We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Diablo has it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Diablo y la Sandia Libres
Ranked #4 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Diablo has it”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

...charm, kindness, comfort...El Diablo y la Sandia B&B was a great place to rest and enjoy Oaxaca City! Maria was so cool, and the breakfasts were great! She does this juice mixture in the morning that is groupie-worthy. My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few days on vacation before we went to the coast, and it was her first time traveling. El Diablo y la Sandia was the best place for us to stay to be able to meet some nice people, enjoy the ambience of a charming historic building, drink beers on the roof, and just relax. She had great suggestions for restaraunts and places to walk to. We will stay here again! -B&R, Chicago Il

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeandRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
134
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My friends and I stayed with Maria for four nights at her beautiful bed and breakfast. All the rooms are around a central courtyard where I would often work on my computer whilst enjoying a drink. It's truly a homey atmosphere with many guests choosing to chat together about things they had done or seen. The communal breakfast certainly encourages this. Every day we would sit down to a delicious hot breakfast, as well as toast with homemade jams and spreads. The perfect start to a busy day of shopping and exploring!

The rooms are creatively decorated with local artisanal finds, making you instantly feel at home. We were able to enjoy the incredible Oaxacan sunsets from the bougainvillaea filled rooftop, overlooking the spectacular mountain ranges.

The location is central to all the best bits of town, including all the best restaurants and shopping streets. It's also great to get out of town on day trips, either to traditional textile towns, Monte Alban or natural wonders like Hierve El Agua. Maria can help with organising transport and guides for these.

Oaxaca was definitely a highlight of our monthlong Mexico trip, and we will be returning to stay with Maria again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucinda_rose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed 7 days in the roomy Luna room on the second floor; every detail was charming. Maria was super-helpful and always available. Breakfasts were creative and freshly made. The location is an easy walk to all the central-city sites. Maria arranged an all-day guided tour for us to Monte Alban, Mitla, theTule tree and craft villages that was led by a very knowledgeable guide.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

my husband and I stayed for 4 nites and left wanting more.
We crammed Mexico city, Oaxaca and Puebla in 10 days and wish we had stayed more at El Diablo. Great atmosphere, lovely breakfasts, charming and warm staff, comfortable rooms with a beautiful patio with both shade and sun for both of us to lounge, read and drink a glass of wine.
Maria manages to be available for guidance, welcoming and friendly without being intrusive or pretentious. She and everyone El Diablo y la Sandia are super charming and make you feel they are happy to be there and to have you there.

Oaxaca has so much to offer with good coffee, so many fabulous food options, nature, and culture including wonderful local history/art and several contemporary art venues including the textile museum and the Manuel Alvarez Bravo Photography gallery.

Could not give a higher recommendation for this B&B or Oaxaca!.... GO!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc_paris6411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I will qualify my "excellent" rating by noting that we booked our return stay just one week after returning home. That says a whole lot about the initial experience!

The husband and I stayed at Diablito for 9 days, just after Christmas. It was everything the previous positive reviews said and more! Maria was gracious, accommodating, and flexible. Her "touches" were both elegant and simple, creating a relaxed and welcoming feel. It was cool to feel that you were truly "at home." I found the Inn to be cool and hip, without being trendy and pretentious. The rooms were nicely appointed, comfy and well sized. I especially appreciated the handmade soaps and lotion that were left out for our use during our stay. Breakfast in the morning was always different, and light, flavorful, and just downright tasty. Staff partnering with Maria made sure that we wanted for nothing, and their help was appreciated. Attractions were within walking distance, and easily accessed. Every street we walked offered new experiences, sights and sounds. The mix of guests that Diabilto attracted was eclectic, interesting and engaging. Without question, this was the best vacation spot we have had yet, with El Diablo y La Sandia and Maria contributing to its overall awesomeness. Will we return, absolutely, is it confirmed, you bet!

Congrats to Maria on a job well done. This is what has guest coming back for more of the good stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocWorkerSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I went to Oaxaca for the first time, even though we're both from Mexico! María and her staff made us feel super welcomed here. The decoration is gorgeous, the people you meet here are really friendly, the breakfast is fresh (literally, María goes to the market early in the mornings!) and deliciously healthy.

You really feel like home in here. You get your own key, and come and go as you please - but always with that sense of community only a B&B can offer. The location is fantastic as it's located in downtown Oaxaca, so you get to experience the best of the city within just a few blocks in any direction.

We highly recommend this place and hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed at 'Luna', which is the room upstairs, more private. It also has a nice deck where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoRobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I were in Oaxaca in early December last year, for 5 days. This is place is just lovely and gives you a home like feel. The rooms are very spacious and extremely comfortable. The owner, Maria makes a perfect host and you really feel like you are being looked after so well. The breakfasts are all home cooked in front of in an open kitchen, freshly squeezed juices and home made conserves- which are to die for!

Maria has also made a very user friendly map which is a great introduction to the town, it has suggestions for restaurants, bars, cultural stuff etc.

Highly recommended and yes, just 5 mins from the bus station!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEEBA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 109 in Oaxaca
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Diablo y la Sandia Libres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Diablo y la Sandia Libres

Property: El Diablo y la Sandia Libres
Address: Calle Libres 205 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint hotel that has a different, fun feel to it. Our guests enter and lounge just as they would at home, made easy by our personalized attention and warm environment. We enjoy spoiling you with a morning breakfast, hearty and healthy, as well as providing an orientation upon your arrival to this wonderful town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Diablo y la Sandia Libres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Diablo y La Sandia Hotel Oaxaca
El Diablo y La Sandia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing