We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, clean and friendly place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed, clean and friendly place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Friendly, relaxed and helpfull staff. Nice beds and a kitchen to prepare light meals or breakfast. Superb value for money and a nice patio where you can spend extra time inbetween activities. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    34
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
47
72
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights on my travels through Mexico, Staff were very friendly, considering I woke them up at 6:30 am as I had taken a night bus to get here, The guy left me in and we chatted away and he took my bags into storage without any issue. He then offered me coffee and I found it really welcoming! I enjoyed my two nights, the location is really good, the facilities are what one needs and the kitchen is a good size with lots of storage for food etc. The patio areas are pleasant and overall I would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxtla Gutiérrez
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, it's very cosy and every one working there treats you like family, the cost is really cheap and the rooms are great, they have like 3 bathrooms with hot water and no problem at all, wi-fi works perfectly, you end up feeling at home.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrigordillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We have been for 2 weeks @ Los Camellos. And it feels like home.
Nice staff, familiar and clean! Free coffee (all day!), hot water in the showers, free drinking water and a clean kitchen with all necessary stuff you need.
If you are looking for a good place close to the city center (3 min to walk), which is still calm - that's the place to stay!

Nos hemos gustaba muchissimo!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The staff is very welcoming and friendly. They brought us candles when the lights want out and happily gave us an extra blanket for the chilly night. The hostel is on a street with many great restaurants, cafés, and bars, and is only a 5-15 minute walk from museums and other sightseeing destinations. Some suggestions for improvement would be to have the wifi extend beyond the common area and into the rooms. Also, the items we gave for safekeeping were wrapped in a bag and placed in the staff room, we would have felt better had there been lockers or a safe.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank iaheilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We (3 persons) came without reservation and could get a night. Sadly not a any night more because it was fully booked for the next nights.
The beds are good. We had the room in the end of the estate with private bathroom, which was very clean. The shared one wasn't quite as clean, but not that bad. Everything else was clean.
There is lots of comfortable space to hang out, nice people and a really great kitchen.
Great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank qaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stumbled upon this place when visiting San Cristobal last weekend and was very pleased with my stay. The owner was friendly and helpful, the beds were warm and comfortable, and the shower was nice and hot. It's located on the quiet end of the main drag so getting to the tourist distract is very convient. It's a quiet place and might not be the place to go if you are looking to meet people but if you are looking for a good night's sleep, it is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#56 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 111 in San Cristobal de las Casas
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iguana Hostel
Iguana Hostel
#2 of 111 in San Cristobal de las Casas
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#2 of 89 in San Cristobal de las Casas
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal La Casa de Paco
Hostal La Casa de Paco
#10 of 111 in San Cristobal de las Casas
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos

Property: Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos
Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe No 110, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Camellos Hostel, established in 1998, was one of the first in this city and is still the most recommended to enjoy your stay in San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas.It’s a beautiful colonial house with courtyard and garden, located in one of the main streets of the historic center, 5 minutes walking from the Zocalo (Central Park) and tourist walkways, in a central, quiet and safe area, next to all the shops that you may need (laundry, fruits and vegetables, mini market, bakery, butchers, restaurants, etc.).We offer a large kitchen super equipped (fridge, oven, blender, juicer, many dishes, utensils and condiments) including free drinking water, coffee and tea all day.The indoor and outdoor commune areas are spacious and well distributed, with places to rest, share and eat.The rooms are spacious, nice and comfortable, with table, chairs, sheets, blankets and towels.Managers are French & Mexican travelers receiving you personally in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.The experience of more than 10 years as travelers and hoteliers allows us to always improve, providing cleaning and hygiene, safety and comfort, affordable prices and kindness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing