We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Colonial era decor and charm. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent bed and little noise, had great sleeps. Lacks in-room wi-fi, although it's available on the restaurant patio and lobby area.
Lonely Planet promised parking, but they do not offer it. However, my motorcycle was accommodated in the lobby!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    104
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
138
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

In a perfect location for exploring Oaxaca. Warm friendly staff help you feel at home.
Oaxaca is one of my favourite places in Mexico and this is one of my favourite hotels - it's not pretentiousj and there are no flat screen TVs but feels genuinely loved and well cared for and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the rooms could be a bit noisy so check if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Casa del Sotano for 3 nights at the beginning of February. Good location,reasonably priced, very friendly hotel. Small and quaint with rooms overlooking tiny ornamental patios with those on the upper level also having good mountain views. the upper rooms are of adequate size with tiny bathroom facilities. Room 23 is quite dark as the window looks onto an opensided corridor and room 20 (which we used) has a delightful very small balcony but only a 4'-6" wide small double bed. Cosy though! It was nice to have two free bottles of water each day and free use of a wifi computer and printer especially to check in for our next flight. Enjoyed the freshly made breakfasts, and the mini restaurant proved an oasis later for a refreshing drink. There is a separate cafe/bar for the evening which was very good.
Overall if you have an upper room with a balcony this is great for the economic traveller.

Room Tip: Room 24 if possible, room 23 if you don't mind a darker room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just finished taking a group of 13 travelers to Oaxaca from San Miguel de Allende and stayed at Hotel Casa Del Sotano upon recommendations from several friends. The hotel is small, clean, and has a great little restaurant in the patio. Although other traveler's have said it is quiet, I think the majority of rooms have noise. The rooms are on the small side, and the bathrooms are postage stamp size. Though located close to most things it is on a busy street. The price matches what it has to offer. Our travelers were fine with our choice, but some suggested we upgrade to a quieter hotel with larger rooms next time. The service was excellent and it was easy to make a reservation. There is an uphill walk to the hotel from Santo Domingo and the Zocalo, but for those of us who live in San Miguel at altitude, this was not a problem.
I would recommend this hotel for a couple, or small group of friends or family. It is economical and convenient.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the back on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Be sure to ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelokb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor. We were staying in the city already so we walked over to check it out and make a reservation.

The location is very convenient to the city center, the Zocolo. It is also very convenient to other areas of the city. We were shown a room which ultimately became our room when we migrated over a week later. Room 1, which has two double beds. It is not a large room but completely adequate. The bathroom consists of three chambers, a shower, sink area and toilet. A little difficult to navigate because of the door but by stepping into the shower you can close and open the door. Not as hard as it sounds. The shower is quite good. The hot and cold water controls follow convention which is not always the case in Mexico. There is an assist rail in the shower if needed.

The hotel is in the colonial style with multiple gardens and fountains. It is very attractive. There is a small patio restaurant with view of the city where you can have a good breakfast and other meals. There is also a small bar which is open from 6-10pm. Some food also served there as well.

One street over is Porifio Diaz which is laundry central. Very convenient.

There are 24 rooms in the hotel. Room 1 is closest to the street but not next to the street, but you might want one further from the traffic noise. We didn't find it a problem. None of the rooms has a street exposure.

We met several guests who report multiple visits and really like the place. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The hotel has (I think) 27 rooms. None has a street exposure so they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have traveled through Oaxaca several times. Such a wonderful city. I have stayed in some nicer hotels and some that I would never go back to again. This place is in a great location, a nice clean room, and a very reasonable cost. Now keep in mind, it is not a hyatt. But that has never been my reason for going to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our seven days at the Casa del Sotano. Our lower-level room (a suite, really) was quiet although just a little dark. Breakfast at the on-site restaurant was wonderful and the views from there and the third-floor rooftop deck were spectacular. This is a well-situated hotel with great service all around. I recommend it and would stay there myself again.

Room Tip: I think the lower level rooms are quieter--the hotel is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing