We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Diablo y la Sandia Libres
Ranked #5 of 127 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Why wife, 21 month-old son and I stayed at the B&B for 5 nights at the end of March. We loved the breakfasts (very tasty, with a different dish every morning); we slept very well at night (thanks, in large part, to some open windows and a ceiling fan-- even though temps during the day were in the 90's, our room was much more comfortable at night than our stay in a more northern city's hotel room with air conditioning); Maria was very nice-- and gave my wife a recommendation for a spa treatment that she absolutely loved; we found the common spaces (especially the upstairs patio with hammocks) to be very comfortable and inviting.
We found it a little removed from the city's center (about a 10 minute walk to zocalo) and the traffic noise was a little loud sometimes (the B&B is on a bit of a busy street). These are things out of Maria's control.
As a side note, our son had a few meltdowns during a few of our afternoons at the B&B. Not fun for us, and I'm sure not fun for anyone who was in the building. Maria never mentioned it, and was always very kind and welcoming. We greatly appreciate this fact, and hope that we will be welcome at her B&B in the future.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mass_Dave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
132
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We recently stayed here for five days in February. The inn is well-located, in the old city but not in a loud, bustling part. The rooms are charming, clean, and simply decorated. The open courtyard kitchen is lovely and welcoming. The breakfasts are fabulous; different each day and unique right down to Maria's exotic delicious homemade jams (also for sale!). Maria is a warm and wonderful hostess. Her English is excellent, as is her knowledge of Oaxaca and surroundings. She offers customized maps of the city with museum, shopping, and restaurant recommendations, which were all great. She organized driving tours to local villages and cooking classes for us. We had a terrific time, and I would recommend El Diablo y La Sandia to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We lucked out getting a room at El Diablo y La Sandia. It is located close to the center of Oaxaca yet is quiet and calm. The rooms are expertly decorated with local market crafts, and the hotel has an overall fun and casual design. We really enjoyed the breakfasts shared with other visitors around a big table in the courtyard, and hanging out on the rooftop patio. Maria is extremely helpful and organized and can set you up with taxis, tours and dinner ideas. We can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandlerAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We were delighted with our stay here as it was comfortable, clean, welcoming and very central but a little off the busiest part of town. Great breakfast and not too many rooms so you could enjoy visiting with the other guests. Now the piece de resistance was Maria our hostess and owner I believe. She was gracious and very, very helpful. Maria helped us organize our itinerary while in Oaxaca, our flight to the coast and most wonderfully, suggested 3 restaurants all of which we ate at. They were all superb

I highly recommend Diablo y La Sandia.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pryce56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We loved our stay at El Diablo y la Sandia. Our room was large and beautifully decorated, and the bed was so comfortable. Maria could not have been more helpful. Maria gave us her map with recommendations for restaurants and other attractions…we worked our way through them and were never disappointed. Breakfasts were delicious and the guests fun to chat with at breakfast. We enjoyed the rooftop patio, and it was nice to be able to purchase cold drinks at the honor bar, and take them up there. We ended up buying several craft pieces from Maria, because she had such a special selection. We found it to be excellent value for money. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank translatorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhampton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Maria is a lovely host. She is super organized, speaks English beautifully, and gave us wonderful recommendations for food and museums. She had a nice collection of art and tourist books on hand in the common space and a phone for easy calls anywhere in the area. Her cleaning and cooking staff are also excellent!
I am not a big B&B fan but Sandia y la Diablo felt more like an intimate boutique hotel with spaces, other than my room, I could hang out and relax in. The breakfast time was social and a relaxed way to share experiences and travel tips with others. Excellent!

Room Tip: Try to get the top room by the outside patio if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissVita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After the long bus trip with two very tired bodies Maria's warm welcome and yummy lunch recommendation was exactly what we needed. The House was very relaxed and casual and only a short walk away from all the action. It was a great location! Breakfasts were a great start to everyday would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 113 in Oaxaca
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Diablo y la Sandia Libres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Diablo y la Sandia Libres

Property: El Diablo y la Sandia Libres
Address: Calle Libres 205 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint hotel that has a different, fun feel to it. Our guests enter and lounge just as they would at home, made easy by our personalized attention and warm environment. We enjoy spoiling you with a morning breakfast, hearty and healthy, as well as providing an orientation upon your arrival to this wonderful town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Diablo y la Sandia Libres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Diablo y La Sandia Hotel Oaxaca
El Diablo y La Sandia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing