We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome delights”
Review of La Casa del Pan

La Casa del Pan
Price range: US$0 - US$9
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wholesome delights”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Another San Cris gem! So many in this town! Here you can find wholesome and healthy breads and sweet stuff, home-baked and using top ingredients. It is a bit pricey for a low budget traveller as San Cris offers much cheaper options (although less healthy and tasty!). I went there for breakfast and it was delicious. This place seems to be one of the first healthy food places in SC and, having so much competition in the restaurant industry, seems to always be buzzing. Speaks a lot I reckon. Service was ok too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Okay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    69
    24
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay food Nice Breads but cetain Prices and staff not so great”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As a local I have visited this restaurant at least 100 times in the last 3 plus years. It seem that the quality of the food quiality has declined. Prices are not that great. More than that, the service is not great either. I routenly rAs a local I have visited this restaurant at least 100 times in the last 3 plus years. It seems that the quality of the food quality has declined. The prices are not that great anymore given the food quality. Additionally, the service has not been great either. I routinely recommend La Casa del Pan to many many tourists. I am a vegetarian and it really used to be a great option. However, the recent commentaries from my guests and my own recent experiences have not been sparkling to say the least. It is really a shame because the place used to be a go to for me and my many friends and guests.eccomend may many tourists to go to the restaurant however, the recent commentaries and my own recent experiences have not been sparkling to say the least.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izamal, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in San Cristobal”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful vegetarian cuisine! We have enjoyed everything we have eaten there, and have been going there for many years.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Star J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had breakfast here. The foods are fresh but taste is just above the average.
They sell organic foods like vegetables, herbs, fruits and etc on 1st floor.
They also sell lots of organic products like shampoo, soap, detergent and etc on 2nd floor. There is a organic garden on 2nd floor too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chy_annietw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Local, Organic, Fresh, Reasonably Priced - Foodie Approved”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a business with deep integrity. Rooted in the community to source and promote a local, organic food system, they bring it to us at the table beautifully and deliciously ! If we had visited La Casa del Pan earlier in our trip, we would have eaten most of our meals here.
We were here for lunch (late as is the local custom, around 2-3pm) and took the Vegetarian Buffet. First courses spread out on the buffet included an Amazing Assortment of fresh and ripe salads and fruits, a very nice puree of Chayote Soup, Organic Brown Rice and Beans, and their house-made organic whole grain breads; and a delicious Guayabana Aqua Fresca. That would have been enough and all we expected for the price, but then the waiter brought us the main entree and told us that dessert also were included. The hot course was a mashed potato dish with mushrooms and cheese. It reminded me of a potato pancake in flavor. Very pleasing. We decided to share the house-made Apple Pie which was excellent. All this for $ 265 peso + tip. Buen Provecho !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa del Pan also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to La Casa del Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing