We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unfortunately, not recommanded...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Ranked #16 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unfortunately, not recommanded...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel is very well located, clean and with friendly and helping staff.Large rooms well furnished.
BUT, NO windows in rooms and a very noisy university center next door that gives loud lectures all hours until sometimes after 10:00hres at night. When I say LOUD, believe me!
Had to use ear plugs, but not sufficient, and keep door open for air...ventilation on the high ceiling barely useful.
Too bad...

Room Tip: Second floor and on the left when entering the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    65
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
68
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this great place. I cannot say enough good things about Denise at the front desk. She was incredibly helpful long before we arrived- she sent me pictures of the room, patiently answered many questions and was always extremely service-oriented. When we arrived much earlier than we thought we would, as we were able to get on an earlier connecting flight from Mexico City, she managed to have our room ready much earlier than standard check-in time and they made breakfast for us even though it seemed to be past breakfast time.

Denise also watched our 2 young daughters on short notice when we didn't have a babysitter and she didn't even ask to be paid (we paid her anyway). She gave us advice on what to see and do and booked a great and inexpensive tour of Mitla, El Tule, Teotitlan and Hierve el Agua for us at the last minute. She always had a smile on her face and was just incredibly nice, friendly and helpful.

We had the Margaritas Suite, which is in an interior courtyard towards the back of the hotel and is shielded from the street noise. It is fairly quiet, though about 7:30 a.m. or so one might hear the fresh juice being made for breakfast in the kitchen. The suite was large with 2 separate rooms and an enormous bathroom. 2 beds were put in the 2d room for our daughters. The only downside is that there was sometimes a smell of sewage coming up from the toilet, which is something we have experienced at several other hotels in Mexico.

The entire suite cost only about $85 dollars per night, making it an incredible value. We paid in cash and free breakfast for the adults were included. The breakfasts are ample and good- eggs, delicious black beans, wonderful fruit plate, fresh bread with butter and jam, and fresh juices, including papaya, cactus, carrot, etc. You eat breakfast in the downstairs courtyard which, like the hotel, has a lot of colonial character. The other staff serving breakfast, like Noe, were also very nice and helpful.

This is not a "five star" or "luxury" hotel but it is authentically colonial, very pretty, spotlessly clean and quite comfortable and a bargain for the price. The location is fantastic- just 1.5 blocks from the Zocalo and maybe 2 or 3 blocks from Mercado Juarez. Everything is so easily walkable from there. It is also on a street that has much less traffic noise and fumes than many others in Oaxaca.

Oaxaca is a vibrant, colorful town with gorgeous architecture, fascinating markets, interesting churches and museums, and surrounded by villages with interesting handicrafts. I highly recommend a stay at Parador San Agustin.

Room Tip: If you want a large room that is quiet, ask for the Margaritas Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MateoElViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
206 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

we spent two nights here and my friend forgot her medications in the drawer. we made a phonecall to the staff who promptly sent the medications, paying for the shipping costs, which we reimboursed later. this in itself is a rarity all over the world let alone in mexico. the room was unfortunately very noisy (chose a room on the back of the hotel, not one of the three rooms overlooking the street) - very friendly and convenient place, just a few steps from the zocalo and the centre.

Room Tip: just do not chose one of the three rooms overlooking the street! the noise will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco ca usa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel right around the block from the main square. Rooms were clean, bright and spacious. The breakfast(not included in rate) was filling and tasty. The staff were very helpful. Nice hotel for the price

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just spent six nights at the Hotel Parador San Agustin. It is one and a half blocks from Zocalo (main square in the Centro Historic Center)... A large comfortable room with an outstanding and accomodating staff! The restaurant is only open for breakfast, but as I was leaving a new cafe was opening adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: On street rooms have large windows to outside but can be noisy. Interior rooms open to courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was our first time in Oaxaca (AMAZING!) and we were very pleased with our stay at Parador San Agustin.

Very Clean, quaint, charming, a block from Zocalo and close to everything, extremely reasonably priced, nice restaurant and above all, exceptional service from staff. Thank you for the hospitality!

Room Tip: Showers are not great but work fine. We had a balcony which was very charming but noisy at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binningen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Pro
* very friendly staff
* free parking (a 4 min walk away)
* great breakfast
* good location
* hair dryer
* price 780 pesos incl. Breakfast

Contra
* room withouth window
* no aircondition but a ventilator

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#23 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador San Agustin

Property: Hotel Parador San Agustin
Address: Calle Armenta y Lopez # 215 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Parador San Agustin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers with a taste for elegance and comfort will delight at the chance to stay at the newest in the series of Oaxaca's Parador Hotels, "Parador San Agustin". The Parador San Agustin was recently transformed from a deteriorating 16th century colonial estate into a charming, four star hotel with 16 rooms, and an excellent restaurant which, in itself, makes this hotel well-worth the visit. Whether you're a tourist determined to experience the wonders of Oaxaca, or a business person on the run, San Agustin's combination of efficiency, modernity and old-fashioned charm will fit the bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parador San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing