We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to explore the mountains”

Bicicletas Pedro Martinez - Private Day Tours
Ranked #12 of 44 Tours in Oaxaca
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to explore the mountains”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We went with Bicicletas Pedro Martinez to do a day hike in Llano Grande; we initially thought that it would be a larger group, but when they picked us up, we realised it would be a private tour. It was a lovely day out; we were driven from our accommodation to the national park and had a local guide take us up the mountain. The landscape and views were beautiful; after being in cities for the past week, getting out to nature was fantastic. Even though we did not know what was happening some of the time (due to our limited Spanish), the staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to help us. Would recommend this team!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KTD270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“favourite day in Oaxaca”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very professional, catered to ability of the group (which was high). Full day tour included unlimited fruit, water, lunch, decent bikes, interesting stops, support vehicle following us. Incredible day! Went in mid-December and it was hot (high 20's celcius) but was still very enjoyable. El huerve de agua was really nice to swim at at the end of the tour. Had wide range of hikes and biking tours to choose from. Will definitely book here again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fanastic mountain bike tour in NW Oaxaca 80km to the NW of Oaxaca”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We rented mountain bikes from these outfitters who are based in Oaxaca city near the big mercado just south of the center of town.
We were first taken by Efrain and Alberto for breakfast in Nochixtlan (about 80 km NW of Oaxaca City) There we started the ride up into the mountains of the NW corner of the state of Oaxaca. Efrain, an expert biker, rode with us and Alberto followed us in a sag wagon.
The ride was on dirt roads with virtually no traffic and climbed about 1000 m over 20 miles passing through really rugged countryside. The Mixtec people who farm here have to deal with a pretty dry and sparse environment.
After climbing for many hours, the final part is an exciting descent into a village called San Pedro Coxcaltepec down a multiple hairpin steep road that looked and felt like the roads used in the Alps in the Tour de France or the Giro d'Italia except on gravel.
In the village we were provided with a wonderful home made lunch after which we hiked about 2km down to the bottom of a 60m waterfall where we had a welcome swim in cold (for Mexico!) fresh water. From here, we went back to Oaxaca by van. They also do a two day trip where one stays overnight in the village and returns the next day with a different way back to Nochixtlan.
We had a fantastic day out (13 hours) and returned exhausted but thrilled with the tour.
Efrain spoke good english and was a wonderful biking companion explaining much about the environment. We highly recommend this group for mountain bike tours of the Oaxaca area There are several other tours than the one described above.
The bikes were well set up and they provided helmets, gloves, water and snacks as well as the two meals.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannecorkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oaxaca to Puerto Escondido - December 14-17, 2012”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Absolutely loved our 4 days with Pedro and Efrian!

Some experience riding a bike would be advised, the tour is as tough or as easy as you want to push yourself.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brydone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bicicletas Pedro Martinez - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bicicletas Pedro Martinez - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing