We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azul Cielo Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Don Nino(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hierba de Conejo Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Pochon(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$17
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
10
9
3
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
9
3
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

This property has so much potential, however it has been neglected. We stayed in a Villa and the furniture was filthy and downstairs bathroom was out of service. We we not discounted and in fact charged 900 pesos for our additional person. When we we're charged the front desk person refused though to give more than 5 towels saying the place was only supposed to accommodate that amount. So they charged me extra but provided nothing extra. In fact provided less with a broken bathroom. We requested linens to cover the filthy furniture. Had to demand drinking water and the kitchen was useless when it came to cooking. Plan on taking taxi back and forth to town. The property was beautiful and we used the pool a lot. We rarely used the house as there is only A/C in the bedrooms.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SD_Eddie_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This was my first time staying at Villas Luz de Luna and my first time vacationing in Huatulco. We travel to Mexico 3 times a year but have always stayed at all inclusive resorts. My friend and her family have travelled here for 3 years in a row and have stayed twice at this resort. She has never had a problem and said that she has always felt 'safe' so I made plans to join her for a week at the beginning of April. They had rented the Casa Principal which was a beautiful condo with a private pool overlooking the ocean.

I arrived on Sat April 1st and my girlfriend told me that on the Wednesday night prior to my arrival, someone had entered the condo while she and her family were sleeping and robbed them of the money that they had left on the microwave in the kitchen. She said that they spoke to the front desk staff who said that the owner would be there on Monday and would speak to them. This made me feel uneasy, as now it was just the two of us in the condo (two females) and I was worried about it happening again prior to Monday when the owner was supposed to show up.

There are four bedrooms in the condo, and I noticed that the sliding door in the master bedroom had a broken lock. It really isn't very hard to climb up onto the 2nd floor, so I was concerned that someone could help themselves into my bedroom. I slept with 2 butcher knives from the kitchen and hoped it was just a one off and would talk to the owner on Monday.

Sunday evening someone AGAIN came in while we were sleeping and took my friend's money that she had accidentally left downstairs. This time we could not understand how this happened. All windows and doors were locked (aside from the door with the broken lock upstairs). We went down on Monday morning to alert the front desk and make a police report. We asked how this could have happened as the gates are supposed to be locked at 10 PM with a security guard on site for the night. We were told that the security guard had been fired the previous Wednesday and there was no guard patrolling the complex since that time!!!!

On top of all if this, the owner was not going to be coming until Wednesday now! We spoke to Jonatan ( the owner) over the phone and advised that this was totally unacceptable. Did the fired guard have keys? Was this an inside job? We had no idea at this point and neither one of us felt safe. He said he would refund our money for the week and the girls at the desk called around for a place for us to stay. They tried to put us up at the Holiday Inn in town but we went there and it was not even close to what we had paid for at Villas Luz de Luna. I should mention that as we were busy packing our stuff to leave, one of the maids came up to us and handed us an envelope. Keep in mind...we had just been robbed - TWICE...we were having to leave our beautiful condo that we still had 5 days left at due to safety concerns and these maids give an envelope to us asking for a tip!!! I couldn't believe it!! Not to mention, when we came back later on to the condo, 3 of the windows that we had locked, were now unlocked after the maids cleaned.

Long story longer, we arranged with Jonatan to have a security guard on the premise until we left on the Saturday. He also paid for our dinner at one of the seafood restaurants that was delicious. However, I'm disappointed at the lack of concern for our safety and well being while staying at this resort. From a customer service point of view, there were several things that could have been done to compensate for the stress and worry we had for 4 out of the 7 days that we stayed. The first thing would be for the owner to show up on the Monday after the 2nd time that this happened and come and speak to us personally. Secondly, for the money that was stolen, and someone breaking into the condo while we were sleeping AND not having a security guard on the premise during the time that it happened...I would have sprung to put us in a hotel where it is safe...and would not care about the money that it would cost. It could have been so much worse! I was so thankful that we were not assaulted, kidnapped or worse!!

I truly hope that there have been improvements and that the break ins have been rectified. I also hope that the maids coming up to guests and giving an envelope for a tip has stopped. I tip everyone for good service. I find it inappropriate though, especially after being robbed, to ask guests for money especially considering almost all of it was stolen!

On a positive note, the weather was beautiful and having a private pool was awesome. Susana at the front counter was exceptional. She goes above and beyond for all of the guests! She deserves a promotion - she was patient, kind and went out of her way to make us feel as safe and comfortable in light of everything during the rest of our stay. Thank you Susana!

I would not go back to this resort simply because a vacation is meant to be relaxing and fun with no worries and unfortunately that was not my experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to lock all of the windows and doors.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaceyMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It's a really nice place near "Playa arrocito". My family in la and me stayed in an apartment with three rooms. There was a old TV with Sky TV System but it doesn't work really good. There was a junior bed, a King Size bed and a room with two couple beds. the was an electric stove and a fridge, dishes, cups, and etcetera. If you stay there for one week you must pay for electricity. Check all the details. The landscape is incredible but be careful with dangerous insects. We found a scorpion in bathroom and a centipede in my room.

Room Tip: If you have a bunch of clothes choose the king size room it has a really big closet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodouami1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews