We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an excellent stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de los Frailes
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Had an excellent stay!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Perfect place to relax, perfect place for the money, in fact I plan on going back there next year, the owner was pretty helpful and knowledgeable about the city, would recommend anybody going there, it is a little piece of quiet and tranquility in the middle of Oaxaca.
Nothing is perfect (I prefer a traditional breakfast myself, but who cares), I already recommended this hotel to my sister and my parents and I was there just two nights ago.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelu_juarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    31
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
55
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife discovered the hotel a year ago, it is behind the Santo Domingo Convent, really close to the botanical gardens.
The place is small, but it packs lot's of charm and is more than a pleasant place to stay while in Oaxaca, also the location is amazing, since is in a little quiet street behind the main tourist street in Oaxaca, not much more to add, but the place is truly charming, it is a great value, and you will feel comfortable the minute you walk though the door.
Will go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubud_citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Went on a short romantic trip to Oaxaca, with a couple of recommendations but nothing booked ahead. Everything turned out to be either too expensive or not what we were looking for, so we ended up here, in Casa de los Frailes. Typical old colonial house, excellent location within the historic district, deco of the common areas ok, bedrooms clean and decent 90s style. Staff was very kind but with limited info to share about things to do. They have a nice terraze we did not use because they do not have any food and drink service in house, fortunatelly there are plenty of good resatuarants with great roofgardens all around. That is another thing, breakfast service in the hotel is basically coffee and toast, so keep your expectations in line. All in all, good decent place, maybe a little overpriced for what they offer.

Room Tip: Front rooms a little noisy because the hotel is ona cobblestone street, still to us preferable to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am already planning a trip back to this beautiful place! Prior to my arrival, I was nervous and worried about the type of accommodations I would find. Yes, the pictures look nice but, I've been tricked before. However, from the aesthetic to the service this Hotel is Amazing! Fresh, friendly, and reasonable this is the hotel to stay at! Clean, polite, and close to the center of town. Stop looking...this is the Hotel you need to stay at!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Really nice hotel, rooms are clean, strong wifi, excellent location, very friendly people.
The bathroom is a bit tiny, tough, but it's not a problem. At least, always had hot water.
In fact, a good place to stay 2-3 days at least.
I will only describe two issues.
1. Wndows (room 114, probably other rooms facing the street). The handle is broken apparently long time ago. Instead of repairing it, they fixed a simple latch. Obviously it cannot hold the window sealed. Therefore it seems that either the cars are in your room or you are in the middle of the street. The 'good' thing is that at night the street is quiet, and you wake up early anyway.
2. English. I am surprised when people working in the tourist industry don't know a word in English or any other language. This hotel has just one person who speaks English. The others - not a word. Even when I asked at 11am: "Monte Alban excursion OK?" (the lady was present yesterday when I asked the English speaking guy to organise a trip for me), she happily nodded with a smile: "OK, OK!". Then in an hour, when I came down and asked again: "Monte Alban OK?", she, smiling again, handed me a piece of paper that had (in perfect English) "sorry, we couldn't find a guide for you, you can get a bus or a taxi".
As for the rest, it's a nice hotel. And 5 minutes walk down to the center you can find a lot of travel agents that can organise trips to Monte Alban for you :)))

Room Tip: Window in Room 114 doesn't close properly - noise from the street. Probably all the windows faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Consistency is not the forte of Casa de los Frailes. We did not expect luxury for our $58 but when there was no hot water our first morning and the young man at the desk said he'd forgot to turn it on (it is turned off during the night), and then said he "hoped" we'd have hot water the next day, we began to wonder what we'd 'bargained' for. Breakfast the first day had many choices, the second day hardly any. We got the strong impression that the owners want to skimp on services as much as they can. On the other hand, good wireless internet access.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypefreetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was our first (wonderful) visit to Oaxaca, we stayed in the City six days. We decided both of our hotels by reading the trip advisor critics, Hotel Casa Los Frailes has terrific comments so we stayed theta two nights out of five, the lady at the front desk was (uncomfortably excesive) nice to us, the Room, a double bedroom was clean, although the decoration was nothing special. But the bathroom is what most dissapointed us, it needs to be remodeled, the toilette got stuck twice (later we found a note where the hotel asks to place the paper in the trash can, NOT higienic!) the shower also of old appearence didnt work properly, the water didnt drain in the shower (flooded!) Although we made the observation of the later it was not solved. Be aware that they dont have a restaurant But La Olla is very close and offers delicious breakfasts. The other nights we stayed at Casa del Sotano, and believe me, it was like 350 pesos cheaper and MUCH moré worth it. Try finding other centric and better options, you will find plenty...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexicantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.3 mi away
Casa Catrina
Casa Catrina
#38 of 109 in Oaxaca
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#25 of 109 in Oaxaca
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Frailes

Property: Casa de los Frailes
Address: Calle La Constitucion # 203 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de los Frailes 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa de los Frailes has 14 rooms on two floors developed architectural colonial style decoration, regional characteristic of Oaxaca, the corridors kept the prototype of the original architecture of the nineteenth century Oaxaca, which are being complemented by blacksmiths and crafts that make a very pleasant environment for guests.The Casa de los Frailes is located near the majestic temple and cultural center of Santo Domingo in the exclusive area of ​​the city, ideal if you come to a wedding, just a few minutes of pleasant walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa de los Frailes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Frailes Hotel Oaxaca
Casa De Los Frailes Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing