We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Clara
Nearby Hotels
Las Escaleras by Inmense(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parador Margarita(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guayaba Inn(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Gite del Sol(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Guadalupe by Inmense(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Mercedes(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Santa Lucia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Marcos(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
15
27
19
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
27
19
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiece of historythe hotel stafflinensdampchiapasstreet
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2009

The location is fantastic since it is adjacent to the zocalo, but that doesn't make up for the musty, dark rooms and gloomy service. Every time we went to the desk for assistance, the young clerk barely lifted her head to acknowledge we were there ... as if we were a bother. The rooms are dark and not very clean. The furniture and carpet were stained. When we returned to our room after a day of sight seeing, we found our suitcases were soaked by a massive water leak from our bathroom. No apologies, no help moving bags... just a "your bags are a little damp" from one of the managers. The room below us was flooded as well. I returned to the front desk to retrieve a remote control for the TV (have to pay a deposit) and waited while the clerk was on a personal phone call. While waiting, a young boy dressed like Rambo darted around the foyer with a plastic machine gun shooting at me, the clerk and people walking by the hotel. Later, I found plastic guns in the flower beds underneath the featherless parrots caged in the courtyard next to the restaurant. Nothing like a parrot without feathers to get the appetite going when visiting the restaurant. The hotel could be beautiful since it is a colonial building, but everything seems dated and worn.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ringopisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We spent two nights at the Santa Clara and had a fine stay. We were tired and walked straight there after a long bus trip but we would have found better and cheaper hotels in the side streets if we had bothered to look for them. The staff is really nice and the rooms are "authentic" but ours had a street view, which meant a lot of noise form the groups playing at night in the restaurant below. Moreover, the bathroom was separated from the bedroom by glass doors (!) , and had a terrible mould smell. To top it up, the shower leaked and the towels were not the cleanest. However, it is a treat to stay on the zocalo...



  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bugnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

The location of this hotel is perfect, right in the center of town, with an adjacent bar and lovely courtyards. Room was fine too, in a guest house sort of way. We arrived early afternoon and took a few minutes to compare prices of 3-4 hotels around the same block, which were all similar and about US$50-70.

After we spent two nights at the Santa Clara we met friends who recommended their hotel – El Cerrillo, a few minutes walk to the north, which was similar but cost only $25. It also had nice courtyards with very lively parrots and the room was almost same standard as the Santa Clara. We felt silly paying double for no good reason so we moved.

In short, the Santa Clara is surely adequate but like several other hotels right next to the central square we found it to be overpriced compared to alternatives a few blocks away. San Cristobal is such a great town and almost everything is walking distance inside an area of about 6 or 7 blocks, so anywhere on that grid would be good location.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2005

This hotel is perfectly located (on zocalo in center of town), in a 17th-century house with two nice courtyards, one with a pool. The rooms in the oldest part of the house have windows facing the street or the zocalo, with the most street noise on the zocalo side, where music is often playing at night. These rooms have high wood beamed ceilings and old furniture, and the second floor veranda surrounding the courtyard has seating areas which are great for hanging out in the evening sipping drinks--effectively expanding the living area like a suite. The newer section near the pool has smaller but still nice rooms with the advantage of being quieter, if that is a concern.

Bathroom plumbing was fine, you might have to ask for the hot water to be turned on if you are showering very early or in the afternoon. Cable TV in each room had many channels.

Given San Cristobal's cool climate, the pool is only useful for sunny days and is irrelevant in the late winter or early spring. There is no central heating in the hotel and you will have to rely on blankets--in May 50 degrees F at night was perfect sleeping weather.

There is a restaurant in the hotel which we didn't try but looked pretty good. There are many great cafes and places to eat around the area. The hotel bar is nice with a large screen TV. There is an internet cafe in the hotel for only 6 pesos an hour.

We paid $58 US a night and were able to prepay via credit card using the website below, had to call Cactus Mexico in Mexico City to give a credit card number. Rates are lower if you pay in cash in pesos, and you can make a reservation via email to the hotel.

directa.net/mexico/accommodations/hotelclara

San Cristobal de las casas is a fantastic place to stay and the visits to the Indian communities shouldn't be missed. At 9am in front of the catedral you will find Raul who runs guided tours to Chamula and Zinacantan that are an incredible bargain at 125 pesos per person. Our English-speaking guide provided an immense amount of information and access to Indian homes and places of worship, an unforgettable experience that lasted nearly 6 hours.

Also check out Los Pinguinos (flyers posted in various restaurants including El Gato Gordo) for wonderful, strenuous mountain-biking excursions.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank kenito799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: solicitar habitaciones internas para no escuchar los ruidos exteriores
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews