We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Azucenas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Charming hotel with bright, happy color. Rooftop is best selling point, as one can hang out throughout the day. At night, we always spent our evenings at the rooftop drinking mescal, chilling out in the breezy summer air and watching the daily lives of Oaxacans.
Room is clean and bright with skylight window. We were in room #3 which is on ground floor a bit away from the street. We don't mind the morning light shining over us but one may want to bring eye shades if one may be bothered by it. Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear AHA2006 – glad you were comfy!! And that you enjoyed our terrace…
A hint for future visitors to Room #3 – there IS a small sign in the room letting you know that we will gladly cover your skylight…all the time, or just at night! (Not needed by those with eye shades!).
Saludos! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    72
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
113
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We absolutely loved our charming, bright and tastefully decorated room. The hotel is a little gem in Oaxaca, the staff is very friendly and you immediately feel like home. Gordon (the owner i guess) contacts you immediately after you make the reservation, answering all your possible questions. The hotel provides you every day with free drinking water and coffee, there are also many books and hats to borrow.. The breakfast costs 50pesos and its the best i ate in Mexico. They also let us hang for 3 hours on the beautiful rooftop terrace after we had checked out (we had to wait for our bus). We would reccomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianna_Gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi Gianna_Gi,
We’re thrilled to hear that you loved our place!!
Gordon is one of our team of truly WONDERFUL, helpful staff…some of whom have been with us since we opened 13+ years ago.
We’re glad to help guests out in any way that we can…which includes taking care of your luggage while you go to the beach or hiking for a few days OR inviting you to use the hotel facilities (including the complimentary tea and coffee) while you wait for a late bus…
Please DO recommend us to everyone! All the best from the staff of Hotel Azucenas – Donna, Ale, Daniela, Sara, Olga, Clara, Gordon, Silvia and Juan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A nice place to stay in Oaxaca. Quite charming rooms surrounding a courtyyard. Rooms clean and comfortable.Breakfast on the rooftop is very pleasant, looking out over the city.
The bread could have been fresher and the fruit could have been covered to avoid the flies however!
Light sleepers should ask for a quiet room although we didn't find the hotel noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are quiter perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squigs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Hi Squigs83 - we're glad to hear from you AND that you liked our rooms, rooftop and breakfast.
My guess is that your comment about the bread had to do with a Sunday morning. Our bread is delivered most days - to our door - by a baker who lives around the corner. But Sunday he restsナwhich means we either have to resort to store bought, or pick some up at the marketナ
And we've reminded the senoras who are in charge of the buffet breakfast to keep an on the cover for the fresh fruitナsometimes guests forget to put it back on!
Saludos! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in June and absolutely loved it! Great location which is easy to find, just a few easy for walking blocks from Santo Domingo area where we liked to hang out the most, one block from beautiful Basilica de Soledad where you can get good ice-cream( try the mezcal one!) and short few blocks to Zocal, its more quite, but you can see all the beauty that Oaxaca has to offer from the rooftop. Incredible view! If room 10 available, stay there, thats what we did, and its totally worth additional 50 pecos. Its right on the rooftop and more private! Tea and coffee available for you free of charge, as well as water...most of the time...( the last two days we stayed they run out of drinking water) , but there is plenty of little stores nearby. We also walked to Galaguetza Auditorium which is 10 or 15 min away. The hotel offers continental breakfast for 50 pecos. Try it if you are in hurry, otherwise give yourself a favor and walk to Alex cafe down Diaz st or to other good restaurants and coffee shops around Santo Domingo. Explore little streets around hotel,many galleries , restaurants to find. Dont forget to try Don Juanito's restaurant for the best posole and tlayuda!
The hotel gives you a list of recommended restaurants, some of the suggested options we tried and loved!
The place is clean and safe.
Overall, we loved our stay and hope to come back to gorgeous Oaxaca again soon. We will definitely stay at Azucenas.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 209Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi Elena209 – THANKS VERY MUCH for writing and for your compliments on our great location, rooftop garden terrace and our restaurant recommendations (for that list see our website: http://www.hotelazucenas.com/steal-this-menu-not-really/).
I’m sorry if we seemed to run out of drinking water…it’s ALWAYS THERE!! We provide free bottles in your room…and you can fill them as much as you like from the jug in our comedor…and if looks like we’ve run out, just ask at Reception…
We do hope to see you again, pronto! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This is a very cute hotel, not right in the center of Oaxaca, but conveniently a few blocks away. The rooms are bright, clean, and pleasantly decorated. The little details in the service are what make it special. There is free wifi, they sell mezcal, they give you a list of well-thought recommendations, and there is even a pile of hats and books you can borrow if you forgot your own. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayeli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thanks, NyeliG, for noticing all the extra touches we provide to help make your stay special!
We’d love to have you back! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My friends and I used this hotel the night before we left Oaxaca. The price was reasonable, the staff very helpful, it had a boutique hotel feel to it, nicely decorated, the rooms had ceiling fans which was fine for April. The rooftop terrace and do it yourself kitchen was a plus.
A word of caution, if you have a car, which we did, you will find it very hard to find a parking place anywhere near this hotel or any in this location which is a few blocks from the city square. You are on your own and many people double park on side-streets until 10 or 11 at night, when places become available ( if you are lucky ). The hotel can arrange for a taxi to the airport but it is cheaper to get one on the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpaulanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Hi tpaul…and thanks for writing, and for the compliments!
You’re right - parking spaces are hard to find throughout the centre. We do sometimes have a spot available in front of the hotel, and there are 2 parking garages within 2 blocks of the hotel.
Oaxacans have made a fine art of double parking.
All the best! Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay for New Year's week at the well run Hotel Azucenas. Prior to our stay, the staff was very responsive to our queries. By booking about 2 months in advance, we were able to snag room #10 on the beautifully decorated roof terrace. During our stay, the staff was extremely helpful and always happy to help us with a restaurant recommendation to sample the breathtaking local cuisine.

The hotel's location was an easy and safe walk to most parts of Oaxaca City including the zocalo. The hotel has been around for a while, so it was easy to arrange for our private tour guide to pick us up.

We even spent new year's day on the roof happily basking in the sunshine while drinking some excellent local mezcal.

Room Tip: Room #10 is by itself and set admist the lovely rooftop garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Hi IdaFats
We wish we had ten #10s!! BUT people enjoy the other rooms as well – and EVERYBODY has access to the roof garden…
Thanks for your kind words…and we’re always ready with recommendations and assistance. For those who haven’t been to the hotel yet, there is now more detailed information in the About Oaxaca tab of our website, and on facebook Hotel Azucenas.
Thanks, from Donna and the staff at the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#15 of 109 in Oaxaca
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Property: Hotel Azucenas
Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing