We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Parador Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed with a tour group at this hotel. Our room was number 10 and it looked onto the enclosed garden/courtyard. It had a small stained glass window in the bathroom overlooking the entry courtyard. The room was extremely quiet and large. Other rooms on either side of the back court yard sometimes had dogs barking during the night. There are 2 rooms right on the street that probably should be a last choice. Breakfast was good - dinning room opened at 7:15am and was filled by 8:00am all 5 days that we stayed....if on a schedule get there early. Street was not busy and hotel was 2 blocks from one of the main walking streets. Laundromat on same street open 8 to 8 Monday through Friday. Wonderful! Drop off in am and pick up in pm...all folded and ready to go. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 10 was great...quiet with a really nice bathroom. Sink was just outside the bathroom and showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    75
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
134
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
great bardfield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Parador Margarita, and would certainly recommend it for people who want a good base whilst exploring the town. We found the rooms comfortable and loved sitting outside the bedroom in the evening sun after exploring the sights. There's a lovely little courtyard to look onto and theres a nice tranquil feeling to the place, which is very welcome after the bustle of the zocalo area. We liked to walk into the town centre; also lots of eating places along the way. All the staff were very helpful and breakfast was simple but adequate. Nice handy drycleaners just a few doors away if you have laundry - quick service!

Our only problem was a neighbouring barking dog nearby. We did mention this to the Reception and they said that they were aware of the problem and were trying to deal with it. But this will not deter us from coming again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfleischmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My family of 4 stayed for 3 nights in a room with 2 double beds, We liked the spaciousness of the rooms, great supply of hot water, comfortable beds, and nice towels. Our ground floor room in the rear courtyard area was a little dark, not enough lighting. We lifted off the onyx covers of the bedside lights for better reading. As others noted there is no heat, but we had ample blankets on the bed. Daytime termperature was about 72 degF, and 52 degF at night. None of us felt cold, but can see how this could be a problem between Dec and Feb. Typical with most hotels in Mexico, there are tiled walkways and floors in the room, so you do pick up people's roller bags, and walking about. A nearby rooster was also annoying, waking my wife and I up at 3:45 am all 3 nights, but didn't bother my kids.

The included breakfast was nice with a plate of fruits, fresh squeezed orange juice, and bread. One can also choose scrambled eggs with bacon, chilaquiles, or hot cakes. Get the chilaquiles, they were great for us, not spicy and my kids loved them. (tortilla chips covered with chicken, cheese, and sauce)

The afternoon/evening desk clerk was a young man that spoke excellent english and had lived in Canada for a while. We also speak descent spanish so we had no problem communicating with the other staff members.

Our early, 4am, departure for the airport was a slight problem. I had to bang on the office window to wake up the night watchman (who spoke no english). He did go and inspect our room before opening up the gate to let us out of the hotel. As others stated there was a sign on the bedroom mirror that said there would be charges if there were stains on the sheets and damage to the room. I assume the night watchman went to check that before letting us out.

The hotel is about 3 blocks from one of the main walking streets, and about 7 blocks from the main square. We didn't mind the walk, but there are many other hotels closer to the center if that is an issue. We enjoyed the walk as there was plenty to look at, stores and eateries. The hotels location away from the heavy traffic areas probably made for a better night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back courtyard and not the front courtyard that everyone walks through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel looked good at first impression - beautiful courtyard and view over the mountains, big room. However we soon discovered it was terribly cold in the evening, it gets chilly in San Cristobal and it was colder in the room then outside ( the rooms do not get much light during the day and do not warm up). I have read some reviews after we left and noticed people mentioned that you can get a heater however we did not know this and nobody bothered to offer such an option although they must realise how cold it is - the guys at reception were dressed in massive winter jackets. The staff does not speak english, I know the hotel is in Mexico but it is 4* hotel that caters to tourists, English was no problem in San Cristobal in general in shops or restaurants. The worst thing happened at departure early morning when a staff member behaved like a guard in prison - when we went to check out he just left with no explanation so I followed him thinking maybe the main gate is closed at 6 am so we need to use a different exit only to find him searching through the room including looking through the rubbish bin and when I tried to ask him what's it all about he just shouted at me. Never have been treated so badly in any place, inlcuding cheapest hostels. This came with price tag of 85 USD per night and credit card as guarantee so there is no need to treat your guests like suspected criminals. Whoever manages this place should teach their staff basic principles of customer service and polite behaviour in general.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed three nights mid January in a room on the first floor in this hotel on the basis of tripadvisor comments.

We agree with most previous comments, but a couple of (negative) points stood out for us:
- Hotel management doesn't understand the concept of 'business risk'. Apparently there is a note in the room somewhere that warns guests that any stains on sheets or towels are risk of the guest. I have never seen this anywhere in my life, and the experience during the stay I will remember forever.
So, when we wanted to leave early in the morning for a trip (after already having "checked out" the night before), the night-guard refused to open the gate (while the van was already waiting outside) before, frantically checking all towels and sheets in the room. As he didn't speak English at all we had no idea what was going on, and when he found a stain he basically pushed it into our face and kept repeating 'setenta' 'setenta pesos'. I gave him 70 pesos (5 euros) just to be able to leave. It find this highly inappropriate and will never return, both the behaviour and charging guests for something like this (apparently they don't wash anything). Unfortunately we didnt get a change to speak to the management about this as we had to leave, hope they read this and do something about it because it's ridiculous.
- Personnel found it worthwhile to overcharge for laundry, claiming weight of 3kgs instead of 2kg. Although this cost a mere extra 12pesos, I consider this fraudulent.
- Finally, the rooms lacks heating, which is an obvious defiency given the temperature at night in most of the seasons in the town. Management should install permanent heating, instead of having guests have to ask everyday for heating devices.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christiaan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We found this hotel after having to leave the Hacienda Don Juan after one night because of its location and lack of eating facilities. The Parador Margarita is a very cosy, clean small hotel. The staff was very helpful to us and the hotel's location a few blocks from the zocalo is perfect (not withstanding reviews to the contrary). We would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs location because it got the afternoon sun. If the room is chilly, ask for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 677sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonoma county, ca
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and couldn't be more pleased. It is super clean with beautiful rooms and courtyard. The staff were most pleasant and it had a lovely breakfast. A short walk to the main plaza and church.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnySonomaCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Margarita

Property: Hotel Parador Margarita
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Felipe Flores # 39, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parador Margarita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parador Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing