We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disaster - they lost our reservation and had no room for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de los Frailes
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Total disaster - they lost our reservation and had no room for us!”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My wife and I are always very polite when staying at hotels and rarely complain or leave bad reviews, but we feel compelled to do so for Casa de los Frailes. We arrived at almost 11pm on the Thursday before Good Friday and were advised by the receptionist that our reservation was not on their system. We had our confirmation email from them (sent to us after 2 weeks waiting for it) which included the reservation number they had given us. They said that they still could not accommodate us as they were full. No amount of polite explanation regarding our confirmation from them, or that the good hotels would be full as tomorrow was Good Friday, helped our situation. They said they could find us alternative accomodation but refused to pay for any of it. They showed no empathy for our situation at all and we were left feeling rather pushed to one side. They did, however, book us into a nice hotel called Hostal de los Pilares which we recommend highly (They didn't lose our booking, which was an improvement on Casa de los Frailes). The next morning, the management at Los Frailes had a change of heart (possibly due to us advising them that we would be leaving honest feedback on this website) and offered to pay for one night of our accommodation at Hostal de los Pilares and a tour of Monte Alban. We had a lot of trouble contacting them beforehand to get our original confirmation email and more trouble on arrival. We cannot vouch for the quality of the rooms etc, but our advice is to get as much confirmation as possible that you are actually booked in before travelling to this hotel. (We were confirmed twice!)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scousedrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    31
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
55
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

This small, quaint hotel is close to the center of town, and all the action, but is on a quiet street with little traffic. The family run hotel was SO accommodating, and friendly. the hotel is spotless, and the contiential breakfast daily was more than enough. We also had free internet access. This is a GREAT place to stay in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Spent two weeks here most of the time in a double special room which was spacious and comfortable. Had microwave, bathtub and lots of furniture and drawers. Had to spend 3 nights in a double room. It was cramped and I would not stay here very long if that was all I could get. The breakfast varied depending who was working. Most mornings it was pretty uninspiring, but OK, mostly toast and strawberry jam.

A few mornings, another staff member did breakfast and we had 3 selections of jam, fruit bread and a large selection of fruit and it was brought to our room.

The hotel is clean, well located and the staff were very obliging. There is a bar next door which has loud music until 11 or so.

Would stay here again if I could get the double special or king room.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelowna-snowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Casa de los Frailes is filled with charm and character, and a high level of personal service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat_johnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

A gem! My husband and I stayed at Casa de los Frailes for eleven days in Feb. '09. This small hotel is lovely, cozy, cheery, spotless, and tastefully decorated. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Our suite had it's own patio. On the roof there is a comfortable sitting area with a view of the city. Margarita, the owner, and her staff were outstanding! All were gracious, would help in any way they could and always greeted us with warm smiles. A very nice continental breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, rolls, was included in the reasonable room rates. The location was ideal...just a 5 min walk to Santo Domingo church, restaurants and a few blocks to the zocalo and historical sights. When we return to Oaxaca we will definitely stay at Casa de los Frailes again!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8tworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
295 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

I read the past reviewer's comments ( about noise). We were on the first floor - and we were there for a Friday and Saturday night - we did not have problems with noise.. and I would be upset if there were noise- but it was quiet . Our overhead fan was squeaky but other than that -

Breakfast was somewhat lackluster and consisted of toast, and a bit of fruit .But, it was sufficient.
Someone was always at the front desk, and the front door was locked at night ( and included a video camera to detect who was at the front door!). I felt safe. Hotel was located near the zocala which is the central location. The room was clean, and the staff exceptionally helpful. Bathrooms could use some refurbishment but there were NO bugs or ants. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I were in the area.

If you want a reasonably priced hotel room, that is very clean, then stay here - otherwise go to the Camino a few blocks away and pay a lot more. .

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Several of our relatives and friends (both Mexicans and Americans) stayed here when we were married in Oaxaca and everyone raved about it. I got to see several of the rooms as a result and they were really nice, one even had it's own private terrace with a seating area. The staff as very friendly and helpful, I always thought it was great how attentive they were when we went in to leave messages or meet with family. They also put flowers in the rooms of the guests coming for the wedding, which was a sweet touch. It's in an excellent location with a roof terrace and is small and personable. I've been recommending it a great deal!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
La Catrina de Alcala
La Catrina de Alcala
#30 of 109 in Oaxaca
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Frailes

Property: Casa de los Frailes
Address: Calle La Constitucion # 203 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de los Frailes 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa de los Frailes has 14 rooms on two floors developed architectural colonial style decoration, regional characteristic of Oaxaca, the corridors kept the prototype of the original architecture of the nineteenth century Oaxaca, which are being complemented by blacksmiths and crafts that make a very pleasant environment for guests.The Casa de los Frailes is located near the majestic temple and cultural center of Santo Domingo in the exclusive area of ​​the city, ideal if you come to a wedding, just a few minutes of pleasant walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa de los Frailes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Frailes Hotel Oaxaca
Casa De Los Frailes Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing