We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant, location, and WiFi. Problems with noise and comfort in room.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jardines del Cerrillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Jardines del Cerrillo
Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, location, and WiFi. Problems with noise and comfort in room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We booked a king-size room for 4 nights and toured all of them with the help of a very nice young woman working at the front desk. We selected a bottom floor unit near the back, looking for quiet and cool. The cool we got: the rooms are cooler than outdoors but that wasn't problematic as the bed covers are plentiful and cozy. What wasn't cozy was the mattress and the concrete slab beneath it. Also, in Room 114 the water pump outside the room is audible and cycles every 30 seconds on a 24-hour basis. You can also hear everything going on upstairs and in the halls, so late night entries to the hotel will wake you; however, the staff does have a no-noise after 9pm rule and seem to enforce it. (A group of teens stayed one night and we had no trouble with nighttime noise.) We really enjoyed the restaurant -- simple, healthy food -- and will patronize it again, though we will probably try other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    9
    11
    11
See reviews for
10
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Centrally located at a good location with only 8 to 10 minutes walking distance to the city center. Has a restaurant which serves good, tasty variety , specially for a vegetarian . Having an English Menu is another “big plus” for a non Spanish speaking client. [ It’s rare in San Cristobal ] Food prices are slightly higher. Staff does not speak any English but very friendly and helpful in the areas that they know. Do not expect variety of beer in the restaurant. What they have is expensive than any other restaurant.
If you get a room in the ground floor, be prepared to wake up middle of the night [ few times ! ] when clients arrive at odd times after having good time in the city. Though I have not stayed, I am sure upstairs rooms do not have this issue.
The room which was given to me when I checked in had the” same bed sheets” of the previous guests. Yes ! Bed was made with coverlets and all that.. but when I was about to go to bed middle of the night, I noticed some hair on the bed sheet. There was no body in the housekeeping department and the person who was in the reception found some little sheets [ clean ] and it was not a good experience.
However, I have experienced that the house keeping department generally does a good job, [ I stayed for 5 nights ] I want to believe that the above was a pure accidental mistake !! [ please check your sheets anyway ! ]
Most importantly be extra careful if you book through booking engines. They do not know the process or pretend that they do not know !! Booking engines are to be blamed too. I ended up paying much more than I booked for through booking.com . There was no option .. I do not speak a word of spanish and they do not speak a word of English.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuruddha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels

Xalapa, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

I spent a week in that hotel. The second floor seems to be ok. it´s well lit, and probably quiet. Many of the rooms are on the first floor, though.

(1) I stayed in room 118. It was very noisy as there is a restaurant (named 100% Natural), which is NOT separated from the hotel rooms. The restaurant turns off its loud background music at 11 pm. Then they start playing it it again at 6:50 AM next morning. One morning I complained about the noise, and the staff turned the music off for one hour before they turned it on again.
(2) You can see through the room curtains, which all have interior views, so forget about privacy at night, when your room lights are on.
(3) Rooms are dark and sad. When I complained about the noise in Room 118, they put me in room 102, a slight improvement in terms of noise (it was noisy but not as much), but the carpet smells like wet dog.
(4) There is a slow WiFi connection, but no outlets in the room to plug your computer! (and no tables or chairs to work)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel_Ribot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Good place, in line with its 3-star rating. The place is well located close to city centre and has free parking for the car. Seems like the construction work is almost ended, they are putting down the last tiles in the breakfast area. It didn't really bother us as we were getting up early anyway. The rooms are indeed quite cold on the ground floor, so our clothes felt damp and the smell was a bit musty, the extra blanket we got from the staff really helped. There is wifi by the way, but it works only in the reception area or in the salon on the first floor.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Avoid this place if you can! After travelling almost four months in Latin America and staying in hostels we wanted to have a nice room and hotel for Christmas. We booked a King size room online, but they had reserved us a doble room. The rooms are not that nice and most of the them are in the bottom floor and don't have windows except to the corridor and because of that the rooms are also really dark. The air inside the room is even colder than outside and in December San Cristobal is pretty chilly especially in the evenings. In addition, on Christmas Eve someone stole about 90 euros from our room, merry xmas! The staff just said that it is not their responsibility, thanks. Also the sewage stinks because there is no ventilation in the bathrooms. From now on we're sticking into hostels. San Cristobal is lovely, but this hotel definitely is not!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roundtheworld2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Lovely hotel with an interesting decoration. It is situated at four blocks from main square and a few more steps from Mercado and restaurants.
Our room as well as rest of hotel was frequently sanitized. Service at their restaurant was good and staff was always genuinely polite and helpful.
Overall we had a nice stay.
Love San Cristobal!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vittodua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

A typically Mayan Hotel with great communal areas and fantastic Mayan furniture. The staff were extremely helpful and whilst we originally boked for 2 nights our changed travel plans meant that we arrived a day early and required 3 nights. This was handled effectively and efficiently despite the language barriers. Although there is a restaurant on site unfortunately it was closed during our stay and we needed to seek breakfast in the city. However there is ample choice and this did not cause ant problems. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable with typical traditional Mayan furniture. San Cristobal has a charming square in the centre of the city and it is worth remembering that at 2400m the nights can be cold. We needed 2 fleeces whilst outside at night ! We enjoyed a great trip (arranged by the hotel) to the local indigenous villages of San Juan Chamula and Zinacantan -well worth the cost. We also visited La Lagunas de Montebello and were disappointed that it was impossible to walk along the shoreline of any of the lakes. San Cristobal is a beautiful place and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the City

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordieval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines del Centro
Hotel Jardines del Centro
#56 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardines del Carmen
Hotel Jardines del Carmen
#57 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes
Hotel Villa Mercedes
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#43 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardines del Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardines del Cerrillo

Property: Hotel Jardines del Cerrillo
Address: Avenida Belisario Dominguez No 27, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jardines del Cerrillo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Jardines del Cerrillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing