We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet place to stay in Oaxaca. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Los Arquitos B&B
Ranked #30 of 128 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, quiet place to stay in Oaxaca. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Juan and Patricia are great hosts, friendly, helpful with your Spanish, very accomodating. Rooms are large, very clean, quiet, good AC. Good Wi-Fi. I don't remember if it had a television.

Breakfasts were very good--usually fresh fruit, yoghurt, etc. I like bacon and eggs occasionally and that would have been welcome. Juan and Patricia are so nice, I didn't want to impose on them.

The location is beautiful--the old aquaduct, the cobble stone street, no auto traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We just came back from our first trip to Oaxaca and stayed at Los Arquitos in the small room with the double bed (#2) on the first floor. It was just right for us.

Internet - works well and unlike many places I've been to in Mexico, it was consistent anywhere in the B&B, including in our room.

Hot water - plenty of it, and great water pressure in the shower.

Cleaning - even though we had the special for 60/night including breakfast for two which was supposed to have cleaning every 5 days, we had cleaning every day (more toilet paper, changed towels, made bed, emptied garbage and fresh drinking water every day).

Breakfast - breakfast is light: coffee, tea or hot chocolate, a juice, yogurt and cereal and a basket of sweet pastries, but honestly, there is so much good food to eat in Oaxaca, you don't want to weigh down on breakfast, so this was perfect. Served at 9:00am.

Room: our room didn't have a lot of free space, but that's what we were paying for - if you want more space, ask for a room with a kitchenette. The room came with a fridge though, and a closet to store things. If you're the type to not spend a lot of time in the room, this is a great place.

Finally, Juan and Patricia were very helpful. They will help you to do research, call places, book taxis or cooking classes, you simply have to ask. Juan speaks very slowly and clearly, so if you don't speak Spanish, this will be helpful (I only spoke to him in Spanish, but I noticed he could speak English to my husband).

The location: about 10-12 blocks from the main square, and 2-3 blocks from the large garden/park where there are plenty of food stalls. If you go for the food stalls, check out the Argentine guy selling Argentine chorizo on a bun - delicious!

Room Tip: If you want more space, ask for a room with a kitchenette. Otherwise, room #2 is plenty and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patzcuaro, Michoacan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Juan es un encanto!

We loved the Casa, we loved its location, and most of all we loved Juan and Patricia! We speak Spanish so we spoke mostly in Spanish with Juan, but I know his English is excellent. Juan is one of the most lovely men I've ever met. He shared so much of himself with us (which is such a gift) and was extremely helpful in helping us create the experience we were looking for in Oaxaca.

You'll see in the other posts that the B&B is located in a nice, safe, quiet neighborhood within walking distance. All true and we will definitely stay there again. More than anything though, we just felt so welcome at the Casa with Juan and Patricia.

Enjoy your stay at Casa los Arquitos!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our king size bed room with the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MezcalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We spent two weeks at Casa Los Arquitos, and it made our stay in the wonderful city of Oaxaca that much more enjoyable. The Casa is located on a very quiet little residential street that is a five minute walk from Santo Domingo cathederal, and perhaps another five minutes, in the same direction, to the Zocalo. And that ten-minute stroll is not through deserted or run-down streets, but past delightful shops, small museums and cafes, all teeming with the life and charm that makes Oaxaca such a special place to visit. In the Casa's own neighborhood we found three restaurants that we kept going back to.

Not only is the casa's location ideal, but it is owned by the most lovely couple - Juan and Patricia - who were not only ready to assist in arranging drivers, tours and anything else we might need, but who were genuinely fun to be with. It was hard not to become instant friends, especially as Juan gently and playfully corrected our execrable Spanish.

Our room was inexpensive but very well furnished and maintained. it was on the small side, but we had the full use of two beautiful courtyards and a library equiped with a computer with access to the internet. [The casa provides wifi in all its rooms, so that most guests don't even need the library's computer.]

We are already talking about returning to Oaxaca, and there's no question where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We spent 5 nights at Los Arquitos. I have spent a number of years visiting Oaxaca and chose this B&B due to it's location - walking distance to everything yet on a quiet and charming street. The room was comfortable and clean and the house was quiet. There were roosters, bird and local dogs yapping in the early mornings so earplugs were useful.
Juan was a wonderful host. Knowing that I am here to learn Spanish he would speak to me in slow, clear Spanish and use English when my friend needed it. His consideration especially showed on the final morning when my friend had an early morning flight. He came to our room 15 minutes before the taxi that he had called was due to arrive which was reassuring at that hour to know that just in case the taxi didn't show, he was available to help out.
I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEYA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

A friend recommended Casa Los Arquitos for our stay in Oaxaca. We were very happy that she did. Juan and Patricia were the perfect hosts. They were warm and welcoming and very helpful and informative. The B&B was spotless, quiet, and located in a great neighborhood within walking distance to everything. I truly look forward to my next visit with them. Don't miss this lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We spent 5 nights at Casa de Los Arquitos and truthfully I didn't want to leave. The house if charming, peaceful and beautiful, located in the center of Oaxaca city, yet on a quiet street so you can sleep quietly and relax. Most importantly, Juan and Patricia the host are so welcoming and friendly that staying with them really makes you feel at home away from home. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs king bed and kitchenette room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zozula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Suites Regente
Suites Regente
#59 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador San Fernando
Parador San Fernando
#11 of 128 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#13 of 128 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de los Angeles B&B
Casa de los Angeles B&B
#22 of 128 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada mi Rosita
Posada mi Rosita
#36 of 128 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Carlota
La Casa Carlota
#10 of 128 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Arquitos B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Arquitos B&B

Property: Casa Los Arquitos B&B
Address: Callejon Rufino Tamayo # 818 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Los Arquitos B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Los Arquitos B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing