We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tamale Cooking Class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Azucenas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Tamale Cooking Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Azucenas offers an excellent hands-on three hour foray into the secrets of making Oaxacan Tamales de Mole y Pollo con Hoja de Platano (Black Mole and Chicken in Banana Leaf) and Tamales de Frijol con Hoja de Maiz (Black Bean with “Saint’s Leaf” Tamales Wrapped in Corn Husks). Additionally we prepared Salsa para los Tamales de Frijol (Salsa for the Bean Tamales) that consisted of chile, tomatillos and garlic clove.

There are many all day cooking classes offered in Oaxaca that begin with a trip to the local market and a considerable amount of time doing prep work. Our instructor, Sra. Clara, had already purchased all the ingredients, prepared her own mole and boiled the black beans. We moved directly into boiling chicken, preparing the two different masa mixtures, and boiling the ingredients for the salsa.

I was grateful that it was only a class of two students – this may be the minimum to hold class. We were allowed to document the process with pictures and really do each step in the assembly of the tamales. Watching an instructor mixing consommé, lard and water into the masa to achieve a “cream of wheat” consistency is reinforced when you get to put your hands in the pan and feel the required texture.

The class concludes with the steaming of the tamales in a pot lined with corn husks and topped with banana leaves while the instructor cleaned up “our” mess. When the tamales were done, we were offered all the tamales we could eat along with a beverage of choice (beer or mezcal were our choices) and the friendly hotel staff joined in for a late lunch. As we prepared to leave, we were each handed a plate piled with tamales to take home as well as a printed copy of the recipes.

For some, Sra. Clara’s limited English may be a concern. However, even with my rudimentary Spanish I had no problem communicating and asking questions.
For me, this tamale cooking class was four thumbs up!

Room Tip: Take room number 10 on the terrace if it is available.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DLA_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Hi DLA Alaska – we were so glad that you had the opportunity to join our new-ish cooking class – open to hotel guests and the public (which really means friends of the hotel!). As far as we know it’s the only class in the area that concentrates on tamale-making, which are not usually included in cooking class menus as they take longer to make.
We hold the classes on Tuesdays (usually), whenever we have the minimum of 2 students (maximum 4). Cost is $400. pesos per person (about $24.00 USD) and this includes the 3 hour session, a complimentary beer, mescal or soft drink and all the tamales you can eat. The meal is often joined by hotel staff and the occasional other guests which makes for a great multi-lingual occasion.
You’re right - the mostly Spanish class doesn't seem to hamper Sra. Clara’s students. Most of us learn to cook by watching anyway…
Just call, email or drop by the hotel to register…we hope to see you again, DLA…and anyone else who’d like to attend, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    71
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
111
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed for 6 nights here and had a lovely time in Oaxaca. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we stayed close to the terrace. You do get hot and there is a fan in the rooms.
Donna is very helpful and little touches are thought about like providing stamps and a post box. They help and recommend places to eat and excursions.

The terrace is just so lovely and colourful, a great place to rest and catch some sun! The breakfasts each morning are fresh and freshly squeezed orange juice is lovely.

Everyone is very helpful and for the price it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thanks, LittleBee1for your kind words about our comfortable rooms, rooftop terrace, breakfasts and service!
We’ve tried to provide everything an independent traveler needs to be happy!!
Best wishes for further great travels, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

In short:
The hotel itself is a small property with a lot of charm in a convenient location. The staff was extremely helpful and always willing to answer any questions we had. What I didn't like were some of the amenities (it's worth saying I'm an extremely low key person).

Would I stay there again?
Unlikely. Unless they did a couple of low-cost upgrades I would probably find a different hotel.

Pros:
- Amazing staff, always helpful with friendly smiles.
- Great location. Not too close to the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk there.
- Charming patio to take your coffee/drink a beer

Cons:
- Extremely uncomfortable beds. The mattresses were very hard and the pillows quite poor.
- No AC, be prepared for a hot room (we were there late March 2013)
- Cheap flimsy towels, upgrading the towels can't possibly be that expensive for such small hotel.
- In terrace room (#10) there is a gap between the french doors that allow a ray of sunlight in the AM that hits you right in the face. No need for alarm clock, it will be impossible to sleep once that light is shinning directly on your eyes.

Room Tip: If you choose a terrace room, DO NOT go for room #10, the french doors allow for a ray of sunlight t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pctrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Hi pctrillo, and thank you for mentioning our convenient location, friendly and helpful staff AND our charming patio.
It’s too bad that you didn't mention the things that bothered you during your 8 days here. We keep a sign on our reception desk asking people to write or call me (the owner) if they experience any kind of a problem…and we can usually resolve things quickly!
Our mattresses, towels and pillows are hotel standards. We get many more compliments on our beds than we do complaints, and so have tried to please as many people as possible.
We considered getting air-conditioning a few years ago, but a survey of guests indicated that most people were delighted to be able to sleep with fresh air in their room (and a fan, if necessary) so we never installed it. And we always have extra fans for those who would like a little more breeze.
Room #10 – everyone’s favorite, as it has a window and door opening onto the rooftop terrace – has been rented most of the time for 13 years, and no one has ever mentioned the entering sunbeam. We could have fixed it in a flash!
We hope you enjoyed your trip overall, and will be back to Oaxaca. Saludos, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week during Semana de Santa. We heard about Hotel Azucenas from TripAdvisor and the positive reviews were right in line with our experience. While our room was small and without air conditioning, it was very clean and had a fan which kept the room at a pleasant temperature. The best things about the hotel are (1) the view from the roof - it provides a really nice view of the city because Azucenas is towards the top of a hill and also gets a spectacular breeze around sunset, and (2) Donna, the owner/manager. We came without a specific itinerary and Donna planned our entire week long trip when we arrived at the hotel, from suggesting interesting excursions (one day when it was very hot she told us about a nearby small hotel pool that had free admission with the purchase of the vegetarian buffet for $9USD per person. The food was delicious, the water was cold and refreshing, and we enjoyed being among the nationalist tourists) to providing restaurant recommendations (casual taco joints to fancy upscale) and making reservations. We loved Oaxaca and it was in a large part in thanks to the comfort and excellent service of Azucenas.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldan203454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
HolaGoldan203454!!
You were great fun to have here!! It’s a pleasure to make plans with people who delight in everything…and who are willing to try all kinds of things…Thanks for the compliments...
We hand out maps and lists of restaurant and transportation recommendations on arrival, and will ALWAYS find whatever our guests are looking for (if it exists). We were asked for a museum of street graffiti yesterday…but had to report that there were at least 2 “workshops”, but no museum…to date.
We hope to see you again!! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The staff esp Donna were extremely helpful and hospitable - went above and beyond in terms of suggesting sights to see and places to eat. Donna knows her city very well and is very generous with making one comfortable. The hotel almost seems more like a bed and breakfast - speaking of which the hotel has, for a very modest price, an extremely good breakfast buffet. I highly recommend this lovely hotel, located near central Oaxaca City. The hotel is very charming with a lovely roof garden on the second floor!

Room Tip: Any room is good but I especially recommend one on the second floor near the beautiful roof garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaramac65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi Barbaramac65, and thanks for all your kind words.
It was a pleasure to have you around for a while!l
One of the advantages of being a small hotel is that we get to know our guests AND what they’d like to do while they’re here. In your case it was LOTS of different things…but you were also an enthusiastic participant in THE VERY FIRST of our in-house tamale-making cooking classes. We made over 70 tamales that day and we – and everybody else around at the time – got to feast on them.
So we hope to see you again, soon – Donna and the staff of Hotel Azucenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just had two weeks in this lovely hotel. It is handy to the whole city - a 5 minute walk to the Zocalo, yet in a quiet area. The staff are very friendly and helpful and keep the whole hotel spotless. Breakfast is available on the roof patio which also has a small kitchen. They also offer hands-on cooking classes given by a great Mexican woman who knows just how to do all the local foods of Oaxaca. We did 2 very different types of tamales one with cheese, one with chicken and mole. And we got to eat them after! Great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaldingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Hi Yaldingman! Thanks for writing, for all of your compliments…and for being fun to have around!
It’s true – we have just started offering (on a demand basis) – “mini” cooking classes in our Rooftop Kitchen:
TUESDAYS, 12 – 3 PM, IN HOTEL AZUCENAS
MAKE 2 KINDS OF TAMALES & A SALSA
MAXIMUM 4 PER CLASS – LOTS OF “HANDS ON EXPERIENCE”
$400.00 PESOS INCLUDES CLASS, ALL THE TAMALES YOU CAN EAT & A COMPLIMENTARY BEER OR MEZCAL
And we’re looking forward to more classes!!
Donna & La Sra. Clara (how maestra de cooking)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at Hotel Azucenas for the first two weeks of February. All staff are bilingual and very helpful and friendly. They arranged transport and air line tickets for me and were always happy to help me get oriented in the city. They recommended good eateries, and off the beaten path artisans, etc.
The roof top garden area is superb and well tended. Great views of the city and one gets to chat with the other guests.
The hotel is small and intimate and a real oasis of charm. Lots of hot water for showers and the rooms are spotless and scrubbed every day by very cheerful and happy staff.
I would definitely return to Hotel Azucenas. It was a true home from home.

Room Tip: I was in room 7 which faces the street, but the room is large and charming. I enjoyed the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierrette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Hi Pierrette – Thanks for being a great and FUN guest! It was obvious you were enjoying yourself…and taking advantage of all the city offers.
We look forward to seeing you again! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#22 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#23 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#35 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Property: Hotel Azucenas
Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing