We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel right in the center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diego De Mazariegos
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel right in the center of town”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We just finished a five night stay and were uniformly pleased with both the beautiful property and really pleasant service. Our room was spacious and charming in a traditional Mexican way and the manicured courtyard just outside was a pleasure. The staff was helpful in securing day tours and even found someone to share a taxi to the airport in Tuxtla Gutierrez. I don't believe anyone at the desk was English speaking,but they were more than gracious with my imperfect Spanish. This is an elegant, well run property, which was well worth the rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    140
    45
    24
    6
See reviews for
75
142
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We got here in a pouring rain storm so couldn't register right away (it's divided into two rooms) so decided to have dinner in the hotel. Dinner was mediocre at best--disappointment. The room was charming and large but no heat or air conditioning. My brother prefers to be warm so some concern but once we shut the windows that were open when we got there, it was warm enough in the evening. Odd noises through the night (fire crackers it turned out) but white noise generator drown them out. Much better feeling about the hotel (and San Cristobal as a whole) the next day. Great breakfast, absolutely charming town and once we figured out the map in Lonely Planet had an expanded insert where our hotel was, completely navigable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Diego de Mazariegos is perfectly located one block from the zocolo which make it close enough to be near anything in town but just far enough from late night noise. The hotel itself is a beautifully appointed hacienda: a central courtyard with the rooms all off the cloisters along the perimeter. The rooms themselves have modern amenities like cable and Internet, but wood burning fireplaces and separate sink basins outside the bathroom added to the old world charm. the staff, while not terrific with English, were charming in their attempts to help in any way possible. One of the clerks even looked up all my transportation options, unasked, to help me get to my next destination more easily. I would stay here again if ever I find myself in the area in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washwestcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel looks very pretty and has a lovely courtyard - just how you imagine a Mexican hotel to be - very traditional. At the back the rooms are very clean, convenient and comfortable, so you have the best of both worlds, Mexican/Spanish colonial style with modern comfort. Its central location is a great plus.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long way from reception, so next time I would ask for a room close to the main pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Hotel is situated right in the center of San Cristobal, beautiful colonial-style town. The hotel is quite impressive in terms of interior design. And this is basically all the positive things.
Rooms are rather small, but it's not a problem for an overnight stay. However hot water is a problem. Toilet is not working properly. Water is leaking from the sink. When taking shower, the water is all over the floor due to stupid design mistakes.
Wifi signal is not very strong, was down for couple of hours (but repaired).
There is no heating and A/C. During our stay it was quite cold. The only suggestion was to burn fire with charcoal in the fireplace for an additional fee (15 pesos which is nothing), but ... The room gets quite smoky and the heat lasts only for 3-4 hours. How you are supposed to fill in the fireplace with charcoal in the middle of the night, I don't know - we just used two more blankets.
I wonder how they solve the problem when the temperatures are above 30 C...

Room Tip: Room 503 leaks nearly everywhere. Unless repaired, avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This property is actually comprised of two buildings across the street from one another. We stayed for two nights. At check in, there was a water truck with a hose running into a cistern right by our room. There were puddles on the floor where water was leaking from the hose. This was the first sign of trouble. On the morning of our second day, the hot water mysteriously vanished right about the time I was to take a shower. We were assured that the problem would be resolved quickly, and I stayed in the room while my family enjoyed the town. Unfortunately, there was no resolution for two hours. During the next several hours we were told a variety of stories that were mutually inconsistent. Eventually the front desk came clean and told us that they did not know when (or if) we would have hot water that day. The only solution they could offer was for us to take another room in the other building (away from the rest of our party). I am happy to say that our friends did finally get hot water during the night, but the way the hotel handled the situation was really unacceptable. The rooms themselves are basic, but fine. The location is truly excellent, in the heart of San Cristobal, very close to the pedestrian shopping areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in early December. Room was large and comfortable. Beds a bit hard for our liking, but didn't stop us from sleeping. As mentioned in prior reviews, conveniently located. We had breakfast two mornings, one was really great with a well stocked buffet with good variety, the other morning was service with little choice, i.e offered fruit, eggs and that was about it. Unsure of what the difference was, perhaps the number of occupied rooms? Ate dinner one night in the restaurant, and food was fine, however there are many choices of places to eat in the area. Shower pressure good, safe in the room, wi-fi worked for us.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mazzieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diego De Mazariegos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diego De Mazariegos

Property: Diego De Mazariegos
Address: Calle 5 de Febrero 1 | Calle Maria Adelina Flores 2, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diego De Mazariegos 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city, next to the cathedral of San Cristobal de las Casas. This hotel occupies 2 majestic colonial houses with unique beauties. The ocher colors, antique furniture and wood carvings, enhance the special style of the hotel. His beautiful courtyards have a XVIII century colonial architecture, unique in the city, perfectly preserved. The hotel has 76 rooms (2 master suites, 4 junior suites and 70 standard rooms), restaurant service with regional and international food service, room service, laundry service, parking, bilingual staff, a safe deposit box in the room , wireless internet, currency exchange, bar, medical service, meeting rooms, banqueting facilities and catering services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diego De Mazariegos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diego De Mazariegos Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing