to sit and relax after walking Your legs off all day. A help your self honesty bar and turtles in the fountain!
We took the bus to Monte Alba £2 or $3 return several tour agencies run a shuttle service from down near the market. They go 8.30am 9.30am etc every hour till 3.30pm and they come back on the hour the first bus is back at noon and the last on 5pm.
There is a same day laundry in the street opposite hotel, and the hotel has a laundry service but not same day.
They gave us good suggestions for eating and not just expensive restaurants.
Several people staying at the hotel were return visitors, and we would send our friends.
Ali on reception is very helpful and told me where to get my hair cut all very helpful hints when you are on the road a long time.
Breakfast is available for $50mcx £2.50 or $3.50) very nice but simple, cereals fruit yoghurt breads jams etc and wonderful fresh orange juice.
We also liked the hotel can only be accessed through a door which is always closed and when someone comes in reception is aware so we felt very safe and secure here.
Thanks to Donna and all staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
And thanks "eyam" for writing...and for all the useful information.
All of our staff make every effort to help you enjoy your stay here in the hotel...and in the city. Ale, my manager, has been with the hotel for 7 years...and several of the staff for more than 12 years...so they know what our guests are looking for, and recognize many of them.
As with many traditional Mexican homes built around a central courtyard, 3 of our rooms have never had windows...BUT THEY WILL IN MAY! We're installing a sound-proofed, curtained window in each - but we expect they'll be nice and cool in the warmer months, with tower fans and thick adobe walls.
Saludos desde Oaxaca, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Fantastic staff, very helpfull and genuinly interested to help their guests the best they could. We arrived a day before the high season rates (Semana Santa), loved the place from the first moment - patio, terrace, rooms, but our backpacker budget was not exactly matching high season rates. The young gentelman at the reception (unfortunately don't remember his name) was great, he contacted the owner to keep our rates from the day of arrival, answered patiently lots of questions on where to go, eat, drink.
And breakfasts on the roof terrace made our days - fantastic bakery (not that often in mexico!), fresh orange juice and fruits, tasty cheese, we were spending at least an hour on slowly enjoying food and the city view.
Rooms were very nice, clean, and quiet.
Great place, with lovely atmosphere, you can feel they take lots of care for their guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thanks for writing Hanna F!
We have truly wonderful guests - they come to Oaxaca to enjoy and learn...and its a pleasure to help them do so. From 8 am to 9 pm we always have English-speaking staff... We pride ourselves on having much more, and better organized information than the tourism department!
I've traveled a lot and so know what a delight it is to get up lazily in the morning...knowing that the coffee will be on (at 6 am) and the terrace sunny and welcoming. Breakfast is also a great time to meet other guests from all over the world (my favorite week we had Mexicans, Americans, Canadians, a Brazilian, Germans, French and Austrians - and we only have 10 rooms!)
Saludos, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We loved everything about this hotel! All the staff were so helpful & fluent in English!!
When our original flight to Oaxaca was changed & we missed getting here on Christmas day, they didn't charge for the night we missed even though it is high season here. They were so kind & understanding.
They helped us with luggage storage, taxi arrangements & tour booking. We would stay here again & highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Hi Bobia,
It sounds like you had a great time, even with the delayed flight!
We're always happy to store baggage so you can head off to the beach a little less encumbered. We're also glad to help you figure out HOW you want to get to the coast, where you want to go...and to make your reservations so you can get there.
We appreciate your comments! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Just spent 6 nights here. Great location, clean and lovely hotel. The terrace is a gorgeous place to spend some time after a day of touring the city and its surroundings. Love the complimentary coffee, tea, pop or beer for purchase etc. Stamps are sold if you need them; nice touches like this are so great.

The wonderful, accomodating staff make it a place I will definitely return to. They were more than willing to answer questions, help to recommend a restaurant, tour, whatever we might want. All of the staff is so friendly and nice.

This hotel is a great value for the price. If you're looking for a clean, well-priced, lovely hotel in a great central location, you've found it - look no further. Highly recommended.

The only reason I was not more sad to leave....was now venturing to the coast of Oaxaca to enjoy the beaches!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B'ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Hi B'ham, and thanks so much for your compliments... We try to specialize in "nice touches"!

So, we hope you had a GREAT time at the beach (REMEMBER, you're always welcome to leave some luggage with us for a few days if you'll be returning through Oaxaca)..and that we we see you soon! Donna and the people at Hotel Azucenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonvienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This was the second hotel we stayed in whilst in Oaxaca and we enjoyed it much more than the much more expensive Casa del las Bugambilias.

As soon as we went into the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly young man and were made to feel very welcome. This got the stay off to a great start.

The room was basic but comfortable and homely. The only problem we had was the water. On our first stay we waited a long time for hot water and on the second trip (we stayed there on two separate occasions) we couldn't get water hot water at all one night.This is the only reason I have scored it 4 stars and not 5!

The hotel benefits from a fantastic rooftop terrace. It is great place to start the day with breakfast or to end the day with a drink.

If you are staying in Oaxaca and want a good hotel at a great price then don't look further!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOWGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Hi WOWGordon - thanks for writing with your wonderful complements about our staff (they are ALL great!), and the terrace.
AND thanks, too, for letting us know about the problem you had with hot water. We DO have hot water 24 hours a day - in all rooms - but the rooms that are furthest from our hot water heaters can take a LONG time for the hot water to arrive. We are working on resolving this problem right now - perhaps with a closer pass-through water heater.
Saludos desde Oaxaca, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel was well located (walking distance from Zocalo) in a quiet neighbourhoud (rare in Mexico)
Nice and clean room
Excellent balcony where we could enjoy a good breakfast with a great view.
Very friendly (english speaking) staff, both owner and guy at the reception!!!
A place to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Hi Ruben D - We remember you for your smiles! It was a pleasure to have you enjoy our place so much - and to have you back after your trip to the beach.
We're always glad to keep peoples luggage for a few days when they head to the coast - you certainly won't need your warm clothes there...
Belgium is a long way away, but we hope to see you again, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#23 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#13 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Property: Hotel Azucenas
Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing