We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely spot for some P&Q to sleep, or a nice afternoon cafe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely spot for some P&Q to sleep, or a nice afternoon cafe”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I'd been to this place a couple of times for a coffee, for the ambiance and sun on their out-door cafe, overlooking fountains and a sweet garden. Id been to Oaxaca a handful of times alone, but I went with my boyfriend and wanted to stay someplace romantic. The rooftop has a cool view of the city. The neighborhood its in is just a few blocks from the center market, but takes you away from the noise. I had stayed other places that offered hot water, but water needed to be run for 5 minutes to turn on. This place has legit hot water, a kind, small staff. The little balconies were sweet. Free wifi. I would certainly suggest this place to tired travelers looking to upgrade a bit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellarhapsody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    105
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
139
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Right in the historic centre, the location is perfect. Pleasant inner patio and a terrace overlooking Oaxaca's rooftops where you can experience a spicy Mexican breakfast (try tamale mole). Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank António V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location was great very central, only a 5 min walk into the center of the city. But quiet enough to be away from it all.
Food was absolutely fantastic and the accomodation was very clean and roomy. A great place to have a few drinks after a days walking too.
however, Gab and his wife were the diamond in the rough. It was my birthday while we were there any they went above and beyond. Even got me a little present to remember my time there. It was the best place we stayed at while in Mexico. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bdmoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here last year but been way too busy to get an account write a review. I would highly recommend this place which is just walking distance away from the Zocalo. The rooftop restaurant is amazing. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Oaxaca.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geophysicist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights March 2014. Centrally located five blocks from Zocalo. As stated, it is a busy street but the interior facing rooms negate any noise. Rooms are small and bathrooms tiny but they are both clean and secure. Courtyard interior must be a labour of love; incredibly well maintained and peaceful.

Small cafe alfresco with good breakfast. Bistro with adequate menu if a bit overpriced. Rooftop lounge area for sunsets and city at night.

Location, authenticity, cost effective.

Winner.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Itravelutour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for a week in this hotel conveniently located 5-10 minutes' walk from the centre. They give a very good price if you pay cash. It is located in a busy street but inside there is no noise from the traffic. The atrium is lovely with flowers and decorations. Rooms are nice, medium size and a tiny, but efficient bathroom. Our twin bed room was on the ground floor. Comfortable beds, good fan. But when we opened the French window, coackroaches entered. There is no lift and it may be difficult to carry the luggage up and down the stairs. The small breakfast terrace has a lovely view to the mountains, but it cannot accommodate all the guests when groups arrive. The food is good, but there are plenty other and better breakfast places in the area. There is another coffee shop/bistro by the reception, open in the afternoon/evening where food and drinks are served. The roof terrace is amazing with spectacular views to the mountains and the town. Reception is very friendly and helpful.
Wi-fi is efficient also in the rooms, and free of charge. The hotel is very quiet. Good value for money. We would definitely come back.
We would definitely come back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I once again took my Art/Craft group made up of eight people ..plus me ..to this charming Hotel. we enjoyed a hearty breakfast every morning on their lovely terraza...With great views. our rooms were comfortable ...we were given warm blankets when nights got cold. we had excellent service...Some evenings we stayed and had small and delicious dinners in their little cafe..We were there for a week, Have been returning since they opened...and will definitely go back

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing the courtyard ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing