We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca
Ranked #19 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent location”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Not many travelers when I stayed here but was nice to have a dorm to myself! Clean bathrooms and secure place (ring doorbell to enter). Breakfast available free every morning. Located near the town center and able to walk through much of the city. Would stay here again if every in Oaxaca again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
1
25
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
292 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a very good hostel and the people who run it are great. They gave me loads of advice andwere most helpful. It is in a good location not far from the main bus station and the town itself. It was a bit of a walk to get to the collectivos to go to the places outside the city, but in saying that, I was in no rush to get anywhere. Everyone here was chilled and cool. The dorm was clean and comfortable with lockers and thissmall balcony where you could stand and watch Oaxaca go by. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

It was a great hostel. Only 20 min walk from the first class bus terminal was awesome.
The hostel was beautiful and I really liked the openess of the building.
The breakfast was great because there were toasts, corn flakes, milk, coffee, and even fresh fruits! And also free water refill was so helpful (so someone cheap like me don't have to spend 8 pesos for a bottle of water).
Though the staff were nice, I often had hard time finding them
But it was really, I mean REALLY, good value for the price. If you are going to Oaxaca, you definately should be in Cielo Rojo.

Room Tip: Any room should be fine! But I stayed in a 8 person room and I really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at this hostel with my partner in a private room. The rooms were simple, but it was really all we needed while we were there. The owners/staff were very friendly and reccomended places to go and even took a group of us out. They facilitated a friendly atmosphere and everyone in the hostel got together for drinks out at some less touristy places. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElyInVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I could only stay at the hostel for two nights due to work. However that was enough time for me to realize the service is percent, the place is really comfortable and the air smells to relaxation. Wanna chill out?? This is the right place to go :D

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiewillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I ended up in this Hostel thanks to good reviews it has. In my opinion this was o.k. hostel, but nothing spectacular. It was difficult to sleep before midnight since soundproofing was very poor while some clients were fairly loud. Toilets were were bit run-down. On a positive note, location is good and staff is very friendly. Breakfast was simple, typical to other hostels (bread, corn flakes, fruits).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank posi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I was supposed to stay a day or two after two months of traveling thru Mexico but ended up staying a week and a half. A really good breakfast, great coffee, good kitchen facilities, and some really nice guys own and run this place, and really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.....Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barty1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
0.6 mi away
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
#1 of 112 in Oaxaca
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal de Las Americas
Hostal de Las Americas
#3 of 112 in Oaxaca
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luz de Luna Hostel
Luz de Luna Hostel
#21 of 112 in Oaxaca
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andaina Hostel
Andaina Hostel
#8 of 112 in Oaxaca
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iguana Hostel Oaxaca
Iguana Hostel Oaxaca
#12 of 112 in Oaxaca
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca

Property: Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca
Address: Calle Xicotencatl 121, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the best hostel of OaxacaLet us show you the magic of the city! Alone or in group, meet other cool travellers, in the most popular and central hostel :) A young, cultural, social responsible, and environmental friendly hostel in the heart of Oaxaca. TOP INFORMATION- Free computer / WiFi everywhere- Book exchange- Fruity Breakfast included- Clean Linen and Towels included- Huge bathrooms!- Green patio / Roof sun area- Luggage storage- Lockers in dorms and common areas- Pool table and board games- Laundry service- Full kitchen- Beer sold in hostel- Best staff- Gay friendly- Cultural hostelCulture: We love spreading Oaxaca's culture and our surrounding indigenous towns. Committed with sustainability and social responsibility we host indigenous languages courses in hostel / fiel trips every week. We also support and work directly with the mixe indigenous region. And work together with Guelaguetza dancers, mixe musicians, and traditional music groups. Besides the usual tours, we offer independent information and alternative routes regarding nature, ecology, gastronomic, beach, rural, and cultural issues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cielo Rojo Hostel, Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing