We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Surprise - Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mexita

Mexita
Ranked #19 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mexita es un restaurante de cocina SurItaliana, de antiguas origines Napolitanas.
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“What a Surprise - Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was very surprising when the owner of Mexita told us he has been there for 3 years. We live a few blocks away and it was recommended just a few weeks ago. We went after a music performance and luckily they were still open and welcoming at 9:45. We just ordered wine, a couple pizzas, and desert, but the staff, owner and owners son treated us like regulars and the pizza and deserts were terrific. The atmosphere is very nice with indoor and patio seating and a wood fired brick oven in full view. It seemed all the wines were Italian and reasonable for what they were, and they offered some craft beers. The owner treated us to some homemade limoncello after we ate. Delicious. We will definitely be back to try more of the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    28
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Extremely friendly and very curteous service, the salads are delicious, with real virgin olive oil, fragrant basil and tomatoes you would have remembered if you had grown up in the Mediterranean. The pizzas are thin crust, oven baked with just the right amount of cheeses and fragrant spices and herbs. The portions are generous, so we did not have any space for dessert, but the complimentary limoncello was just the right touch. Will definitely be back, as this is the best Italian cuisine in Oaxaca.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Aah, nice to eat some pasta and pizza after weeks of Mexican flavors. Fresh pasta and fresh wood oven pizza. Fresh ingredients and a yummy arugula salad too! Cozy atmosphere and friendly service. Delicious bread too! Can't wait to go back and get my salad and pizza fix! Not cheap... Beer,juice, pasta and salad was $400 pesos but worth every penny! (Two people)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldengate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best meal the best experience simply, the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere: casual and inviting
Food: the best and freshest pizza
this side of Italy
Service: personal - the owner and chef Enrico passionate about his food, his dad so welcoming.
Worth a trip in every way

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dgarcia2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Italian food in Oaxaca? Oh my yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Okay, you can find excellent East Indian food in London, and Mexican food in L.A., and Cuban food in Miami . . . is it so bizarre to imagine superb Italian food in Oaxaca, Mexico? Do not doubt it!

Mexita has a varied menu but specializes in pizza, and I can report that theirs was one of the best I've ever had. Thin crust style, in case you're wondering. And then, as others have reported, we were served a complimentary glass of lemoncello to accompany dessert. Dessert, by the way, was also wonderful.

Apart from the innumerable opportunities to enjoy that amazing Oaxacan food, if you get a hankering for something different in the form of Italian cuisine, do yourself a favor and seek out Mexita. It's a cozy, unpretentious place that features friendly service, and food you'd be delighted to encounter anywhere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexita also viewed

 

Been to Mexita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing