We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have stayed at Casa del Sótano on two occasions, each time for multiple nights. It is clean & quiet, & the staff is friendly & helpful. This is an unpretentious yet rustic & nice little hotel. It is a pleasant three- or four-block walk from the pedestrian center street, Alcala, yet it seems a little off the beaten path, which is very nice. The "mirador" (the large upper deck of the hotel) has an incomparable view of the city & surrounding mountains. We had a delicious breakfast of chilaquiles and enchiladas with fresh green & red salsas one morning at the quaint outdoor breakfast cafe. There are nice views of the surrounding mountains from the outdoor breakfast space, as well. On our last evening we shared a very affordable meal of three different appetizers in the cafe bistro in the front of the hotel. The ingredients were very fresh (as most all of Oaxacan food is). Our dishes were pretty, affordable & most importantly delicious. The guacamole with chapulines (crispy, seasoned crickets sprinkled on chunks of fresh avocado mixed with lime, tomato, onion & jalapeño or serrano) was especially delicious. The service was friendly, efficient & knowledgable, making for a very enjoyable & informative experience at a great price. The room's bathroom & shower are simple and somewhat small. The beds are comfortable & the rooms are rustic. The wifi is free & works. This hotel is not for those who like high-end places; rather it is for folks who enjoy more rustic & simple yet unique & affordable places.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    104
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
138
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is very well located. Close to good restaurants and to zocalo. This is a small hotel with a nice garden, very quiet. Good breakfast in the terrace and great service. We were able to check-in at 9am and to check-out at 6 pm by paying an extra 10 dollars. I highly recommend it. Staff are nice and helpful.

The restaurants we liked were: La Olla, La Biznaga and Quince Letras. Casa Oaxaca was not very good and expensive. Restaurants around the zocalo are good for drinks but not for food.
Go to Hierve el Agua, although it is a two hour ride it is worth it and you can make several stops on your way there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinitaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Excellent hotel.

I was there with my husband, we wanted a comfortable place to sleep and spend the hot hours in the afternoon after sightseeing. However, the Casa del Sotano is a lot more than a place to sleep in.

The rooms are impecably clean and very nicely decorated. There's no iron or iron board, but there's a hair drier. Beds are firm and comfy.

The patio is very pretty and authentic, with lots of plants and a fountain.

The hotel has a terrace with a really nice view and affordable breakfast.

Rosalba and her staff (as mentioned by other reviewers) are really welcoming and helpful.

The carpark they suggest to their guests is more than adequate and we found that the staff there is much better than at other Oaxaca carparks. Only a few roads away from the hotel.

However, avoid Oaxaca during May as the teachers camp on the streets in protest near the centre and it is impossible to walk around or enjoy the main square.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, the king size rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We found casa del sotano on trip adviser and loved it from the moment we arrived. It's centrally located and at the northern, slightly posher side of the city (10 min slow walk to the zocalo), has a wonderful view from the breakfast terrace, a beautifully looked after courtyard garden. The staff were phenomenally helpful, they allowed us to check in really early, they were prepared to work with our budget, they gave us a fantastically spacious, clean, cool suite were able to feed us breakfast even when we rocked up after 11 am. I am at a loss to think of negative comments. It's great value. Book it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomFulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego,ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Staff is very friendly. The hotel is located 3 blocks from Downtown, Breakfast is wonderful and Organic. Highly Reccomend

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tanksamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I had never traveled to Oaxaca, or anywhere in Mexico for that matter. I chose this hotel due to its high ratings on trip advisor. I was not disappointed! The hotel was VERY clean, so much so, as an eco-friendly traveler, I asked to only have my room serviced every other day which they were happy to oblige! All of the staff were accommodating, the views amazing, and AC not needed! The way the hotel is constructed, like all good Mexican construction, it stays very cool in the heat. Also, it is located in the tourista area so in spite of what the Moon travel guide told me, I felt very safe walking at night and going out to several of the local bars. Many expats live in the area and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Oaxaca! Too many delightful things to list!

Oh, and the coffee shop in front of the hotel is magnificent! The shopkeeper, Rosio, is such a sweetheart and was very helpful in telling me where to go and where not to go!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 20 which I thought might be warm as it is on the upper lever but, by opening the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CoraBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was part of a wonderful group of artists and photographers called Destination-Arts, visiting Oaxaca to paint, sketch, learn about photography and printmaking. There were 22 of us altogether and this is the hotel our guides picked out for us. The night we arrived (on the late side) they had a wonderful welcome party for us with delightful appetizers and shots of mescal (the local fav drink!) We were led to our rooms, and at first I was a bit disappointed - no view of the town (my room faced the inside courtyard)! The bathroom was clean and nice, but very small. I found out later that all the rooms face the inner courtyard, and that this is a tradition there to help the rooms stay cool in the heat of the summer and for the quiet atmosphere found there.

The next morning I woke up and began to appreciate the magic of this place. They have a beautiful outdoor terrace where guests can choose from a huge menu of delicious breakfast items. We all tried various Mexican (Oaxacan) specialties, like enchiladas with black mole for breakfast!! I ended up settling most days for a fresh fruit plate and their rich, delicious yogurt and granola (save the heavy food for later in the day!) The view from the terrace is spectacular, looking out toward the Cathedral de Santo Domingo (which is also lit up at night for great viewing).

The inner courtyard is also very inviting and a quiet haven from the busy street just outside the doors. One of the most wonderful things about the place was the very heartfelt staff. I felt completely safe and comfortable staying here. Another real bonus is the location, which is a few blocks from the center of town, the Zocolo, and a number of great markets including the organic market which we visited on Friday and Saturday.

I would highly recommend this lovely intimate hotel if you're visiting Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryAnneErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing