We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Parador Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

great hotel, good location, nice big room. beautiful strong hot shower and great courtyard to enjoy the landscape around. Clean and nice staff. Best breakfast with a great selection of fruits. if you travel with kids, it is very relaxing as they have a nice green area for them to play.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galai2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Very nice, well-decorated hotel in a quiet street close to the center of San Cristobal de las Casas. A little pricey (compared to other options) but worth it. Good service, good location and excellent breakfast. Definitely a recommended option in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I don't really like the new oversized showerheads, but I must say that this "bathroom experience" has won me over. This hotel, for the price, is surely one of the best bets in Mexico and this shower......let's just say we were looking for an excuse to take another one. The hotel overall was great. Location - 2 blocks away from all the action, so it was easy to walk to/from the centre of town, but far enough away to be dead silent at night. King sized beds with excellent sheets, and all for $500p/night. We didn't ever try the restaurant, but assume that if it matched the hotel, it would have been a good spot to catch a bite to eat. Nice colonial architecture, and they let us check in early (8am on our first day). You won't go wrong with this as your accommodation choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

After wandering around SC de las C for a while we found this place, how lucky were we!
What a lovely place, it was flawless. Jokingly we talked about our princess room.
Me being the owner of a little guest house can see how much effort they put in to it.
My compliments (by the way it gave me some great ideas, thank you for that!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasaRenaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We've stayed twice in Parador Margarita in January. Perfect stay due to:
- the nicest staff ever (they put up with all our strange requests and crappy Spanish)
- nice rooms (spacey, clean, hair dryer, nicely decorated)
- great views views from the first floor rooms and a great back yard
- laundry service
- good location i.e. 2-3 minutes walk from the zocalo (main square)
- garage
The garage was important since we had a rented car we needed to leave it in Mexico while venturing to Guatemala. That was no problem at all at no additional cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor - you'll get the view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

After a long coach ride, it was a relief to walk in and see the pretty courtyard and be checked in smoothly even though we'd arrived very early in the morning.
We had an upstairs room which was decorated traditionally and was clean and very spacious with a super comfy king size bed. The shower was perfect, we didn't have any trouble with hot water.
Breakfast (once we found which room it was in) was really appetising and had a good choice of eggs and bread. The view of the mountains at breakfast from the hotel was very nice.
All the staff from the reception, breakfast and cleaners were very friendly, welcoming and always smiling.
The main road of the town is only a couple of blocks away, so not too far to walk to.
This hotel gives you comfort at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Great small hotel in San Cristobal. I would like to say that during our tour in northern Chiapas, this little hotel is at the top of my list. Is a colonial mexican little hotel. The inner garden is lovely if you want to chill out and relax after going around town. This hotel has few rooms if you want peace and quiet at night. Has a great location, it's on 3 blocks of walking distance from the downtown San Cristobal area. The rooms are fairly clean with decorative rustic mexican touch, also has confortable beds. The breakfast service is ok with 2 different choices. Another good thing is that is not an expensive hotel, the price is fair; and overall I had a comfortable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penichiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Margarita

Address: Calle Doctor Jose Felipe Flores # 39, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £32 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parador Margarita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Parador Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing