We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
girdwood
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, good food. Bed was hard and I was sick so I wish it had been softer. Every employee I spoke with was nice. Right down the road from santa domingo, and lots of restaurants, cafes, and art stores. I'd stay again, hopefully in a softer bed. Great view from the roof as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deathhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    105
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
139
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great location, friendly staff and excellent food. The courtyard was a great place to relax after a long day of exploring.

Unfortunately, the room was quite warm. The fan did not do an adequate job of keeping it cool, and as the balcony doors opened right above the dining area, and were right next to my bed, I wasn't comfortable sleeping with them open with people still eating and drinking in the bar area. My guidebook said all rooms had A/C - they do not.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullPassportTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Casa del sotano is in a great location. A short walk from the town centre so nice and close without being too noisy. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is not included so you have to spend a little extra, but it is worth it.

Our only problem was that the room was quite hot and stuffy. There were 2 fans in our room but one did very little and the other sounded like an aeroplane landing.

For the price, well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soph1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It is a traditional style hotel with an inner courtyard and the rooms surrounding the courtyard. Reception is open 24 hours a day and the area seems safe, i walked at 5am back from the Santo Doming Church and it was fine. The restaurant area for breakfast is outside and the breakfast choices were traditional and international. They have a small kitchen and it is a great little terrace. The room was a good size room with a huge bed and hard mattress.

Downers: 1. is that we were next to the neighbours house's toilet and we could get their smells and hear their business in the mornings (grosse i know) that is room 23 so stay away from there
2. the room gets pretty hot too. There is no air con but there is a ceiling fan and a large
3. the wifi is unreliable

The staff is very kind and helpful tho and the hotel is in pretty good shape. Closes amenities: ATM 5 blocks away. pharmacy: 3 blocks away walking distance to Santo Domingo Church and pedestrian area, hotel is on a bit of a hill if you are walking back ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Colonial era decor and charm. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent bed and little noise, had great sleeps. Lacks in-room wi-fi, although it's available on the restaurant patio and lobby area.
Lonely Planet promised parking, but they do not offer it. However, my motorcycle was accommodated in the lobby!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In a perfect location for exploring Oaxaca. Warm friendly staff help you feel at home.
Oaxaca is one of my favourite places in Mexico and this is one of my favourite hotels - it's not pretentiousj and there are no flat screen TVs but feels genuinely loved and well cared for and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the rooms could be a bit noisy so check if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Casa del Sotano for 3 nights at the beginning of February. Good location,reasonably priced, very friendly hotel. Small and quaint with rooms overlooking tiny ornamental patios with those on the upper level also having good mountain views. the upper rooms are of adequate size with tiny bathroom facilities. Room 23 is quite dark as the window looks onto an opensided corridor and room 20 (which we used) has a delightful very small balcony but only a 4'-6" wide small double bed. Cosy though! It was nice to have two free bottles of water each day and free use of a wifi computer and printer especially to check in for our next flight. Enjoyed the freshly made breakfasts, and the mini restaurant proved an oasis later for a refreshing drink. There is a separate cafe/bar for the evening which was very good.
Overall if you have an upper room with a balcony this is great for the economic traveller.

Room Tip: Room 24 if possible, room 23 if you don't mind a darker room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing