We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right where the action is!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Trebol
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Right where the action is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My partner and our 16 year old spent 4 days there and loved it! Right next to two huge markets and surrounded by various local businesses, a block from the city center and its many restaurants and activities, and just a short walk to most all the colonial buildings that make Oaxaca City special. Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and courtyards (tho beds are a bit hard), and adequate amenities (easy access to pure water, but could be more generous w/ the continental breakfast). If you want less noise, ask for a room off the street, but I liked the small balconies overlooking all the action. Great value for your money--you'll get more frills elsewhere, but Hotel Trebol is where it's all at.

Room Tip: Lots of restaurants within a block or two, and next to evening street vendor stands; grab some hot c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    86
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
84
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I feel uniquely qualified and definitely indebted to Hotel Trebol having just spent two weeks there over the holidays with my wife and 5 year old son.

The location is fantastic. A short walk a block away from the Zocalo and right across from the frenetic Mercado Benito Juarez. During Christmas, every night we stepped out of a crowd and into this oasis in the middle of it all. I believe the property is 16th century. It's clean, colorful, tastefully decorated and has some great local folk paintings and relics adorning the lobby and shared areas.

There are two common courtyards, one is covered and contains comfortable seating for lounging or breakfast. The breakfast is minimal (cereals, bread, yogurt, fruit, instant coffee), but welcome before a long day exploring the beautiful Valley of Oaxaca. I also used the area for blogging and playing board games with the 5 year old.

Our room was street-facing, and it was loud outside at times, but when we closed the storm window and the balcony door, it blocked most of the noise and we slept comfortably. The room was nice for the price. The only reason I didn't go 5 stars here is the shower. It took a while for the hot water to come on and we had to play with the hot and cold to find a balance. I finally got the hang of it the last few days there! It's nice that the room opens up to the courtyard area below. The WiFi worked fine in our room, which was a welcome surprise.

When checking out the past posts on TripAdvisor, I noticed some considered the staff rude, and we didn't find that to be the case at all. Every "buenas dias!" was acknowledged and returned with a smile and a wave. The front desk were courteous, and Carmen, the travel agent in the front, was helpful in arranging transportation for us and became good friends with our 5 year old, giving him a hug nearly every morning.

By the time we left Hotel Trebol, we felt like family and would definitely return.

W. Scott Koenig
www.AGringoInMexico.com

Room Tip: I liked our room on the third floor above the breakfast area courtyard, spacious. Though street-faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGringoInMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We did not pick this hotel. The tour group did. After staying there for 5 nights, I would make it my own choice for a couple of important reasons. It was reasonably priced at about 600p. It was clean and attractive. Not a knockout, but welcoming. It was quiet with says a lot given the hordes of people on the street, just outside the door. And, it was a one block stroll to the jardin and close to the action including restaurants other than on the zocalo. Bathroom was adequate if a bit dark. Better reading lights are needed. But, staying in a hotel room is never the purpose of travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomersooner5154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel has standard and superior rooms. As per their information by phone the only difference is that superior rooms has a/c but that's not true. The superior rooms have new furniture and are much nicer decorated. When we arrived they showed us both rooms as I asked for and they where able to give us the superior room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and did their very best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The rate difference between standard and superior of aprox. 200 pesos per night per double room is definitely worth the money. In the rate is a light self-service breakfast included. The superior rooms are quite big, very clean and authentically decorated. The two queen-size bed where very comfortable and WiFi worked well and fast. Even the room was facing a lively street it was quite.
I do highly recommend the hotel but be sure to go for the superior room!

Room Tip: I do very much recommend the SUPERIOR ROOM! It's really worth the higher cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianSuiMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I went to Oaxaca for New Year's eve, and I was looking for a well located hotel in the middle of the downtown with a reasonable price. When I first arrived to the downtown, I was worried about the noise and all the movement around the hotel, but once you're inside is like you are in other corner. The hotel is very quiet and also has a traditional and cozy decoration. The personnel is very nice and they have amenities like Wifi and some fruit and coffee for the breakfast that is included in the rate.
I booked the "King Room" and I have to say that it was a beautiful and very large room with a beautiful dining room beside the bed. Is a very good option due to the low cost and great facilities and location.

Room Tip: The King Rooms are in the quieter area of the hotel and for the cost worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Español
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Problems all the time. First: room facing to the street, really loud, wc did not work. They "repaired" it and of course did not work. I asked to change our room and even though they had a lot of empty rooms they just offered one which was interior, no light and loud, because there was a light/air entrance which was making the room noisy as well. All rooms without curtains blocking the light.... Well, I complained again and asked to give us a better room after all the problems. First, we have to discuss 30min to change to that one, as she wanted us to stay in a room without wc, I asked her to call the manager and she did....but she said "you book a standard room so there is only that one left".Then I realized that they don't have any idea about the business. In every single hotel if there any problem they have to offer something better, Well in that case she wanted us to stay in a room without wc, then discussing to get another room, and that one also noisy and small.....when I say small is that a double bed is for two mini persons, otherweise you can't turn, and therefore not sleep. Well, I asked her to get a better room, that I would even pay myself the upgrade and she still said no, tonight she can't do any change because we used the room. Hello? We did not even touch anything. This receptionist, night shift 8Nov should just be somewhere else..... We woke up at 5, packed and book another hotel. This hotel looks nice, the patio, the building inside but once you get in....ear plugs etc and as that one did not want to help at all, being rude. etc the experience was bad. just the receptionist we had during check in was friendly. And it doesn't matter if the room is standard or better, the light comes in always

Room Tip: well....looks really nice but sleep quality is not good at all. Double beds are too small, we are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HighQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for 11 days over El Dia de los Muertos. Our stay was amazing. Only 1 block from the zocalo! The hotel has several courtyards, is extremely clean, full of gorgeous art and flowers and very quiet. They created an amazing Day of the Dead ofrenda in the entry way. If you need some help to get around you can get great information from Carmen who runs the travel office right inside the Hotel Trebol. Also conveniently located is the Second Class Bus Station (seven blocks straight our from the hotel). From that bus station you can get to all Oaxacan valley towns. Or simply catch a colletivo right outside the bus stop.
We had a great stay, enjoyed the hotel as a respite from the busy town. Staff will have fresh fruit, coffee, yoghurt and bread ready for breakfast. At about 26 dollars a night the value is simply amazing. We lacked nothing, had plenty of hot water and fresh sheets and towels daily as well as plenty free bottle water and little chocolates on our pillows :). We highly recommend this place!
Did I mention the cake vendors right outside the doors or the several chocolate stores on the same street? The main covered market and the Artisan market are also right outside...

Room Tip: Rooms in the back area off the second courtyard is super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacomaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#22 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#18 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#12 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Property: Hotel Trebol
Address: Calle Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing