We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here last year but been way too busy to get an account write a review. I would highly recommend this place which is just walking distance away from the Zocalo. The rooftop restaurant is amazing. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Oaxaca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geophysicist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights March 2014. Centrally located five blocks from Zocalo. As stated, it is a busy street but the interior facing rooms negate any noise. Rooms are small and bathrooms tiny but they are both clean and secure. Courtyard interior must be a labour of love; incredibly well maintained and peaceful.

Small cafe alfresco with good breakfast. Bistro with adequate menu if a bit overpriced. Rooftop lounge area for sunsets and city at night.

Location, authenticity, cost effective.

Winner.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Itravelutour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for a week in this hotel conveniently located 5-10 minutes' walk from the centre. They give a very good price if you pay cash. It is located in a busy street but inside there is no noise from the traffic. The atrium is lovely with flowers and decorations. Rooms are nice, medium size and a tiny, but efficient bathroom. Our twin bed room was on the ground floor. Comfortable beds, good fan. But when we opened the French window, coackroaches entered. There is no lift and it may be difficult to carry the luggage up and down the stairs. The small breakfast terrace has a lovely view to the mountains, but it cannot accommodate all the guests when groups arrive. The food is good, but there are plenty other and better breakfast places in the area. There is another coffee shop/bistro by the reception, open in the afternoon/evening where food and drinks are served. The roof terrace is amazing with spectacular views to the mountains and the town. Reception is very friendly and helpful.
Wi-fi is efficient also in the rooms, and free of charge. The hotel is very quiet. Good value for money. We would definitely come back.
We would definitely come back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I once again took my Art/Craft group made up of eight people ..plus me ..to this charming Hotel. we enjoyed a hearty breakfast every morning on their lovely terraza...With great views. our rooms were comfortable ...we were given warm blankets when nights got cold. we had excellent service...Some evenings we stayed and had small and delicious dinners in their little cafe..We were there for a week, Have been returning since they opened...and will definitely go back

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing the courtyard ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

It's got its charm, with its garden/courtyard in the middle, and a nice view from the restaurant. We had some problems with the double bed being too small for two people. No extra blankets, no heat, and thin doors such that you can hear everyone from your room. But, it's a good value. We paid cash and they reduced our rate.

Room Tip: If you pay cash, they may reduce your rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscrimTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After searching for hours for a hotel while visiting Oaxaca, I decided on this one and I'm extremely happy that I did. The hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of the city and is walking distance to local attractions. Our room had a king bed and was very comfortable unlike many of the reviews I read. The room was traditional in style and just perfect for a romantic getaway. Yes the bathroom is small but serves the purpose. We had no complaints. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped provide things to do while we were visiting. When we return, this will be our hotel of choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Bruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We loved the view over the city during our delicious breakfast and enjoyed our stay during our two days at Casa Sotano. The bathroom is tiny and the rooms are rather small, but everything was clean and the staff very helpful in arranging our airport-transfer as well our trip to Monte Alban. We will be back one day for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knutschito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#16 of 110 in Oaxaca
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona Oaxaca
Hotel Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 110 in Oaxaca
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador Del Dominico
Parador Del Dominico
#29 of 110 in Oaxaca
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#19 of 110 in Oaxaca
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#25 of 110 in Oaxaca
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#21 of 110 in Oaxaca
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: £37 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing