We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond My Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de los Frailes
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am already planning a trip back to this beautiful place! Prior to my arrival, I was nervous and worried about the type of accommodations I would find. Yes, the pictures look nice but, I've been tricked before. However, from the aesthetic to the service this Hotel is Amazing! Fresh, friendly, and reasonable this is the hotel to stay at! Clean, polite, and close to the center of town. Stop looking...this is the Hotel you need to stay at!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

Really nice hotel, rooms are clean, strong wifi, excellent location, very friendly people.
The bathroom is a bit tiny, tough, but it's not a problem. At least, always had hot water.
In fact, a good place to stay 2-3 days at least.
I will only describe two issues.
1. Wndows (room 114, probably other rooms facing the street). The handle is broken apparently long time ago. Instead of repairing it, they fixed a simple latch. Obviously it cannot hold the window sealed. Therefore it seems that either the cars are in your room or you are in the middle of the street. The 'good' thing is that at night the street is quiet, and you wake up early anyway.
2. English. I am surprised when people working in the tourist industry don't know a word in English or any other language. This hotel has just one person who speaks English. The others - not a word. Even when I asked at 11am: "Monte Alban excursion OK?" (the lady was present yesterday when I asked the English speaking guy to organise a trip for me), she happily nodded with a smile: "OK, OK!". Then in an hour, when I came down and asked again: "Monte Alban OK?", she, smiling again, handed me a piece of paper that had (in perfect English) "sorry, we couldn't find a guide for you, you can get a bus or a taxi".
As for the rest, it's a nice hotel. And 5 minutes walk down to the center you can find a lot of travel agents that can organise trips to Monte Alban for you :)))

Room Tip: Window in Room 114 doesn't close properly - noise from the street. Probably all the windows faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Consistency is not the forte of Casa de los Frailes. We did not expect luxury for our $58 but when there was no hot water our first morning and the young man at the desk said he'd forgot to turn it on (it is turned off during the night), and then said he "hoped" we'd have hot water the next day, we began to wonder what we'd 'bargained' for. Breakfast the first day had many choices, the second day hardly any. We got the strong impression that the owners want to skimp on services as much as they can. On the other hand, good wireless internet access.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypefreetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was our first (wonderful) visit to Oaxaca, we stayed in the City six days. We decided both of our hotels by reading the trip advisor critics, Hotel Casa Los Frailes has terrific comments so we stayed theta two nights out of five, the lady at the front desk was (uncomfortably excesive) nice to us, the Room, a double bedroom was clean, although the decoration was nothing special. But the bathroom is what most dissapointed us, it needs to be remodeled, the toilette got stuck twice (later we found a note where the hotel asks to place the paper in the trash can, NOT higienic!) the shower also of old appearence didnt work properly, the water didnt drain in the shower (flooded!) Although we made the observation of the later it was not solved. Be aware that they dont have a restaurant But La Olla is very close and offers delicious breakfasts. The other nights we stayed at Casa del Sotano, and believe me, it was like 350 pesos cheaper and MUCH moré worth it. Try finding other centric and better options, you will find plenty...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mexicantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We booked 4 rooms over New Year's for our family and were very pleased with our experience. The staff is very helpful... and we had a bunch of unusual requests. They even booked a van for 20 at the last minute on New Year's eve. The hotel is charming and the rooms attractive and immaculate. The breakfast is perfectly adequate- great coffee, fruit, toast and pound cake. The location is wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We had been searching for a hotel for a few hours, looking at rooms- when we came across this one one. I took one look at the room, and I knew this was a good place to stay. Very comfortable, and the staff were so very friendly and helpful. We had a decent Continental breakfast every day, and the location was right in the heart of beautiful Oaxaca. I would stay there again any day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Finally a Hotel with air condition and a tv in the room. It seemed like Heaven. The Staff was Excellent !!
They must have changed Breakfast since the other reviews. The Breakfast was huge - Cantalope, Papaya, Banana, Apples, Sweetrolls, Toast, Cereal, Yoghurt, Coffee machine, milk and juice. Free internet service. We were very thankful for this hotel since we had to leave the Las Mariposas. Very accomodating family hotel !!
We also never heard the bar but were not there on the weekend.
I had my hair cut across the street for around 8.00 - excellent stylist/owner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LovestoTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#41 of 109 in Oaxaca
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Siete Balcones
Casa de Siete Balcones
#6 of 109 in Oaxaca
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#24 of 109 in Oaxaca
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Frailes

Address: Calle La Constitucion # 203 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: £48 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de los Frailes 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa de los Frailes has 14 rooms on two floors developed architectural colonial style decoration, regional characteristic of Oaxaca, the corridors kept the prototype of the original architecture of the nineteenth century Oaxaca, which are being complemented by blacksmiths and crafts that make a very pleasant environment for guests.The Casa de los Frailes is located near the majestic temple and cultural center of Santo Domingo in the exclusive area of ​​the city, ideal if you come to a wedding, just a few minutes of pleasant walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa de los Frailes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Frailes Hotel Oaxaca
Casa De Los Frailes Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing