We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place. Why pay more?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Azucenas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #23 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place. Why pay more?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Azucena and had a very good stay. The hotel is just 8-10 minutes walk (very pleasant walk) from the Zocalo. It was the low season so the place was quiet. I believe the owners were away but staff were helpful and very friendly. The rooms are nice (we went for a cheap one without window - if you can ask for a room with window, I think it'd be better). Decent size. The roof terrace is a great asset. What a luxury to drink a bear there in the evening. You can borrow hats if it gets too hot. They sell extremely good value mezcal at the reception (you need to try it!). Very clean. We didn't bother with the breakfast as we preferred going to the market (cheap chocolate and bread - pastries for only few pesos). I highly recommend Hotel Azucenas for its location, value for money and charm. Don't bother paying more especially if you're going to spend most of your time outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Thanks for review, Crumpet2009, and thanks for invoking the mezcal!

Mezcal is starting to grow in international popularity and the mezcal at Azucenas is a good example of why that may be. It comes from a local mezcaleria, whose name we can’t officially mention. (This is in part because we buy in bulk and they are starting to enforce laws about labeling and packaging which may affect our future purchases.) But for now - we have scored!

In July there was a Féria de Mezcál in Oaxaca´s Parque Llano. It’s an annual fair with dozens of booths each serving samples of excellent boutique mezcal. (There’s music and food, too - don’t miss it if you are here at that time.) I had the good fortune of going this year with a mezcalero from a different mezcal manufacturer (not the one we buy from). An expert in mezcal, he took me to just three of the booths to sample the very best mezcal at the fair. ONE OF THEM WAS OUR PROVIDER!!! (And they were selling it for much more than we do.)

We aim for quality at Hotel Azucenas but we honestly didn´t know how truly discerning we were in our choice of mezcal.

All the best, from Gordon (an employee and great friend of the hotel) and Donna (the owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    71
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
112
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are looking for a moderately-priced small hotel with warm and friendly service, clean and comfortable accommodations, this is it. The room was simply but tastefully decorated and appointed. The expanded continental breakfasts were delicious, varied and reasonably priced. The staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant, including providing excellent restaurant and tour recommendations. The neighborhood was quiet, safe and within just a few blocks of most of the main attractions in the historic district of Oaxaca. We will definitely stay at the Hotel Azucenas on our next visit to the city.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get one of the two rooms on the terrace on the second floor. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1122Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longbow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A small welcoming hotel, within easy walking distance of the zocalo. There with a lovely rooftop terrace/ garden where you can eat breakfast while enjoying views of the surrounding city and hills. The rooms are small but comfortable and most importantly quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marquette
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We really liked this hotel. We stayed on the top floor in room 10, and it was indeed a great choice. I didn't really see much of the other rooms, other than peeks, I don't know if I would stay there unless I had that top floor room however, since they seemed small and dark to me....however, the staff were very helpful and the top deck was beautiful. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 10! Loved watching the moon rise from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbing53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hola kbing53 and thanks for writing!
Everybody loves Room 10…but we ALSO have guests who deliberately request other favourite rooms…and for stays of up to a month.
Some rooms have skylights; others have large windows onto the courtyard…
And EVERYBODY LOVES the rooftop terrace garden.
We look forward to seeing you again – AND we’ll be glad to hold Room 10 for you, Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Everything about this little hotel is great, we could have stayed for a lot longer than we did. It's perfectly situated, just 5 minutes from the centre, so you're right in the heart of the place but enough of a step away from the centre to get some peace. It's also just up on the brow of a hill, so the gentle breeze it gets is a relief when the rest of the place is getting a bit steamy. Great breakfasts, lovely helpful staff, sweet rooms, very very good value. Oaxaca is a gem of a place and this is a gem of a hotel. We will definitely be back! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dearest Richard N – what a lovely note!! Thanks so much for appreciating everything we’ve tried to do…
And, of course, we can’t wait to have you back! The staff at Hotel Azucenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent 15 days at the hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We love the rooftop patio with its riot of colorful plants and sun umbrellas on the tables. The breakfast is delicious and healthy. Fruit,granola, yogurt,bread,fresh juice and great coffee. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the downstairs open patio is delightful. Excellent wifi. It is a short walk to the Zocolo and various museums. Just enough exercise to keep us in shape. The owner is sharp and helpful and knows so much about Oaxaca. The managers are also organized friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful time. Accidentally rated the swimming pool. There is no pool so ignore the rating.

Room Tip: We love the room on the roof. We call it the penthouse. We were there during the full moon and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Michele H…Thanks for loving EVERYTHING about our hotel!
The wonderful thing about Oaxaca is that there is LOTS to do for 2 weeks or more…and we try to help our guests see a lot of it. Including some that is beyond the guidebooks.
It’s true that we don’t have a pool…but we do have a lovely fountain with 4 very handsome and congenial turtles.

We’re looking forward to seeing you again, Donna and the staff of Hotel Azucenas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent six nights at Azucenas and loved it. This hotel is restful, quiet, cheerful, very very pretty and Mexican, and best of all it is well organized and functions very well. These people know how to make guests feel welcome! Anything you might need or want? They have it, will get it, or will call someone to bring it to you! The location is excellent for us b/c it is about 1.5 blocks from the plaza at La Soledad which is FULL OF ICE CREAM cafes. It's easy to get a cab to the Zocalo and markets, and the hotel's recommended taxis for longer trips are excellent. We felt right at home in this small friendly hotel. And, while we were there, the owner and staff were celebrating a birthday. We got up to the terrace for breakfast, and there was Donna the owner, offering us bowls of delicious celebratory bread pudding. I don't think you can go wrong with Hotel Azucenas! We'll be back.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#18 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#13 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Property: Hotel Azucenas
Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing