We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We (3 persons) came without reservation and could get a night. Sadly not a any night more because it was fully booked for the next nights.
The beds are good. We had the room in the end of the estate with private bathroom, which was very clean. The shared one wasn't quite as clean, but not that bad. Everything else was clean.
There is lots of comfortable space to hang out, nice people and a really great kitchen.
Great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank qaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    34
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
47
72
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stumbled upon this place when visiting San Cristobal last weekend and was very pleased with my stay. The owner was friendly and helpful, the beds were warm and comfortable, and the shower was nice and hot. It's located on the quiet end of the main drag so getting to the tourist distract is very convient. It's a quiet place and might not be the place to go if you are looking to meet people but if you are looking for a good night's sleep, it is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at Los Camellos for 5 days and it was absolutely amazing! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was supposed to arrive a day earlier, however, I had problems with transportation and had to change my reservation. I emailed the staff at Los Camellos, they were very understanding and were able to make the changes I requested. I stayed at one of the dorms close to the street. It was very clean and received plenty of sunlight which I enjoyed considering the cold weather in San Cris around this time (February). The hostel has a large, well equipped kitchen, they provide free, fresh coffee and tea each morning as well access to Wi-Fi. It's also very affordable, since I stayed at one of the dorms I only paid 80 pesos/night.This is a great place to stay for those wanting to explore downtown San Cristobal and or visit surrounding communities. It’s within walking distance to all the popular restaurants in the area and main transportation centers. This was my first time coming to Chiapas and did not really know how to get around. The staff at Los Camellos was very helpful providing me with maps and making recommendation as to different places to visit. They were also able to help me schedule a tour to the archeological site of Palenque. One interesting thing I noticed while here, the hostel tends to attract many French travelers which is great if you would like to brush up on your French and or just make new friends. I couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay, I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Los Camellos and look forward to coming back again soon!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you might request a room further away from the street. It doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was in San Cristóbal only a few weeks ago, travelling with a friend, when we chose el Rincón de los Camellos from Lonely planet's recommendations. It's very well located, only a 10' walk from the centre but in a quieter area. Its colourful and fun rooms are clean and built around a small courtyard. Fabián, who runs the place, is a charming and funny host who recommended lovely places to go in San Cristóbal. His fresh coffee in the morning is a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the mexican decorated room with a bunk bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudialllq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A friend recommended this place and we were really glad we came. Staff were all really friendly and helpful, really well equipped kitchen and everything was nice clean. Excellent value for money, we had a private room with bathroom and another bed on a mezzanine level which was really cool. Met some great people, planned to stay for 2 days, ended up being 7 and didnt want to leave. I miss this place

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristóbal de Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I initially thought I would stay for a couple of nights, and finally stayed for several weeks, and came there many other times ! It's an inexpensive hotel, where I met people from many countries, and where we had long and passionate discussions about politics, culture, social issues, in a relaxed atmosphere ; but unlike other places in Mexico, the place is managed seriously and you will enjoy moments of peace, for example in the beautiful garden, if that is what you're looking for.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the garden are the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Totally recommended this hostel to stay)) it's really has the mexican sense of hospitality, well done traditional design of the rooms and the area...rooms are spacious and clean, warm and bright colours makes you smile) you can also use a kitchen for cooking or just to drink cup of morning coffee or evening tea. Owners are so friendly and helpful) i want to stay just for one night, but then i stayed one more and one more))) and i feel like I was at home! you'll love this place, it's sharming))) And the price is great too!
Hostel Los Camellos situated on the main street Real Gudalupe, so you'll be close to everything. Just in few steps of the main door at morning time a boy sells delicious fruits and fresh orange juice) don't miss it)

P.S. Important information: :))) Wi-fi connection was perfect)

Room Tip: there is a wide range of rooms, you can chose what you want - a big private room with a private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia_Shneps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 107 in San Cristobal de las Casas
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#2 of 87 in San Cristobal de las Casas
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iguana Hostel
Iguana Hostel
#2 of 107 in San Cristobal de las Casas
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Lum
Casa Lum
#3 of 107 in San Cristobal de las Casas
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos

Property: Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos
Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe No 110, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Camellos Hostel, established in 1998, was one of the first in this city and is still the most recommended to enjoy your stay in San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas.It’s a beautiful colonial house with courtyard and garden, located in one of the main streets of the historic center, 5 minutes walking from the Zocalo (Central Park) and tourist walkways, in a central, quiet and safe area, next to all the shops that you may need (laundry, fruits and vegetables, mini market, bakery, butchers, restaurants, etc.).We offer a large kitchen super equipped (fridge, oven, blender, juicer, many dishes, utensils and condiments) including free drinking water, coffee and tea all day.The indoor and outdoor commune areas are spacious and well distributed, with places to rest, share and eat.The rooms are spacious, nice and comfortable, with table, chairs, sheets, blankets and towels.Managers are French & Mexican travelers receiving you personally in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.The experience of more than 10 years as travelers and hoteliers allows us to always improve, providing cleaning and hygiene, safety and comfort, affordable prices and kindness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing