We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hacienda Type Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Marcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hacienda Type Hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A friend and I stayed here one night after backpacking through Guatemala. We arrived in San Cristobal de las Casas around 11pm without a place to stay. We were fortunate enough to come across this hotel. As soon as we arrived the staff was friendly and welcoming. We even managed to get a free breakfast in the morning. It was extremely comfortable, clean, and provided the calm, quiet atmosphere I needed to rest after a week long trip through Guatemala. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claud34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    30
    10
    1
    6
See reviews for
22
31
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Very good rate, friendly staff, very clean and nice rooms. A few blocks away drom the main square.
Good Value for Money!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoZamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I've stayed here on four different occasions and on three of those stays I was kept up beyond 3:00am due to the building next door which is rented out, on an almost daily basis for private parties. The hotel is very nice and clean the food is great, but the real problem is it's location. It's a few blocks from the center which is a little inconvenient, but it's the neighbors that are the real deal killer.

Mexico has no concept of noise ordinances, so music is played at incredible decibels (my windows were literally being rattled) until all hours of the night. By law they can play until 2am, so calling the police will not make any difference (which we did). The hotel has no control over what the building next door does, the staff is completely incapable of doing anything about the problem. You might think that perhaps things would be better on a weekday, but it's not. We have stayed there on a weekday thinking that there wouldn't be a problem, but there was. It's really too bad because it's a nice facility, but due to noise I'd caution anyone who is considering staying there.

There's a reason why they always have rooms available.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchandler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

My family and me went to celebrate the 2009 family reunion and stayed in this Hotel supposed to rest and have fun. But the hotel administration look like do not care about travelers rest. On weekends they planned events that last after midnight (3 - 4am) with very loud music that does not allow travelers to sleep. This happened the 2 weekends that my family and I stayed at this hotel. Beawere of this before you make any reservation!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Our family of 18 stayed at this small and intimate hotel for 6 nights in July. We had made prior arrangements for most of our meals to be taken at the Hotel. The food was high quality and the staff very friendly. Our problem began when the owner rented out the entire hotel dining room for a party on Saturday afternoon and also rented out the hotels conference room for a late night quincenera party that began at 8:00PM and did not end untill 2:00AM. Sunday morning. Our group had to suddenly make other arrangements to eat both lunch and dinner because the hotels dining room was taken over by the private party. To make matters worse the noise from the other late night party prevented us from sleeping. We had paid for the hotel beforehand and our group felt the owner had evicted us from the hotel. It is a shame because the hotel is clean and nicely appointed. My advice is to avoid the weekends because what is otherwise a quiet and intimate hotel becomes a party place full of musical groups and immature teenagers drinking and partying into the wee hours of the morning. Spring break San Cristobal.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsqSmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
463.5 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
150 reviews
461.9 mi away
Hotel Provincia
Hotel Provincia
#26 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
29 reviews
462.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#31 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
462.5 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
318 reviews
462.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Santuario del Alba
Hotel & Spa Santuario del Alba
#39 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
40 reviews
462.6 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#45 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marcos

Property: Hotel San Marcos
Address: Avenida Crescencio Rosas 21 | between Hnos Dominguez and Alvaro Obregon Col. cent, San Cristobal de las Casas 29250, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing