We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca
Ranked #26 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a very good hostel and the people who run it are great. They gave me loads of advice andwere most helpful. It is in a good location not far from the main bus station and the town itself. It was a bit of a walk to get to the collectivos to go to the places outside the city, but in saying that, I was in no rush to get anywhere. Everyone here was chilled and cool. The dorm was clean and comfortable with lockers and thissmall balcony where you could stand and watch Oaxaca go by. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

It was a great hostel. Only 20 min walk from the first class bus terminal was awesome.
The hostel was beautiful and I really liked the openess of the building.
The breakfast was great because there were toasts, corn flakes, milk, coffee, and even fresh fruits! And also free water refill was so helpful (so someone cheap like me don't have to spend 8 pesos for a bottle of water).
Though the staff were nice, I often had hard time finding them
But it was really, I mean REALLY, good value for the price. If you are going to Oaxaca, you definately should be in Cielo Rojo.

Room Tip: Any room should be fine! But I stayed in a 8 person room and I really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at this hostel with my partner in a private room. The rooms were simple, but it was really all we needed while we were there. The owners/staff were very friendly and reccomended places to go and even took a group of us out. They facilitated a friendly atmosphere and everyone in the hostel got together for drinks out at some less touristy places. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElyInVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I could only stay at the hostel for two nights due to work. However that was enough time for me to realize the service is percent, the place is really comfortable and the air smells to relaxation. Wanna chill out?? This is the right place to go :D

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiewillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I ended up in this Hostel thanks to good reviews it has. In my opinion this was o.k. hostel, but nothing spectacular. It was difficult to sleep before midnight since soundproofing was very poor while some clients were fairly loud. Toilets were were bit run-down. On a positive note, location is good and staff is very friendly. Breakfast was simple, typical to other hostels (bread, corn flakes, fruits).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank posi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I was supposed to stay a day or two after two months of traveling thru Mexico but ended up staying a week and a half. A really good breakfast, great coffee, good kitchen facilities, and some really nice guys own and run this place, and really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.....Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barty1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed at the Cielo Rojo in August, a few weeks after they opened. In addition to traditional hostile-style bunkbeds, they also offer private rooms. I stayed in a huge, immaculately clean private room with ensuite bathroom that was very quiet and comfortable. This made it perfect for me as a solo female traveler because I had the security and privacy of a hotel room all while getting to enjoy the social atmosphere of a hostile environment. During my stay I met most of the other guests (from all over the world) at breakfast, which is nutritious and plentiful. Hosts Efrain and Mauricio were gracious, knowledgeable, and incredibly helpful. I had a problem with my bank back in the U.S. and they bent over backwards to help me straighten it out in no time. I am well traveled and tend to shy away from goofy-gringo outtings, but they set me up on a wonderful half-day tour that was economical and the highlight of my trip. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: private room with ensuite bathroom is a steal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prentice411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
#23 of 119 in Oaxaca
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Pochon
Hostal Pochon
#14 of 119 in Oaxaca
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andaina Hostel
Andaina Hostel
#9 of 119 in Oaxaca
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 119 in Oaxaca
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal de Las Americas
Hostal de Las Americas
#3 of 119 in Oaxaca
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luz de Luna Hostel
Luz de Luna Hostel
#25 of 119 in Oaxaca
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca

Address: Calle Xicotencatl 121, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range: £10 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the best hostel of OaxacaLet us show you the magic of the city! Alone or in group, meet other cool travellers, in the most popular and central hostel :) A young, cultural, social responsible, and environmental friendly hostel in the heart of Oaxaca. TOP INFORMATION- Free computer / WiFi everywhere- Book exchange- Fruity Breakfast included- Clean Linen and Towels included- Huge bathrooms!- Green patio / Roof sun area- Luggage storage- Lockers in dorms and common areas- Pool table and board games- Laundry service- Full kitchen- Beer sold in hostel- Best staff- Gay friendly- Cultural hostelCulture: We love spreading Oaxaca's culture and our surrounding indigenous towns. Committed with sustainability and social responsibility we host indigenous languages courses in hostel / fiel trips every week. We also support and work directly with the mixe indigenous region. And work together with Guelaguetza dancers, mixe musicians, and traditional music groups. Besides the usual tours, we offer independent information and alternative routes regarding nature, ecology, gastronomic, beach, rural, and cultural issues. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing