We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back!”
Review of La Villada Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Villada Inn
Ranked #18 of 128 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Carstairs, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I will be back!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Right from the first moment we arrived at the gate of this quaint hostel in the hills overlooking Oaxaca, I felt at home. We arrived early in the morning thinking that the company we had booked through had contacted them with the info that we would be early. They had not and we got the manager out of bed. She dealt with the lack of info with grace and found us a beautiful little casa to cal our own. There were 3 of us and our room had 2 single beds and a king with its own beautiful big bathroom. The grounds are well kept and covered in native trees and plants. I particularly liked the hammock on the covered patio and spent quality time swinging and listening to the birds sing. There is a pool if you would like to take a cooling break after exploring the architectural wonders of Oaxaca.
The management and staff are friendly and ever willing to do whatever needed to make your stay truly memorable. The restaurant on site serves large platefuls of traditional Mexican food and the fridge always has cold pop and Corona available.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend this accommodation to solo travelers or families. There were several large families there on the weekend we were and they seemed to enjoy themselves as much as we did.
I will return someday and this will be my choice of a place to lay my head.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxHenry487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    13
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We liked it here! The location had its pluses and minuses but the great views of the mountains, the quiet location and the lovely big rooms outweighed the slight effort required to get into town (taxis are very easy, a 10 minutes walk and then a colectivo was not much more difficult once you've found your way down the hill). The food at the onsite restaurant was good but the people who cooked it perhaps needed to be a little more cheerful. However, the beer was the cheapest we've found in Mexico so this made up for it. Wifi was possible but was a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonynLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here December 24th to 26th 2013. The wifi didn´t work which was disappointing because we wanted to try and Skype our families over xmas but couldn´t. They do have internet in recpetion but it was very slow so we still couldn´t skype. It is out of the way and up in the mountains but we did expect this so the location didn´t bother us so much. It did have an incredible view. The rooms were clean which was a positive but the walls were paper thin so we could hear everything in the next room as clear as crystal. We did also get a cockroach in the room on the first night so we blocked the doorway on the second night. We were also woken up in the middle of both nights with stray cats fighting and stray dogs howling. This really was so loud and went on for ages so it kept us up a while. They also strut around the place all day and bother you when eating. It seems like it used to be a really fun, chilled out place once but not anymore, The website said English speaking staff would be on hand but this wasn´t the case. There was one English speaking man who was really helpful when we saw him but that was only 2 times briefly he happened to pass by. It was really stressful because we were hoping they could help us book an internal flight that we had been struggling to do on a website and there was no one English speaking to help us do so it wasn´t great. The lady that seems to run the place spoke ok English but tried not to speak English to us wherever possible. When she checked us in knowing we didn´t speak Spanish and only the basic phrases she carried on giving us instructions in Spanish and there were a lot of instructions!! So we understood none of them! The awards they have won were quite some time ago, about 5 to 6 years ago and they seem to have let themselves go since then. Perhaps it´s changed hands, I´m not sure but in the cafe there are hundreads of messages from travellers on the walls but the majority of them back date to 2008 ish. It seems it´s more of a place for families now as that´s who mostly stayed there. Not that we would have gone but the bar they mention on their website didn´t open either. I think this place is ok but nothing special. You would be better off staying somewhere more central if your a traveller on a budget. As mentioned, it´s more of place for families on a budget who don´t mind being out of the way and having no internet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here one night in the hostel with a big group traveling with us. We spent about an hour trying to find the place even with maps. The streets are a maze when you get close and not all have easy to find names. Even harder finding it at night! A more detailed map would have helped, one that showed all streets and maybe a few more landmarks.
The view was great and we enjoyed the stay very much. Hospitable staff. Good food. The hostel was rustic and we did get eaten up by mosquitoes that night- I recommend some bug spray.
View great.
Food great.
Fun and unique place.
Would stay there again in a private room if I could make sure I could find it.
Next time, I am going to have to ask about the Temazcal! They have one there we just didn't have time!

Room Tip: The hostel was great for our big group but the bunks don't have rails so it won't work for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gtzfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days,and had a wonderful time.a nice,offcentre location,great hosts,a 10meter pool and nice oaxacan style rooms.the hammocks are nice too.the place has everything necessary to have a most enjoyable rest. would surely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonKozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

While you can stay in fancy hotel's you would miss out a true experience of Mexicana. The rooms are all different and set in different groups of buildings. There is every thing you need. Pool, Bar, Gameroom and Bar, a small chapel if you need some reflection, plenty of parking behind a gate and a great restaurant that does not have a lot of verity but it's excellent food. We were here 4 days and it became more of a family atmospher than a hotel. They will help with intertaing your visitors also. It is a little out of the way so could be hard to find but well worth it. The view from this hotel is also typical Mexico beautiful. If I ever visit Oaxaca, Mexico and visit Oaxaca City this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Loved the Villada. It is a good 10-15min drive to the centre, but the staff will call you a taxi which costs 50pesos (about $4). The breakfast is amazing - although not included in the price!! I didn't mind that it was included, as it meant it was a proper good breakfast, with lots of choice, not just the standard continental breakfast that you would expect to be included. The staff are lovely and will do anything to help you. They had a bigger, nicer room available, and upgraded us at no extra cost. Definitely worth staying in if you don't want to be stuck in the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#92 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#4 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
2.4 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villada Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villada Inn

Property: La Villada Inn
Address: Felipe Angeles #204 | Ejido Guadalupe Victoria, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your La Villada Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing