We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat, very hard to find.”
Review of La Villada Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villada Inn
Ranked #19 of 130 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here one night in the hostel with a big group traveling with us. We spent about an hour trying to find the place even with maps. The streets are a maze when you get close and not all have easy to find names. Even harder finding it at night! A more detailed map would have helped, one that showed all streets and maybe a few more landmarks.
The view was great and we enjoyed the stay very much. Hospitable staff. Good food. The hostel was rustic and we did get eaten up by mosquitoes that night- I recommend some bug spray.
View great.
Food great.
Fun and unique place.
Would stay there again in a private room if I could make sure I could find it.
Next time, I am going to have to ask about the Temazcal! They have one there we just didn't have time!

Room Tip: The hostel was great for our big group but the bunks don't have rails so it won't work for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gtzfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days,and had a wonderful time.a nice,offcentre location,great hosts,a 10meter pool and nice oaxacan style rooms.the hammocks are nice too.the place has everything necessary to have a most enjoyable rest. would surely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonKozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

While you can stay in fancy hotel's you would miss out a true experience of Mexicana. The rooms are all different and set in different groups of buildings. There is every thing you need. Pool, Bar, Gameroom and Bar, a small chapel if you need some reflection, plenty of parking behind a gate and a great restaurant that does not have a lot of verity but it's excellent food. We were here 4 days and it became more of a family atmospher than a hotel. They will help with intertaing your visitors also. It is a little out of the way so could be hard to find but well worth it. The view from this hotel is also typical Mexico beautiful. If I ever visit Oaxaca, Mexico and visit Oaxaca City this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Loved the Villada. It is a good 10-15min drive to the centre, but the staff will call you a taxi which costs 50pesos (about $4). The breakfast is amazing - although not included in the price!! I didn't mind that it was included, as it meant it was a proper good breakfast, with lots of choice, not just the standard continental breakfast that you would expect to be included. The staff are lovely and will do anything to help you. They had a bigger, nicer room available, and upgraded us at no extra cost. Definitely worth staying in if you don't want to be stuck in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I can't overstate how good this place is - all the comforts of a really good resort (pool, deck chairs, sauna, hammocks on the balconies, private rooms if you like), combined with the friendliness and feeling of community which is the heart of a good hostel. The owners go out of their way to help you out, the little restaurant provides great breakfasts (wonderful local coffee), the beer fridge is open to you at any time (honesty system) and all of this in a spectacular location overlooking the city.

If there is one weakness of the place, it is that it's about a 30 minutes walk from the town centre. However, if you'd rather not have the exercise, taxis are not exactly expensive, and as the place is priced so incredibly, it's not hard to justify staying up here in this wonderful spot.

Be aware that this IS a hostel, with all the fun that goes along with that (obviously no room service, and can get rowdy on the weekends, especially as there is a bar). But embrace it and you will have a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GourmandasaurusRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We read good things about this place, and weren't disappointed. The owners were super friendly and all staff were willing to offer assistance. It's in a great spot to the north of the town. You can't walk to town from there, but a taxi only costs 50 pesos, which doesn't break the bank. There is a bar upstairs, but it was only open on the first night of our stay. I suppose it depends on demand. The pool is pretty big and looks very nice, though the water is cold, so the weather needs to be hot to use it.

The room we had was simple, but large. There's no tv, but we didn't want one anyway. The only downside of our room was that the internet signal did not reach it. It was around the back though, so perhaps it would have been better in one of the ones closer to the pool or near the office. Luckily the pool area was a lovely communal place to sit and do things online. With a toddler a couple of spots were a bit dangerous e.g. no barrier at the end of the balcony, so we had to be on our guard. Overall though I'm very glad we stayed there and would happily do so again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Second visit to La Villada this year. Spend three nights and two days with seven others in my group. The owner is a wonderful family who is ever willing to accommodate their guests. Stayed at the cabin across the office this year. There were ongoing renovations last year which are complete.

There is a new wing with three rooms, what appears to be a meeting facility and new club above the swimming pool. The club has six flat screen TV's where I watched game 7 of the baseball World Series. The restaurant serves tasty and affordable meals, had pancakes one morning and eggs Oaxacan style with tortillas the next. This is still a friendly and tranquil getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. There is wireless internet which is password protected but the signal does fade out at the far end of the compound.

While I am glad to see the additions I am ambivalent about the club. The music was loud and filtered throughout the compound. Thankfully I had earplugs to sleep with. For me the loud music in the evenings took away one of the things I like about La Villada which is the peace and quiet at night while watching the stars or lights of the city below. Thankfully the club does not open every night. I rated it four stars this year because of this. However it is still my favorite place to stay in Oaxaca City.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#13 of 109 in Oaxaca
145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Casa de la Tia Tere
Casa de la Tia Tere
#9 of 130 in Oaxaca
123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostal Mixteco Naba Nandoo
Hostal Mixteco Naba Nandoo
#10 of 130 in Oaxaca
15 reviews
1.9 mi away
Posada mi Rosita
Posada mi Rosita
#34 of 130 in Oaxaca
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villada Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villada Inn

Address: Felipe Angeles #204 | Ejido Guadalupe Victoria, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range: £22 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your La Villada Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing