We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, very central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diego De Mazariegos
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, very central”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed only one night at this beautiful hotel. It is located in the center of San Cristobal de las Casas, just a few minutes away from all the restaurants, the Cathedral, the Zocalo,... We have booked a normal room but paid for an upgrade to the suite on arrival. The suite is just a few dollars more but it is gorgeous! The suite is very big, it has two toilets, a big bathroom with a shower and a whirlpool, a living room, a very big bedroom ... And a kingside bed upstairs on the second floor! Really spacious, very beautiful, clean - lovely! The staff speaks English and is very attentive. There is a free parking lot at the backside of the hotel. WIFI was also free. Breakfast was not included in our room price, still we had breakfast at the hotel. They had a buffet which was very tasty. If you walk down the street in direction to the Cathedral you'll find a really good bakery just a few steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the suit, it's just a few dollar more and it's GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny260467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    143
    48
    24
    6
See reviews for
80
144
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel had the room options that we required, a room with 3 single beds. It was large enough to accommodate the beds with room to spare. The only problem was that it was located on the street side so there was a lot of street noise of people partying, etc. but it was a comfortable room. The breakfast was passable, I would not recommend eating any other meals there since San Cristobal has so many good restaurants. We booked a tour through the hotel and we booked one on our own. There was no difference where you booked these tours because the tour operators promise one thing and deliver another that is not as convenient or comfortable mainly in the transportation and foreign language skills promised. All in all, I loved this hotel for its traditional Mexican style and it's central location.

Room Tip: Best to choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Both hotel buildings are arranged around sunny courtyards - pleasant to while away a peaceful half- hour away from the bustle of the streets outside. However the tablecloths & cushion-covers on the patio furniture could do with a good wash! The rooms differ a lot in size & location - we were first shown to what seemed like an attic dormitory, with THREE double beds, but opted eventually for one on the ground floor overlooking the street (no noise problems, though)
The "designer" hand washbasins were rather annoying - trough-shaped on a small wooden counter, with nowhere to put your toiletries. The room wasn't cold (as we had feared) so we didn't need the fire to be lit.
Breakfasts were VERY disappointing - on the first morning we thought everything had been picked over by a large French tour-group, but on the second day we realised that the "leftovers" were all you got - very poor choice & quality, shortages of crockery & glasses.Our Tour Manager (who'd stayed there several times before) said that before the recent arrival of a new restaurant manager the breakfasts had been excellent - if he's trying to economise he's not doing the hotel any favours.
Needless to say, we didn't eat there in the evening.

Room Tip: Don't take the first room you're offered - ask to be shown a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for only one night but I really liked it. There are two neighbouring sites for the hotel. We stayed in the more easterly one on Calle Profa Maria Adelina Flores. We needed a room for three people and the front desk staff happily showed us several rooms to choose from. One room was opposite a karaoke bar across the road but from the other side of the courtyard we chose a twin room with a small terrace and the hotel put in a fold-up bed for no charge. We paid 1100 pesos for a night, and were offered a discount of 100 pesos for the following night but we were leaving the town. I would happily have stayed more nights here. The room was quiet but the walls are a little thin. We could hear our loud-mouthed neighbours when they came back at night and when they got up at 6.30am. They were also yelling to one another across the courtyard when we arrived but most people aren't so lacking in self-awareness so in general the noise would be fine, I think. The rooms are very generously proportioned, and very comfortable beds with duvets. Some have mezzanine floors. With notice, staff will set the log fire for a small charge. The room was cold in the morning but you're in the highlands and these are old houses so you should expect this. The sink and toilet area were a little cramped but the shower was spacious, walk-in, with good water pressure and temperature. There's a central patio with breakfast tables and as we arrived a few guests were having their breakfast in the sun. There's an in-house restaurant as well. One of our party had room service from this, and was perfectly happy with the food. There are good wi-fi connections in rooms, courtyard and lobby. The hotel is one block north from the main square and is well-located on a quiet street. A few blocks further north is the street market. One block back towards the main square is Calle Real de Guadalupe, with reasonable if unremarkable restaurants. Further east along Maria Adelina Flores were a number of smaller, more interesting, less commercial coffee bars and restaurants. If you're travelling through the highlands and need a good place to relax, I would recommend this hotel. There's also a really great place for breakfast in the arcades on the east side of the main square, Al Grano, where we had the best breakfast and coffee of the whole trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lon39don39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Cabos
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

It has been a very nice experience. This hotel is very conveniently located one block away from San Cristobal's main square. Service is wonderful, rooms are very nice and clean, they even have a chimney that will be fired for you for those cold nights. Food at the hotel restaurant is very good and fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATY79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villahermosa, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location, great service, and great product. The suite is only a few pesos more but is worth it. The only disadvantage I find is that it is a little bit hoise during the weekend, because is just right next to the street and cars some times drive by whith the stereo very lound.

Room Tip: Ask for the Suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Galindo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Room 603, ask for it because it has a view from the bedroom and from the jacuzzi tub bathroom. It's on the third floor, no elevator. I loved that the room felt like a castle turret, or something special like that. The bed was a little hard. The building is the second part of the hotel, it has a large courtyard with a fountain that birds drink from. Really close to the walking streets and the zocalo. We checked out hotels nearby and this one was the prettiest, with a lot of charm and character. The original part of the two part hotel has a tequila bar that gets really noisy at night, thankfully we were in the second one. Would go back to San Cristbal and this hotel in a heartbeat. Been to many colonial towns in Mexico and this town surpasses ever other for all the things that make Mexico my favorite destination. It's not easy to get to, but so worth the effort!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cincodeperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#10 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#25 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diego De Mazariegos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diego De Mazariegos

Property: Diego De Mazariegos
Address: Calle 5 de Febrero 1 | Calle Maria Adelina Flores 2, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diego De Mazariegos 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city, next to the cathedral of San Cristobal de las Casas. This hotel occupies 2 majestic colonial houses with unique beauties. The ocher colors, antique furniture and wood carvings, enhance the special style of the hotel. His beautiful courtyards have a XVIII century colonial architecture, unique in the city, perfectly preserved. The hotel has 76 rooms (2 master suites, 4 junior suites and 70 standard rooms), restaurant service with regional and international food service, room service, laundry service, parking, bilingual staff, a safe deposit box in the room , wireless internet, currency exchange, bar, medical service, meeting rooms, banqueting facilities and catering services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diego De Mazariegos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diego De Mazariegos Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing