We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, lovely management”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows
Ranked #15 of 128 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“OK hotel, lovely management”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We wouldn't likely stay here again - but we have to say that the management was wonderful, kind, and tried to make things right. The internet and hot water was spotty. No oven in kitchen. No windows in our room. Lighting was poor. But the friendliness of the management made up for a lot of inadequacies. They did try to please.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are likely more sought-after - but all rooms quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This place gave us family warmth but its attention to details is no less than boutique hotels. Towels were soft. Toiletries were quality. Design is tasteful. Its courtyard is as beautiful as seen in photos.
Its manager, Patricia, speaks little English but is pleased to give tips, eg. where to have good and inexpensive breakfast. They indeed have a list of recommended restaurants so don't forget to ask. Silvia, a sweet and cheerful lady who speaks English, is enthusiastic to help. Her big smiles made us feel welcome.
Its kitchen can be used so provides much convenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

this charming hotel provided a restful and relaxing respite during a whirlwind 5-day trip to oaxaca city for el dia de los muertos in 2010. although we didn't take advantage of the kitchen spaces as often as we would have liked, the option was great to have just in case! coffee was served each morning, although i believe at the time breakfast was advertised (memory may not serve me correctly). casa pereyra was an oasis of calm and the staff was lovely and accommodating.

Room Tip: request a suite with the bed separate from the rest of the space... the extra little bit is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imbibingeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

From the moment I arrived at Casa Peyrera I was lavished with a spirit of welcome. It's true that the rooms here are charming, comfortable and aesthetically pleasing and that it's just a few blocks from the Zocalo so that the magic of Oaxaca is right at your fingertips but it's also true that the staff here must have Ph.D.s in the right way to run a hotel. I stayed here for one month and found genuine expressions of care, even nurturance, coming from the amazing women who work here. From the owner, Rosa-Elena, who brought me postres for my birthday, to Patricia the manager, who greeted me each morning with a smile and fulfilled every need and request I had, to Silvia whose fluency in English helped to bridge the language barrier, to Sophie and Ruthie whose presence always brought warmth and friendliness. Honestly, I did not want to leave because it felt like home away from home, a sanctuary for the soul.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueflame7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dttareed
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great location, walking distance to center and tons of wonderful restaurants and shops. Spacious & clean rooms. Quaint courtyard area where delicious coffee is complimentary in the mornings. I would definitely stay there again. Be sure to check out their shop in the lobby.. Cute things!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dttareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casapereyra, Propietario at Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear guests:
Was a pleasure to have your visit in our Hotel. Thank you for let us know to know your experience with us.
We are so happy you have good memories about our pretty city and our Hotel Casa Pereyra. We hope to have your visit the next time that you come to Oaxaca
We look forward to see you again.
Kind regards,
Staff Hotel Casa Pereyra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Casa Pereyra was recently my home for a month and what a wonderful home it was, too. The location is perfect, just a few minutes from the zocalo and within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and beautiful churches. While there, I had a medical emergency that required a few days in hospital. Office manager Patricia and casa owner Rosa-Elena Castro Pereyra came to visit and Mrs. Castro Pereyra even drove me home. Other Casa guests also helped. Their consideration and kindness made recuperating much easier. And left me with some very good memories.
The little courtyard is a charming spot to visit with other guests, have a drink or even watch hummingbirds take a bath. The studio apartment was, clean, cosy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Some apartments have a circular staircase to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menziesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Casa Pereyra is in a great location. The street is very busy but inside is quiet and charming. You enter a nondescript door and find a charming court yard with iron tables and chairs that can be used by guests to chat, eat a meal, share drinks or use your computer with they hotel's WiFi connection. Rooms are very clean. We found a tray of coffee outside our door each morning. Friends had a lovely suite with a fully equipped kitchen with eating bar, sleeping loft, and living area with an extra bed. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the second floor with a private balcony and queen sized bed. Lots of shelves and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryevslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#16 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Casa de Siete Balcones
Casa de Siete Balcones
#6 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows

Property: Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows
Address: Avenida de La Independencia No. 304 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing