We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Diablo y la Sandia in Libres
Ranked #4 of 130 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a lovely B&B, totally in keeping with the spirit of Oaxaca. Lots of unique decorating touches, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Perfect for anyone age 20+. Rooms set around an open courtyard/patio area. Central location makes walking around the city a snap.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lflarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Your first trip to Oaxaca can be a bit overwhelming. Staying at El Diablo y la Sandia is your oasis in the middle of a beautiful and frenetic city. Maria is the answer to all your questions and happily assists you with anything you might need. The rooms are very nicely decorated and comfortable.The bathrooms are adequate and the little personal touches throughout the room from the hats and bags to the body cream are lovely and thoughtful. We stayed in "Luna" and it was large and very private. Our friends stayed in two other rooms downstairs and they were lovely too. Really there is not a bad room in the place.We stayed for almost 10 days and the breakfasts each morning were delicious and very filling. The B&B is very well situated in the city so that you can walk anywhere, anytime easily (and safely) and Maria's recommendations on her chalk board in the entry are spot on! We will definitely return to El Diablo y la Sandia and once you try it you will too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravels6360745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had an amazing time in Oaxaca, and one of the reasons was my stay at El Diablo y la Sandia. Maria is awesome, the rooms are quirky and cute (we stayed in the mermaid room) and the breakfast is long and lazy - just the way I like it! What I liked most was the colorful vibe of the home - very reflective of Maria - and of Mexico itself. It's walking distance from the main square and it's easy to find cabs if you get tired. There were some crazy dog fights outside on the road every night, but that just added to the experience. Oh and don't miss the mole at La Olla!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank india_explorer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Overall El Diablo y La Sandia was very nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the building is nice and clearly well looked after. We were provided with filtered water and she even has hats and bags that you can use during your stay. The bathroom was small, but the water was hot and it was perfectly adequate. The rooms got a little hot and they only have fans, no A/C, which could be a problem in the hotter months. While the breakfast was good, it was rather simple and we had to get some more food before lunch. Maria was very nice and called us cabs, gave us directions and let us print our boarding passes. She also provided a map with her favorite places, which didn’t end up being our favorite places, but was a helpful starting point.

The main problem we had was noise. Oaxaca city is loud. If you are planning on staying in the city a number of the hotels are on streets that have a lot of traffic. There are buses, cars honking and car alarms that start going off early in the morning. I have traveled extensively in Latin America and I'm not expecting idyllic car-less colonial towns, but the amount of traffic and gas fumes in the city were a bit much. It's not fun to wake up at 7 in the morning to the sound of "Gas Oaxaca" and the drinking water truck barreling down the road. One time we were walking down the street and there was a woman double-parked repeatedly honking on her horn (presumably because someone was late coming to meet her?).

I realize that this is not the B&Bs fault in any way (although I suppose they could install sound-proof glass), but this is something I think one should consider when deciding on a place to stay in Oaxaca City. I did not really want to spend time at the B&B reading or relaxing on the patio upstairs because it was just too loud, which I did not expect. We spent much more time in cafes around town just because they were quieter. It was a little quieter at night, but there was still a good amount of noise from the street.

Overall, our stay was very nice and we would consider staying there again if we decided to stay in the city. However, I think in the future we will stay at a place outside of the city because of the noise.

Room Tip: The rooms all open to a central courtyard, with the exception of one room upstairs which is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

...charm, kindness, comfort...El Diablo y la Sandia B&B was a great place to rest and enjoy Oaxaca City! Maria was so cool, and the breakfasts were great! She does this juice mixture in the morning that is groupie-worthy. My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few days on vacation before we went to the coast, and it was her first time traveling. El Diablo y la Sandia was the best place for us to stay to be able to meet some nice people, enjoy the ambience of a charming historic building, drink beers on the roof, and just relax. She had great suggestions for restaraunts and places to walk to. We will stay here again! -B&R, Chicago Il

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlakeandRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My friends and I stayed with Maria for four nights at her beautiful bed and breakfast. All the rooms are around a central courtyard where I would often work on my computer whilst enjoying a drink. It's truly a homey atmosphere with many guests choosing to chat together about things they had done or seen. The communal breakfast certainly encourages this. Every day we would sit down to a delicious hot breakfast, as well as toast with homemade jams and spreads. The perfect start to a busy day of shopping and exploring!

The rooms are creatively decorated with local artisanal finds, making you instantly feel at home. We were able to enjoy the incredible Oaxacan sunsets from the bougainvillaea filled rooftop, overlooking the spectacular mountain ranges.

The location is central to all the best bits of town, including all the best restaurants and shopping streets. It's also great to get out of town on day trips, either to traditional textile towns, Monte Alban or natural wonders like Hierve El Agua. Maria can help with organising transport and guides for these.

Oaxaca was definitely a highlight of our monthlong Mexico trip, and we will be returning to stay with Maria again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucinda_rose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed 7 days in the roomy Luna room on the second floor; every detail was charming. Maria was super-helpful and always available. Breakfasts were creative and freshly made. The location is an easy walk to all the central-city sites. Maria arranged an all-day guided tour for us to Monte Alban, Mitla, theTule tree and craft villages that was led by a very knowledgeable guide.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.2 mi away
Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B
0.7 mi away
La Betulia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Diablo y la Sandia in Libres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Diablo y la Sandia in Libres

Address: Calle Libres 205 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range: £60 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint hotel that has a different, fun feel to it. Our guests enter and lounge just as they would at home, made easy by our personalized attention and warm environment. We enjoy spoiling you with a morning breakfast, hearty and healthy, as well as providing an orientation upon your arrival to this wonderful town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Diablo y la Sandia in Libres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Diablo y La Sandia Hotel Oaxaca
El Diablo y La Sandia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing